PDA

View Full Version : Windows Server 2003 problems



pasodoble
2005-09-30, 15:42
Hi everyone.

I've been tidying things around in my home and I've finally moved all my music to a silent Windows 2003 server that I've been meaning to complete for a while.


The problem is, Slimserver doesn't run! It installs fine, but Slimserver doesn't start up. It doesn't for some reason appear in the Services list either.


Any ideas why?

JJZolx
2005-09-30, 17:14
I've been tidying things around in my home and I've finally moved all my music to a silent Windows 2003 server that I've been meaning to complete for a while.

The problem is, Slimserver doesn't run! It installs fine, but Slimserver doesn't start up. It doesn't for some reason appear in the Services list either.

Any ideas why?
What version of SlimServer did you install? Does the SlimServer exe run OK from the command line?

MrC
2005-09-30, 17:15
This question has been asked many times in the forum. Do a quick search and you'll find more info.

pasodoble
2005-10-01, 16:50
It may have been asked many times before but my searches with "Windows 2003 doesn't run" doesn't yield useful results.


I downloaded whatever was current as of the time of posting. 6.1.1? When I double-click on Slimserver, the pop up box appears "Starting Slimserver" at the bottom of the screen and stays that way.

Don Clark
2005-10-05, 07:05
I have been running Slim Server on Win23k for a while now. On one of
the 6.x builds I had a setup that didn't run correctly. What I wound
up doing was uninstalling and reinstalling the application. Everything
worked fine after that.

Have you tried reinstalling? In a thread titled "slimtray.exe not
working" someone reported problems with installing on an account other
than the administrator account. I would suggest uninstalling and
logging on under the administrator account, rather than an account
with adminstrative permissions and then reinstalling.

Good luck,
Don


On 10/1/05, pasodoble < pasodoble.1w8zhn (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com> wrote:

>
> I downloaded whatever was current as of the time of posting. 6.1.1?
> When I double-click on Slimserver, the pop up box appears "Starting
> Slimserver" at the bottom of the screen and stays that way.
>
>