PDA

View Full Version : Buffered commands driving me crazy



GreenMan
2005-09-24, 14:50
I like my SB2, but sometimes I find that I start pushing buttons on the remote to navigate the SB2 menus, and nothing happens. Then 10-15 seconds later, all the navigation I did starts suddenly happening in rapid succession. Has this been noticed/reported?

kdf
2005-09-24, 18:16
On 24-Sep-05, at 2:50 PM, GreenMan wrote:

> Has this been noticed/reported?
>
yup:
http://bugs.slimdevices.com/show_bug.cgi?id=2081
-k

gorstk
2005-09-25, 14:08
GreenMan wrote:
> I like my SB2, but sometimes I find that I start pushing buttons on the
> remote to navigate the SB2 menus, and nothing happens. Then 10-15
> seconds later, all the navigation I did starts suddenly happening in
> rapid succession. Has this been noticed/reported?

A similar thing happens on my box (SB1), but is also associated with
spikes of CPU useage going to 100% by slimserver. This occurs as regular
as clockwork about every minute.

See my post in the beta newsgroup below.
Could this be the same problem as you have. Any similarities in our setup?


Using latest nightly 23/9, mandrake linux, pentium 3 1ghz, musicmagic, SB1

Around every one minute slimserver takes up 100% of my processor useage
making the server unuseable for interactive tasks for a few seconds.
Music or scrolling on my SB1 is not affected. This occurs again about a
minute after CPU useage returns to normal.

Any idea what even can be occurring around about every minute?

This occurs with or without the web interface open and with or without
the SB1 playing or not (or even switched off).

I cant think of anything special other than music magic.

This problem seemed to start occurring in a nighlty around abotu 2 weeks
ago.

Any ideas?

Ben Sandee
2005-09-25, 16:20
On 9/25/05, John Gorst <john_gorst (AT) hotmail (DOT) com> wrote:
>
> GreenMan wrote:
>
> Any idea what even can be occurring around about every minute?
>

I think the default refresh interval for the MusicMagic plugin is 60
seconds. I would set the MM interval higher to see if it helps. I set mine
to 3600. Could be related?

There are other tasks that run on the minutes too I think.

Ben

gorstk
2005-09-26, 11:11
Ben Sandee wrote:
> On 9/25/05, *John Gorst*
> <john_gorst (AT) hotmail (DOT) com
> <mailto:john_gorst (AT) hotmail (DOT) com>> wrote:
>
> GreenMan wrote:
>
> Any idea what even can be occurring around about every minute?
>
>
> I think the default refresh interval for the MusicMagic plugin is 60
> seconds. I would set the MM interval higher to see if it helps. I set
> mine to 3600. Could be related?

Mine is set at 6000, but I will have a good look at other time settings.

Thanks