PDA

View Full Version : SlimServer conflict with Google Earth?



silverswingman
2005-10-15, 16:35
Hi,

Just wondering if anyone else has seen this. I bought my Squeezebox2 last week, installed SlimServer on my WinXP PC, and everything worked very nicely. SlimServer icon appeared in my windows system tray ... and when double clicked opened up "http://localhost:9000/" in my browser, which gave me the SlimDevices/Squeezebox UI ... everything works. Music plays on the squeeze box ... and I am happy.

Today I installed Google Earth on the same PC as SlimServer. Google Earth worked fine. Then I went to use Squeezebox ... and it could not connect. I double clicked SlimServer in my system tray, and it opens "http://localhost:9000/", but now it is a NuSphere page instead of SlimServer. Backing a hunch, I uninstalled Google Earth, and sure enough, everything works again. http://localhost:9000/ opens SlimServer and not NuSphere.

Given the popularity of both products, I would be surprised if I am the first to run into this ... but a search of these forums did not find anything for NuSphere or Google Earth. I am guessing that both products have decided to default to the same 9000 port. Is there a way to configure one or the other to use a different port? Or am I doing something else wrong?

Any information would be appreciated.

audiofi
2005-10-15, 16:38
In the web interface:
Server Settings - Network

You can change the port in there.

Andrew

silverswingman
2005-10-15, 16:54
Any recommendations of an alternate port number to use that is unlikely to suffer future conflicts? Or am I destined to have to change it multiple times after installing other software?

silverswingman
2005-10-16, 04:56
In the web interface:
Server Settings - Network

You can change the port in there.

Andrew

NuSphere is back this morning after another reboot. So maybe Google Earth was not the culprit. So if I want to change the SlimServer port, how do I open settings when localhost:9000 has been hijacked?

Also, when I update the slimserver settings ... how does the SqueezeBox2 know to try the new port/

Thanks

Phil

silverswingman
2005-10-16, 05:10
With a little more debugging, I have concluded that Google Earth was not the culprit. Likely just a coincidence or maybe it affected the timing of items loading during boot or login.

I had a NuSphere development environment installed in this PC, from when I had done some php/mysql work. I uninstalled slimserver, uninstalled Nusphere and rebooted. After that localhost:9000 could not be resolved, which seemed to confirm I was on the right track. Reinstalled slimserver and now everything is happy again.

I have updated the title of my original posting to match.

Phil