PDA

View Full Version : Original Slimp3 help



jbuccino
2005-10-01, 05:48
When I purchased my new SB2 I gave my old Slimp3 to a friend who lives about 50 miles away and set it up to access the same music on my server. When it works, it is amazing. However it will occasionally skip and "squawk" as if the server can't keep up. I'm pretty sure it isn't my server or his network because when I bring my laptop to his house and run SoftSqueeze everything works fine and there is no skipping. I have already set the Bitrate Limiting and LAME quality for this player to the lowest settings. This helps but doesn't totally fix the problem.

Does anyone have any ideas what else I could try?

Thanks.

stinkingpig
2005-10-01, 09:08
jbuccino wrote:

>When I purchased my new SB2 I gave my old Slimp3 to a friend who lives
>about 50 miles away and set it up to access the same music on my
>server. When it works, it is amazing. However it will occasionally skip
>and "squawk" as if the server can't keep up. I'm pretty sure it isn't my
>server or his network because when I bring my laptop to his house and
>run SoftSqueeze everything works fine and there is no skipping. I have
>already set the Bitrate Limiting and LAME quality for this player to
>the lowest settings. This helps but doesn't totally fix the problem.
>
>Does anyone have any ideas what else I could try?
>
>Thanks.
>
>

The slimp3 has a very small buffer... you'd get better results from a
Squeezebox, or from putting a server at his house.

jbuccino
2005-10-01, 10:33
So there's nothing else I can try?

Neil Davidson
2005-10-01, 11:29
>
> So there's nothing else I can try?
>
>

I wouldn't have thought so. If it is pulling the music over the internet
then you are introducing many more variables than you would have if you were
on a network. Ignoring upload and download bandwidth on the connections you
also have contention ratios (at least you do in the UK with ADSL) you have
the packets routing between service providers, or at the very least through
a providers network. Also bear in mind that the display for the unit is
being driven by the server as well, so not only is the music taking
bandwidth, the player/server communications are as well. I have no idea what
the overhead for this is, but I would assume it would be significant on
anything lower than basic Ethernet speeds.

jth
2005-10-01, 13:18
As a last resort, you might want to go into network settings and
set 'maximum number of bytes to send...' to something lower than
the default - like 1000. If that works you can experiment with
higher values between 1000 and 1400 (you want the highest value
your connection can tolerate).

This may work if the MTU between the SLIMP3 and your server is
less than 1400.

jbuccino
2005-10-02, 05:59
OK, I'll try that. Can you tell me why you think that may help? Will it affect the performance of my new SB2 or SoftSqueeze?

Are there any settings I can change to reduce the traffic necessary to drive the display? I didn't realize that the server ran the Slimp3 display. I assume that this was handled by the Slimp3 processor locally.