PDA

View Full Version : Still seeing incorrect tags, even after "wipe cache"



Dan Goodinson
2005-09-30, 02:02
I've got at least 1 tag that seems to be 'stuck' the SS cache.

Slimserver can see a track by "Primitives" and also a track by
"Primitives, The". I want to get rid of the one by "Primitives". Using
the web panel, I've checked the file location for the one that says
"Primitives". It's on a CD called "Crash! Indie Anthems". When I try
to drill down into the actual track, SS tells me that there is 1 track
by 1 artist but doesn't display anything (which is what I'd expect
because the track isn't there any more ;-)

The track isn't there because I've _already_ corrected the tag (both
ID3v1 and ID3v2) but SS is still picking up the incorrect "Primitives"
tag from somewhere.

I do a nightly scan of the library, but I've tried numerous "wipe
cache". But this tag is still showing up.

How can I clean this tag? Is there a way to delete the entire library
from SS and then run a new scan to get a "fresh" library?

Running SB1 on SS 6.1.

Dan Goodinson
2005-09-30, 02:16
Incidentally, if I try to play the phantom track, SS service crashes :)

e.g.
1. Do a live search for "Primitives" to find the correct tags and the
dodgy one.
2. Click "Play" for this (incorrect) artist tag.
3. Web panel starts displaying "Page cannot be displayed" all over the
place.
4. SS service has stopped.

Not too concerned, as the track doesn't exist - I'm not expecting SS to
magically play it somehow ;) Thought it might be worth raising though,
in case the slimdevices team want to add some sort of error (e.g. Error:
track not found) rather than crashing out the service.

As an aside, the track by The Primitives that is causing me all the
problems is called "Crash" :) :)

-----Original Message-----
From: discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
[mailto:discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com] On Behalf Of Dan
Goodinson
Sent: 30 September 2005 10:03
To: Discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
Subject: [slim] Still seeing incorrect tags, even after "wipe cache"


I've got at least 1 tag that seems to be 'stuck' the SS cache.

Slimserver can see a track by "Primitives" and also a track by
"Primitives, The". I want to get rid of the one by "Primitives". Using
the web panel, I've checked the file location for the one that says
"Primitives". It's on a CD called "Crash! Indie Anthems". When I try
to drill down into the actual track, SS tells me that there is 1 track
by 1 artist but doesn't display anything (which is what I'd expect
because the track isn't there any more ;-)

The track isn't there because I've _already_ corrected the tag (both
ID3v1 and ID3v2) but SS is still picking up the incorrect "Primitives"
tag from somewhere.

I do a nightly scan of the library, but I've tried numerous "wipe
cache". But this tag is still showing up.

How can I clean this tag? Is there a way to delete the entire library
from SS and then run a new scan to get a "fresh" library?

Running SB1 on SS 6.1.

Robin Bowes
2005-09-30, 02:31
Dan Goodinson wrote:
> I've got at least 1 tag that seems to be 'stuck' the SS cache.
>
> Slimserver can see a track by "Primitives" and also a track by
> "Primitives, The". I want to get rid of the one by "Primitives". Using
> the web panel, I've checked the file location for the one that says
> "Primitives". It's on a CD called "Crash! Indie Anthems". When I try
> to drill down into the actual track, SS tells me that there is 1 track
> by 1 artist but doesn't display anything (which is what I'd expect
> because the track isn't there any more ;-)
>
> The track isn't there because I've _already_ corrected the tag (both
> ID3v1 and ID3v2) but SS is still picking up the incorrect "Primitives"
> tag from somewhere.
>
> I do a nightly scan of the library, but I've tried numerous "wipe
> cache". But this tag is still showing up.
>
> How can I clean this tag? Is there a way to delete the entire library
> from SS and then run a new scan to get a "fresh" library?

Sounds like it might be picking up the file name from a playlist file,
i.e. .m3u or .cue in the music directory somewhere.

R.

--
http://robinbowes.com

If a man speaks in a forest,
and his wife's not there,
is he still wrong?

kdf
2005-09-30, 02:37
On 30-Sep-05, at 2:16 AM, Dan Goodinson wrote:

> Incidentally, if I try to play the phantom track, SS service crashes :)
>
> e.g.
> 1. Do a live search for "Primitives" to find the correct tags and the
> dodgy one.
> 2. Click "Play" for this (incorrect) artist tag.
> 3. Web panel starts displaying "Page cannot be displayed" all over the
> place.
> 4. SS service has stopped.
>
> Not too concerned, as the track doesn't exist - I'm not expecting SS to
> magically play it somehow ;) Thought it might be worth raising though,
> in case the slimdevices team want to add some sort of error (e.g.
> Error:
> track not found) rather than crashing out the service.
>
there are already lots of those, so you'd have to supply the actual
crash message from the log or event viewer for anyone to have any
possibility of locating which location your issue tripped over.

check your old playlists for this file as well. If you have an old
reference in one of them, the metadata stored there could be affecting
what you see.

-kdf

Dan Goodinson
2005-09-30, 02:45
Thanks kdf, thanks Robin.

Yes, it's almost certain that the phantom track exists in a playlist
somewhere. I'll root it out and remove it and let you know.

Cheers,
Dan.

>>

check your old playlists for this file as well. If you have an old
reference in one of them, the metadata stored there could be affecting
what you see.

-kdf

JulianL
2005-10-03, 11:45
I had a similar problem and it was nothing to do with playlists. I had "Blue Nile" albums and then a phantom "Blue Nile (The)" album with one track in it.

My problem was simple. At some point in ripping and encoding the album (with one step EAC to FLAC) I realised I had done something wrong so I hit cancel on the rip, corrected the problem, and started the rip/encode again. This was the problem.

What happened was that when I aborted the first rip I was left with a .WAV file for the first few seconds of the first track that was left in the music directory alongside the final nicely ripped and tagged FLAC files. When SlimServer does a scan then it of course picks up and organises all the nicely tagged FLAC files but it also finds this stray .WAV file in its scan and, since .WAV is untagged, it then guesses the tags (rather well actually) from the file and directory names and hence it ended up in my collection. Finding and deleting the stray .WAV file and then doing a clear cache & rescan then gets rid of the phantom entry.

I'm sure you could substitute "MP3" for "FLAC" in my description above and it would still be valid. Maybe the above could be the source of your problem.

- Julian

Dan Goodinson
2005-10-04, 03:44
I think the problem was the Music Magic Mixer plugin. It was only after
I stopped this AND slimserver (and THEN deleted the cache) that it
worked out ok. If I stopped slim, but not MMM the phantom data still
appeared even after completely deleting the library.

-----Original Message-----
From: discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
[mailto:discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com] On Behalf Of JulianL
Sent: 03 October 2005 19:45
To: discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
Subject: [slim] Re: Still seeing incorrect tags, even after "wipe cache"



I had a similar problem and it was nothing to do with playlists. I had
"Blue Nile" albums and then a phantom "Blue Nile (The)" album with one
track in it.

My problem was simple. At some point in ripping and encoding the album
(with one step EAC to FLAC) I realised I had done something wrong so I
hit cancel on the rip, corrected the problem, and started the rip/encode
again. This was the problem.

What happened was that when I aborted the first rip I was left with a
..WAV file for the first few seconds of the first track that was left in
the music directory alongside the final nicely ripped and tagged FLAC
files. When SlimServer does a scan then it of course picks up and
organises all the nicely tagged FLAC files but it also finds this stray
..WAV file in its scan and, since .WAV is untagged, it then guesses the
tags (rather well actually) from the file and directory names and hence
it ended up in my collection. Finding and deleting the stray .WAV file
and then doing a clear cache & rescan then gets rid of the phantom
entry.

I'm sure you could substitute "MP3" for "FLAC" in my description above
and it would still be valid. Maybe the above could be the source of your
problem.

- Julian


--
JulianL