PDA

View Full Version : Slimserver and Suse 9.1



Robin Edwards
2005-10-11, 08:40
Hi, can somebody help please. I installed Slimserver 6.1.1 from RPM and
could not get to start. Trawling back I've seen various comments
about Suse and have copied a startup script into /etc/init.d that I
found in the discussion group. Now I can stop and start the service at
will from YAST or command line but whatever I do I cant seem to get it
to autostart when the system boots.

Any advice would be appreciated. I'd prefer not to go away from the
RPM, at least for now anyway. (I've just moved distro from Mandrake for
a number of reasons, and this is one of my few items to fix).

regards, robin

vwguy
2005-10-11, 11:13
Unfortuneatly I can't answer this, as I cannot even do what you are able to do. I'd be happy if I could at least do that. What script did you download to accomplish the start stop ? Did you have to do anything else other than installing the script ?

Thanks
P

radish
2005-10-11, 12:13
I'd just like to point out there's a dedicated Linux forum - you're more likely to get help from people who know what they're doing over there :)

Robin Edwards
2005-10-11, 12:19
| Unfortuneatly I can't answer this, as I cannot even do what you are able
| to do. I'd be happy if I could at least do that. What script did you
| download to accomplish the start stop ? Did you have to do anything
| else other than installing the script ?

I send it directly to you if you contact me offlist, save putting a
large post on the forum. I didnt do anything to it to make it work,
just put it into /etc/init.d.

I've been trying vsrious things since then to no avail.

robin

Roger the Shrubber
2005-10-11, 15:18
I think I got it working by going to Yast and selecting/removing it for different runlevels. Basically my impression was you can't easily do it manually and you should instead force Yast to rewrite some configuration file.
Since it was my first ever experience with Linux I probably missed something obvious but now it's OK.

vwguy
2005-10-11, 17:37
I finally was able to get the Startup script from WIKI to work.

I had comment out the line in slimserver.pl - that is
# $0 = "slimserver";

I found this in thread:

http://lists.slimdevices.com/archives/developers/2004-July/009722.html

I also had to go into etc/slimserver.conf and change

cachedir: /usr/local/slimserver

It was set to /root

I found this in thread:

http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=16096&highlight=suse+startup

P

stinkingpig
2005-10-11, 19:03
Robin Edwards wrote:

> Hi, can somebody help please. I installed Slimserver 6.1.1 from RPM
> and could not get to start. Trawling back I've seen various comments
> about Suse and have copied a startup script into /etc/init.d that I
> found in the discussion group. Now I can stop and start the service
> at will from YAST or command line but whatever I do I cant seem to get
> it to autostart when the system boots.
>
> Any advice would be appreciated. I'd prefer not to go away from the
> RPM, at least for now anyway. (I've just moved distro from Mandrake
> for a number of reasons, and this is one of my few items to fix).
>
> regards, robin
>