PDA

View Full Version : Need Dual Amp inputs?



sleepysurf
2005-10-09, 14:35
The latest Slimserver software upgrade (with pre-amp volume control) now allows me to connect my Squeezebox2 analog outs *DIRECTLY* to my Sunfire Cinema Grand 200 amp (driving ML Aerius speakers), bypassing the Pre/Pro stage altogether. This setup sounds absolutely FANTASTIC, especially with the Elpac linear PSU.

However, I ALSO had been using the Sunfire for DVD/Surround playback, with a Yamaha RX-V1000 as Pre/Pro. Any ideas on how I can easily share/switch the Sunfire inputs between the Squeezebox2 and the Yamaha?

Music Machine
2005-10-09, 14:58
You can get source selectors that are designed to do exactly what you want. However, your "absolutely FANTASTIC" sound will be compromised by switches, cables, and contacts.

I had the same dilemma. Now my SACD player is boxed up and stored in the closet. The only time I touch one of those junky jewel cases is to rip. Always hated those crappy things. If I drop one it's almost certain to break. It should be a form of revenge, but I hate the broken ones even more. The The Squeezebox is my true love.

Regards,
Music Machine

sleepysurf
2005-10-09, 15:15
Any recommendations for an Audiophile-grade source selector? Alternatively, I'm thinking I could perhaps use an RCA Y-connector, with the SB2 and Yamaha both feeding into the Amp.

I've likewise ditched my CD Player entirely, and am buying multiple Squeezeboxes for whole-house audio.

Music Machine
2005-10-09, 15:37
http://www.sakurasystems.com/products/47selector.html
I have no experience with this unit. And never will at those prices.

Radio shack has more reasonably priced input selectors.

I would not use a simple splitter. Results would depend on the design of the output circuits. Your outputs would be wired together if you did this.

Regards

pfarrell
2005-10-09, 15:56
On Sun, 2005-10-09 at 15:15 -0700, sleepysurf wrote:
> Any recommendations for an Audiophile-grade source selector?

That is a preamp. There are passive preamps, but even they
cost a least a grand. And you'd add back multiple interconnects,
jacks and plugs and other bad stuff.

> Alternatively, I'm thinking I could perhaps use an RCA Y-connector,
> with the SB2 and Yamaha both feeding into the Amp.

This is not at all audiophile.

It would work if you never send two signals at once. But while you
can drive one output to two inputs with a Y connector, you can not
drive two outputs into one destination. That takes a switch or
a mixer.



--
Pat
http://www.pfarrell.com/music/slimserver/slimsoftware.html

seanadams
2005-10-09, 23:29
I would go with a simple mechanical switch, assuming that meets your usage requirements. If you use an auto-selecting device, you would need to evaluate its design to make sure it isn't going to impair clean pass-though of the signal.

sleepysurf
2005-10-12, 12:56
I found the perfect (albeit non-audiophile <g>) mechanical switch at RadioShack...
2-Way Audio/Video Selector Switch Catalog #: 15-1982 $14.99

Hooked it up, and surprisingly, no deleterious effect on sound whatsoever!

Now I'm in audiophile-hog-heaven!

jonwb
2005-10-17, 11:02
I'm in that same situation right now (I even have the same A/V reciever). There's a thread about this very topic over on Audio Circles. Here:
http://www.audiocircle.com/circles/viewtopic.php?t=22189

In addition to the aforementioned Radio Shack switch, these two also came up:
http://fidaudio.com/quintete.html

http://www.decware.com/newsite/rotary.htm

Jon

sleepysurf
2005-10-17, 11:50
The Fidaudio switch certainly looks "audiophile" grade, though it may/may not outperform the Radioshack. Anybody up for more blind testing <g>. Anticipating that audiophile friends will scoff at the Radioshack, I made a label for mine.. "El Cheapo Non-Audiophile Switch."

BTW, the Audio Circles thread derived from my cross-posting this topic on Audio Asylum, and Wayne of Bolder Cable picking up on it!

jmourik
2006-12-19, 03:48
Where should I place a Radio Shack like switch?

- before the pre-amp input on my avr-4800, so I can attach both the dvd rca
and the SB2 rca to the pre-amp input
or
- before the power amp input, to choose between avr4800/SB2 input, so I
drive the SB2 straight into the power amp

BTW, Looks like fidaudio is gone...

jan

Mark Lanctot
2006-12-19, 07:19
Where should I place a Radio Shack like switch?

- before the pre-amp input on my avr-4800, so I can attach both the dvd rca
and the SB2 rca to the pre-amp input

Doesn't the 4800 have multiple inputs for this?


or
- before the power amp input, to choose between avr4800/SB2 input, so I
drive the SB2 straight into the power amp

This might be better because the 4800 most likely digitizes all analog inputs, applies processing, then does another D/A conversion.

While the 4800 used to be second-from-top-of-the-line (I think) it's fairly old (I think!) so more modern ADCs and DACs would probably outperform it.

By tying the SB2 straight into the power amp through the switch, everything remains strictly analog and the only conversion is done using the DAC in the SB2, which is pretty good.

jmourik
2006-12-19, 08:56
yes, Only by using the pre input on the avr4800 i avoid the extra
conversions. But i was wondering if it would be ok to use the switch
before the power amp, or is it better or safer before the avr4800 pre
input?

jmourik
2006-12-23, 09:53
This one also doesn't look too bad:
Acoustic Research AR-200 - 2-Input Audio/S-Video Selector :
http://www.audio-discounters.com/ar-200.html
Or is the Radio Shack switch still preferred?
http://www.radioshack.com/product/index.jsp?parentPage=search&pg=1&summary=summary&cp=2032057.2032187.2032188.2032200&accessories=accessories&productId=2049644&kw=input+selector&techSpecs=techSpecs&currentTab=techSpecs&searchSort=TRUE&custRatings=custRatings&features=features&y=2&origkw=input+selector&s=A-StorePrice-RSK&x=16&support=support&tab=summary

jan

TiredLegs
2007-01-02, 12:30
If you're looking for real audiophile grade, here's the Red Wine Audio Source Select Switch: http://www.redwineaudio.com/Signature_3S.html.

Of course, at $499, it costs more than a Squeezebox...