PDA

View Full Version : IR Blaster tests



giulianoz
2005-09-24, 02:00
Hi,
yesterday I've got the IR Blaster from SD (thanks !). It works fine SB2 with 6.2/09-23 nightly and latest plugin (firmware >=22).
unfortunately I can't find the configuration file for my amp (panasonic xr105). I tried the generic panasonic amp configuration from lirc but it doesn't work. How can I find out the codes I should use ? I already emaild to panasonic for those informations a month ago but I never received an answer. If it helps I have the following hardware:

sigma designs remote + serial receiver
hauppauge winpvr 250 (integrated IR receiver) with remote
usb irda adapter (it seems it works only as data receiver/sender for use quth mobiles etc)
asus a716 pda with novii remote installed (this can learn codes from remotes)

tia

giuliano

fcm4711
2005-09-24, 14:13
Hi giuliano

Thanks for testing. Unfortunately Technics/Panasonic remotes are not yet supported in current firmware version 22. I proposed a change which should allow Technics/Panasonic remotes to work. It is confirmed to be in the upcoming firmware version 23.

Felix

P.S. Could you tell me the names of the remote files from LIRC you tried? Thanks.

giulianoz
2005-09-25, 00:54
Hi Felix. the file is named "amp.cde", renamed "amp.conf". it was in the directory panasonic of the lirc ftp site

giuliano

fcm4711
2005-10-29, 16:58
Hi giuliano

This file looks ok to me. Did you try with the lastest SB2 firmware?

Felix

Hyperite
2005-11-04, 11:40
I'm about to buy a Squeezebox3, but I'm wondering how development is coming on the IR blasting. Is there support for outputting custom codes? I have an amp from a non-mainstream manufacturer, and I'd like to be able to control it from the squeezebox.

fcm4711
2005-11-07, 10:17
Hello Hyperite

Could you give me some more information about your amp? Do you have (or could you get from the manufacturer) information about the used IR specification?

IR Blaster is capable of generating the major three types of IR signals: Space encoded, Pulse encoded and rc5 format encoded. It supports carrier frequencies from 36kHz up to 40kHz and IR commands sets up to 48 bits plus header and tail bit.

Thanks
Felix

Hyperite
2005-11-08, 11:10
It's a Carver C-1000A receiver (Bob Carver, aka- Sunfire) and I have no idea what type of IR encoding it uses. I have an IR receiver for my PC, is there a program I could use to read the codes from my amp remote? The codes were learnable by a universal remote, so I assume they're industry standard something or other, but no universal remote i've ever seen has had codes for it.

edit: I take that back! I just looked online at One-For-All and Comcast universal remote codes and they do have a listing for Carver! Nevertheless, I still don't know how the IR process works with the Squeezebox, is it a preprogrammed code list or something programmable?

jsnell
2005-11-09, 11:34
The sony stereo I'm using with my Squeezebox doesn't seem to have any LIRC config files available, and I tried about a zillion other Sony config files from LIRC without any success. Any advice about the best way for me to find a config file for a sony U-252 or U-221 remote? Is there some method by which I can use the Squeezebox to generate a config file?

I'm sure this has all been covered before, but I can't find it.

fcm4711
2005-11-09, 13:20
I have an IR receiver for my PC, is there a program I could use to read the codes from my amp remote?


Yes. You could try http://winlirc.sourceforge.net/


Nevertheless, I still don't know how the IR process works with the Squeezebox, is it a preprogrammed code list or something programmable?

IR Blaster uses config files that have been learned by the above mentioned program. This files tell IR Blaster about the different codes, how long each pulse needs to be and what sequence is needed for the different commands.

Felix

fcm4711
2005-11-09, 13:24
The sony stereo I'm using with my Squeezebox doesn't seem to have any LIRC config files available, and I tried about a zillion other Sony config files from LIRC without any success. Any advice about the best way for me to find a config file for a sony U-252 or U-221 remote? Is there some method by which I can use the Squeezebox to generate a config file?


Are you sure IR Blaster works at all? Did you try the test by sending an IR signal to SB itself?

There is currently no method to use SB to generate the config files. Sorry.

Felix

jsnell
2005-11-09, 14:28
Are you sure IR Blaster works at all? Did you try the test by sending an IR signal to SB itself?

Yes, and that worked just fine.

I've got a USB IR receiver (Keyspan) for my Mac; can I use a utility to create the config file via that receiver?

Hyperite
2005-11-11, 10:17
IR Blaster uses config files that have been learned by the above mentioned program. This files tell IR Blaster about the different codes, how long each pulse needs to be and what sequence is needed for the different commands.

Felix
And then how do i tell SlimServer to initiate an IR event? For example, "when alarmclock happens, turn on receiver."

fcm4711
2005-11-11, 15:23
Hi guys

jsnell: Actually, I don't know. Sorry. Anyone?

Hyperite: You can link IR commands to power on/off and volume up/down events in the IR Blaster plugin web setup.

Felix

schalliol
2006-01-06, 07:32
I've got a USB IR receiver (Keyspan) for my Mac; can I use a utility to create the config file via that receiver?
I do not know if there's a utility to capture the codes for Mac, but you might check remotecentral.com for IR codes and utilities. I can acquire codes by learning them on my Philips Pronto 2000 remote and uploading them to my Mac via an open source application called Tonto. If you can't find the codes there, as a worst case scenario, if you sent your remote, I could create a file with the codes and send it back.

Duman
2006-01-17, 09:48
I've noticed that Felix has used a universal remote to generate some .conf files for various remotes. I would love the ability to create .conf files for all my remotes if possible. Is there a straightforward method and/or utility for doing so in Windows? I have an IR receiver that is compatible with winlirc, and my first priority is to obtain a .conf file for my panasonic SA-XR55 receiver.

fcm4711
2006-01-17, 14:50
Hi Duman

I am using irrecord on Linux to learn IR commands, but WinLIRC should also have a learning possiblity. At least its website states that the irrecord functionality has been built in.

Anyway, I've recorded three sets of my universal remote for Panasonic Amplifiers/Receivers. Maybe yours works with one of these sets too.

The number buttons are most likely different input sources on your remote, just rename them accordingly.

Felix



begin remote
name pana_amp_1331
bits 16
flags SPACE_ENC
eps 30
aeps 100

header 3555 1668
one 463 1271
zero 463 409
ptrail 456
pre_data_bits 32
pre_data 0x40040500
gap 74000
toggle_bit 0

begin codes
power 0x000000000000BCB9
volup 0x0000000000000401
voldown 0x0000000000008481
mute 0x0000000000004C49
0 0x000000000000292C
1 0x000000000000494C
2 0x0000000000004540
3 0x000000000000090C
4 0x000000000000696C
5 0x000000000000797C
6 0x000000000000595C
7 0x000000000000F9FC
8 0x000000000000C0C5
9 0x000000000000E9EC
end codes
end remote

begin remote
name pana_amp_1332
bits 24
flags SPACE_ENC
eps 30
aeps 100

header 3554 1669
one 464 1269
zero 464 408
ptrail 457
pre_data_bits 24
pre_data 0x400405
gap 73999
toggle_bit 0

begin codes
power 0x000000000020BC99
volup 0x0000000000000401
voldown 0x0000000000008481
mute 0x0000000000004C49
0 0x0000000000200326
1 0x0000000000204366
2 0x0000000000004540
3 0x000000000000191C
4 0x00000000002083A6
5 0x000000000000797C
6 0x0000000000FFFF05
7 0x0000000000FFFF05
8 0x000000000000090C
9 0x0000000000FFFF05
end codes
end remote

begin remote
name pana_amp_1786
bits 24
flags SPACE_ENC
eps 30
aeps 100

header 3554 1668
one 464 1268
zero 464 409
ptrail 459
pre_data_bits 24
pre_data 0x400405
gap 73999
toggle_bit 0

begin codes
power 0x000000000038BC81
volup 0x0000000000000401
voldown 0x0000000000008481
mute 0x0000000000004C49
0 0x0000000000FFFF05
1 0x0000000000202500
2 0x0000000000FFFF05
3 0x0000000000FFFF05
4 0x0000000000FFFF05
5 0x000000000000797C
6 0x000000000000595C
7 0x000000000000393C
8 0x000000000000292C
9 0x0000000000FFFF05
end codes
end remote

Duman
2006-01-18, 10:48
Felix you are too much.

Thanks so much for the personal attention. I might not be able to test the files for a few days but I will definitely let you know how it works.

FYI, the model number of my Panasonic remote is EUR7722KM0.

Thanks again.

Duman
2006-01-20, 18:54
The volume codes work and I am able to select my receiver's SB3 input using one of the number codes. Thanks so much for the help. Discrete power on and power off codes would be nice but it doesn't look like Panasonic provides them.

A few minor issues:

If I associate a sequence of codes with a particular Action, only the last code in the sequence is blasted to my receiver. For example, I associated my receiver's "CD input" and "volup" code with the VolUp action but only the "volup" code is blasted when I press VolUp on the slim remote. If the "CD input" code is listed second, only the "CD Input" code is blasted when I press VolUp on the slim remote. Each code blasts correctly using the Test button on the Web interface.

I have set the digital outputs to a fixed volume. My SB3 now displays "Volume(20)" each time I press a volume button on the remote. Any suggestions to make SB3 display a more-intuitive message in response to volume control when the digital output volume are fixed?

6.2.1 and firmware 28

fcm4711
2006-01-21, 14:24
Hi Duman


The volume codes work and I am able to select my receiver's SB3 input using one of the number codes. Thanks so much for the help.
You're welcome, glad it worked. :)


If I associate a sequence of codes with a particular Action, only the last code in the sequence is blasted to my receiver.
Have you tried to increase the delays between the two codes. It looks like either SB sends them overlapped or your receiver cannot understand them if sent to quickly.


I have set the digital outputs to a fixed volume. My SB3 now displays "Volume(20)" each time I press a volume button on the remote.
Right now there is nothing I can do about that because the IR commands are processed by SlimServer first and then sent to interested plugins.

Felix

janinge
2006-02-06, 11:01
Hyperite: You can link IR commands to power on/off and volume up/down events in the IR Blaster plugin web setup.

The plugin doesn't turn on my receiver when the alarm clock is starting, only when i push the power button on the remote or in the web interface. If I push play in the web interface when the Squeezebox is off, it also doesn't turn the receiver on.

This is tested with Slimserver v6.2.1, running on FreeBSD, Squeezebox firmware v29 and with version 3.1 of the plugin.

And is it possible to do so that the plugin only responds when using the Slim Devices remote? I have added my receivers remote under "Player settings -> Remote", so that the Squeezebox goes on/off when i turn on/off my receiver. But now the IR blaser plugin turns my receiver off/on again :D

fcm4711
2006-02-08, 05:29
Hi Janinge

Thanks for your feedback.


The plugin doesn't turn on my receiver when the alarm clock is starting
My research shows the following behavior: If I choose 'The current playlist' the receiver isn't turned on. But if I choose a Mix or a 'real' playlist it is turned on. What type of playlist did you choose?


If I push play in the web interface when the Squeezebox is off, it also doesn't turn the receiver on.
True. IR Blaster plugin relies on events sent by SlimServer and in this case no 'power' event is sent, hence the receiver is not turned on.


And is it possible to do so that the plugin only responds when using the Slim Devices remote?
Yes, I guess it would be possible, but right now IR Blaster plugin only looks for 'power' and 'mixer' events and form these it is not possible to distinguish from where they came. So I suggest you decide to either use your reciever's remote for both devices or Slim Devices remote and IR Blaster.

Cheers
Felix

fcm4711
2006-02-09, 23:02
Hello again

Please try the latest IR Blaster (v3.2). I've added support to better track the power state of SB. This should resolve the alarm issue and the problem when clicking play in the web-interface.

Cheers
Felix