PDA

View Full Version : Disabling WiFi



mack
2005-10-14, 20:31
Hi,

I'm about to purchase my first squeezebox2. I plan to use it in a wired environment for now but want the wireless option for the future, so I'll probably go with the wireless model.

The question is, will I be able to completely disable the wireless chipset when not using it, or will it still transmit some assoc-requests or dhcp stuff ? I want it to be completely off if possible. Is there some external switch that disconnects it ?

Another thing I'm curious about, is whether the WiFi interface is limited to "infrastructure" (wireless client in a network with an AP) or can it work in "ad-hoc" mode, or as "master" (using HostAP or something similar).

Thanks,
Mack

dean
2005-10-14, 20:39
If you choose to use ethernet in setup, the wireless card won't be
initialized so it should do no transmitting at all and will be, in
effect, powered off. There's no external switch, but the software
setting should be more than sufficient.

If you do turn it on, then you can connect to either an existing ad
hoc or infrastructure network. (Squeezebox cannot act as an access
point.)

-dean

On Oct 14, 2005, at 8:31 PM, mack wrote:

>
> Hi,
>
> I'm about to purchase my first squeezebox2. I plan to use it in a
> wired environment for now but want the wireless option for the future,
> so I'll probably go with the wireless model.
>
> The question is, will I be able to completely disable the wireless
> chipset when not using it, or will it still transmit some
> assoc-requests or dhcp stuff ? I want it to be completely off if
> possible. Is there some external switch that disconnects it ?
>
> Another thing I'm curious about, is whether the WiFi interface is
> limited to "infrastructure" (wireless client in a network with an AP)
> or can it work in "ad-hoc" mode, or as "master" (using HostAP or
> something similar).
>
> Thanks,
> Mack
>
>
> --
> mack
>

mack
2005-10-14, 20:54
Thanks for the fast and informative reply. :)

By the way, does sb2 run Linux ? Is it possible for a user/developer to modify the firmware configuration (assuming this user is an experienced embedded-linux developer) ?

dean
2005-10-14, 21:55
On Oct 14, 2005, at 8:54 PM, mack wrote:
> Thanks for the fast and informative reply. :)
No problem.

> By the way, does sb2 run Linux ?
Alas, no.

> Is it possible for a user/developer
> to modify the firmware configuration (assuming this user is an
> experienced embedded-linux developer) ?
Squeezebox2 uses the Ubicom IP3K processor and it's custom operating
system, along with a lot of custom firmware.
The OS isn't open source, so there's no freely available development
environment. (We're working with them to try to fix this.)

mack
2005-10-15, 04:41
Thanks.

Too bad they don't support that.

However, from what I've seen, you made sb2 as extendable as possible by handling most events on the server rather than on the sb2. Kudos!

Can't wait get my sb2. :)

Mack