PDA

View Full Version : How to connect?



luuk
2005-10-02, 13:12
I must have missed something but I am trying to set up a Squeezenetwork. I have signed up for the service which tells me in Step 1 to

"browse to Squeezebox Home => SqueezeNetwork to connect. The first time you connect, your Squeezebox will prompt you to choose a language and timezone."

I take it this means I have to do this on the actual box. When I do, I get the message "Can't find address for Squeezenetwork" Great!

Step 2 tells me how to get my PIN. I figured that perhaps I have to register my pin first before it can connect, so I follow up the instruction "If you don't remember this PIN, with your remote go to Settings -> Squeezebox PIN to display a new PIN." When I do this the option does not appear in the settings menu.

What am I doing wrong? Why won't SB2 connect to the network. I have no problems connecting to Slimserver and playing my music or receiving radio stations. I am using Slimserver 6.1.1.

luuk
2005-10-02, 13:16
I just read an earlier thread again and tried pinging the network (I am behind a firewall) and this works fine, so that cannot be the problem.

Luuk

dean
2005-10-02, 13:17
On Oct 2, 2005, at 1:12 PM, luuk wrote:

>
> I must have missed something but I am trying to set up a
> Squeezenetwork.
> I have signed up for the service which tells me in Step 1 to
>
> "browse to Squeezebox Home => SqueezeNetwork to connect. The first
> time
> you connect, your Squeezebox will prompt you to choose a language and
> timezone."
>
> I take it this means I have to do this on the actual box. When I do, I
> get the message "Can't find address for Squeezenetwork" Great!
This means that the player can't get the IP address to connect to
squeezenetwork. The DNS lookup is failing. Do you have a DNS server
listed under View Current Settings?

> Step 2 tells me how to get my PIN. I figured that perhaps I have to
> register my pin first before it can connect, so I follow up the
> instruction "If you don't remember this PIN, with your remote go to
> Settings -> Squeezebox PIN to display a new PIN." When I do this the
> option does not appear in the settings menu.
You'll be able to do this once you get connected (see above. :)

luuk
2005-10-03, 06:39
Dean,

I do have a DNS server listed. It is the same primary DNS server address that is also listed in the tcp settings for the wireless adapter of the computer on which Slimserver runs.

Luuk

dean
2005-10-03, 08:35
Luuk,

Ok, so that's not it. Does your internet connection use PPPoE on
your computer? Also, what kind of router are you using?

-dean

On Oct 3, 2005, at 6:39 AM, luuk wrote:

>
> Dean,
>
> I do have a DNS server listed. It is the same primary DNS server
> address that is also listed in the tcp settings for the wireless
> adapter of the computer on which Slimserver runs.
>
> Luuk
>
>
> --
> luuk
>

luuk
2005-10-03, 09:54
Dean,

I checked my access point settings and it looks as if I do use PPPoE to connect me via ADSL with the Internet. The router I use is a Linksys Wireless-G ADSL Gateway. I do not know if it is relevant but within the home network I use fixed IP addresses. I run XP SP2.

Luuk

dean
2005-10-03, 10:00
Ok, so your router/access point is set up for PPPoE and not your
computer, right? (Since internet providers who use PPPoE only let
one device connect with your account at a time, the router would need
to do it, then the computer and Squeezebox would connect through the
router's connection.)

On Oct 3, 2005, at 9:54 AM, luuk wrote:

>
> Dean,
>
> I checked my access point settings and it looks as if I do use PPPoE
> to connect me via ADSL with the Internet. The router I use is a
> Linksys
> Wireless-G ADSL Gateway. I do not know if it is relevant but within
> the
> home network I use fixed IP addresses. I run XP SP2.
>
> Luuk
>
>
> --
> luuk
>

luuk
2005-10-03, 10:45
Dean,

I am pretty sure that is indeed the case, because it is the Gateway that reports under Basic setup such PPPoE settings as user name and password. The gateway/modem logs me in, all other computers use a TCP protocoll to talk to each other and the gateway/modem with which they share the internet connection.

Luuk

dean
2005-10-03, 11:45
Ok, I don't have a solution for you. Please contact
support (AT) slimdevices (DOT) com and let us know on the forum how you solved
the problem.

Thanks!

On Oct 3, 2005, at 10:45 AM, luuk wrote:

>
> Dean,
>
> I am pretty sure that is indeed the case, because it is the Gateway
> that reports under Basic setup such PPPoE settings as user name and
> password. The gateway/modem logs me in, all other computers use a TCP
> protocoll to talk to each other and the gateway/modem with which they
> share the internet connection.
>
> Luuk
>
>
> --
> luuk
>

luuk
2005-10-03, 12:23
Ok and thanks.

Luuk

wprestong
2005-10-15, 11:43
I have the same problem you have: I can't follow the SqueezeNetwork instructions or get the PIN because SqueezeNetwork does not appear in my menu. I just got the Squeezebox yesterday.

MrC
2005-10-15, 13:39
One possibility is that your primary name server is failing, and your secondary name server is succeeding. This would account for why you can browse and surf, as Windows will fallback to secondary name servers after a timeout period. However SB2 does not seem to timeout or fallback correctly to secondary name servers.

I configured a test, and added a bogus primary nameserver and a good secondary nameserver. After reconfiguring networking, I could no longer connect to SqueezeNetwork, despite a valid secondary nameserver.

Try testing your primary nameserver in a Windows command shell. The command

nslookup slimdevices.com PRIMARY-NAMESERVER-IP

where PRIMARY-NAMESERVER-IP is the IP address of your primary nameserver. If you get back a "no response from server" message, this would validate the problem, especially if the nslookup works for the secondardy nameserver address.

dean
2005-10-16, 10:53
Thanks, I've filed a bug against this for 6.2, number 2301.

dean
2005-10-19, 16:41
The issue with the secondary name servers not working has been fixed in the 6.2b2 release that's available for download now. Please give it a try and let us know if you have any remaining issues. Thanks!

MrC
2005-10-19, 16:48
Interesting. I'm actually testing this now w/svn4705 and firmware 25 and am finding that with a bogus primary and a valid secondary, Connecting to SqueezeNetwork never goes away (ie. never connects).

btw. every 10 seconds, the screen goes blank during this connection wait period. Probably it should not go black?

MrC
2005-10-19, 17:49
I've also tested bug 2221

http://bugs.slimdevices.com/show_bug.cgi?id=2221

and am not seeing either fixes. Is it possible that the fixes didn't make it into firmware 25?

dean
2005-10-19, 18:18
Bug 2221 was not specifically fixed in firmware 25, but I suspected
that it might have been fixed as a side effect of a firmware
corruption issue in firmware 24.

Will look at it as soon as possible, thanks for reproducing it.

On Oct 19, 2005, at 5:49 PM, MrC wrote:

>
> I've also tested bug 2221
>
> http://bugs.slimdevices.com/show_bug.cgi?id=2221
>
> and am not seeing either fixes. Is it possible that the fixes didn't
> make it into firmware 25?
>
>
> --
> MrC
>

MrC
2005-10-19, 18:38
Thanks for the info. I've updated the bugs as well, and have created an additional bug 2318.