PDA

View Full Version : SB2 and WinME



Mike Meyer
2005-10-04, 07:20
I'm having problems using my WinME running the SlimServer 6.0.2 software
with the SB2. I can see the mp3's on the SB2 display but they do not play.
I have opened the ports on the firewall as suggested in the documentation.
Can anyone confirm that the SB2 works with WinME? I'm sure I'm just doing
something wrong.

I also have a Win2000 PC that is running the 6.1 SlimServer software. That
works fine except all my mp3's are on my WinME PC and I haven't been able to
successfully add the network drive as the music folder on the Win2000 PC. I
tried the documented solutions but am not having any luck. I would rather
use the Win2000 PC as the server since I can use SlimServer 6.1, I just
can't get at my mp3's so far.

Any feedback is appreciated. Thanks.

Mike

greedy_grendel
2005-10-06, 15:20
I'm having problems using my WinME running the SlimServer 6.0.2 software
with the SB2. I can see the mp3's on the SB2 display but they do not play.
I have opened the ports on the firewall as suggested in the documentation.
Can anyone confirm that the SB2 works with WinME? I'm sure I'm just doing
something wrong.

I also have a Win2000 PC that is running the 6.1 SlimServer software. That
works fine except all my mp3's are on my WinME PC and I haven't been able to
successfully add the network drive as the music folder on the Win2000 PC. I
tried the documented solutions but am not having any luck. I would rather
use the Win2000 PC as the server since I can use SlimServer 6.1, I just
can't get at my mp3's so far.

Any feedback is appreciated. Thanks.

Mike


Please don't take this as written in stone, but I thought that when you had your music library and Slimserver on separate PC's, you had to edit the slimserver service through run>>services.msc>>right-click slimserver>>properties>>logon tab>>this account"the remote pc username & password"

Have you definitely made sure that you have a shortcut to the remote libray directory in Slimserver's specified library location on the local machine. I think it has to be in the format UNC format of \\machinename(or IP address)\drive\directory

As I said, I don't have a need to use this procedure, but I seem to remember reading something about it on the forum some time ago.

Cheers,
-m

Mike Meyer
2005-10-10, 06:16
Thanks for the information. I went back and tried that again and it was
working better but my Win2000 PC is such a piece of junk (a freebie from
work) and didn't have the horsepower to scan the music directory across the
network.

My WinME PC has more power (still nothing special) but the MP3's still won't
play. I can see all of them on the display but when I try to play them it
just sits there. Maybe I'll try an try an even older version of SlimServer
that might work better with WinME. Or maybe the SB2 doesn't work with WinME.

Maybe I'll just need to wait until it's time for a new PC, which should be
soon, in order to get my MP3's going. I still love the internet radio
stations though. :)

Mike

MeSue
2005-10-10, 07:53
Maybe you could move the music onto an external disk and connect it directly to the Win2k PC?

We have 4 PCs in our house and I use a Ximeta NetDisk to store my music files so they are accessible to all. This is an external disk that can connect via USB or Ethernet. The system treats it just like a local disk even when it's connected via Ethernet. I have found it more reliable that using shared folders.

Mike Meyer
2005-10-13, 06:06
It turned out to be a bad router. There was some lightning in the
neighborhood a month or so ago and it zapped a couple ethernet cards in the
house but apparently the router didn't make it through unscathed either.
The SB2 stopped connecting to slimserver last night and it wasn't able to
connect to the DHCP server. So I swapped out routers and now everything
works, including listening to all my tunes on the WinME box. Life is good
once again. Now I have to start ripping all my CD's....good times.

Thanks for the suggestion Sue. I would have eventually tried that but I got
lucky with the router swap.

Mike