PDA

View Full Version : Total Newbie in KC area needs help-prepurchase



cptkcmuscl
2005-09-21, 12:49
While I am usually pretty quick on most technical stuff but this escapes me. Mainly I suppose the fact that I cannot even get EAC to work properly with a FLAC plugin has got me too frustrated to begin with. When I contacted tech support here they said read the material here. Well at the rate I'm getting throught it I will be looking for another year before I can use my ReadyNAS and any slimdevice units. All my computer tech support type friends in the area don't know anything about this and aren't interested either. I have over 900 CD's that I need to transfer to FLAC including regular CD's and possibly my DTS CD's as well if possible. I am looking at buying a few squeezebox2's. Anyone in the KC area that might be willing to help on site? I am willing to pay something to get the mechanics worked out.

Thanks
Larry

WeedMonkey
2005-09-21, 13:07
Hi,

You might get a better response to your question if you post over on the ripping/encoding section of the forum (http://forums.slimdevices.com/forumdisplay.php?f=8).

Also, someone posted this link in another thread relating to using FLAC with EAC, and it seems pretty good:

http://www.hydrogenaudio.org/forums/index.php?showtopic=30959

Hang in there, you'll get it.

WeedMonkey

cptkcmuscl
2005-09-21, 14:45
I will try posting there. I followed those instructions mentioned.

seanadams
2005-09-21, 14:59
Also you might consider our ripping service:

http://www.slimdevices.com/pi_ripping.html

cptkcmuscl
2005-09-21, 15:23
I have...at that rate I can buy a lot more Sony Changers. With the Music Library program, my Slinke units I already have, in two homes, the cost of additional blank CD's is nothing. I was trying to eliminate bulk is all. An additional $1400 plus and still having to retag classical and custom CD's, the whole project would be way out of bounds. Kinda like giving away a 500SEL mercedes to buy a SLK to save gas.

Larry

abdomen
2005-09-21, 16:08
I have...at that rate I can buy a lot more Sony Changers. With the Music Library program, my Slinke units I already have, in two homes, the cost of additional blank CD's is nothing. I was trying to eliminate bulk is all. An additional $1400 plus and still having to retag classical and custom CD's, the whole project would be way out of bounds. Kinda like giving away a 500SEL mercedes to buy a SLK to save gas.
Even given the time required to refine tags, if I had it to do over again with my ~200 CD collection, I would put a value on my time and go with the ripping service. The roughly $1.37 per CD for FLAC would have been worth it in order to spare myself the swap-CDs-every-ten-minutes routine. It winds up taking months, and has become torturous as it competes with other things I would like to do when I am at home. 900 I can't even imagine.

mac
2005-09-21, 19:38
Anyone in the KC area that might be willing to help on site? I am willing to pay something to get the mechanics worked out.

Thanks
LarryI threw together a web page that shows which three EAC dialogs need configuring. You first need to download the Flac decoder from here: http://www.exactaudiocopy.de/eac6.html Pick the version with the installer. Next, run the installer. The rest should hopefully be intuitave by viewing my screen shots. (Assuming you're using Windows.) Good luck. /mac

http://lowfat.sytes.net/~mike/EAC/EAC_settings/

seanadams
2005-09-21, 20:46
Kinda like giving away a 500SEL mercedes to buy a SLK to save gas.

Well, it does fit in very small parking spaces.

Robin Bowes
2005-09-22, 01:48
mac wrote:
> You first need to download the Flac decoder from here:
> http://www.exactaudiocopy.de/eac6.html

Spot the deliberate mistake :)

Flac is available here:

http://flac.sourceforge.net/download.html

> http://lowfat.sytes.net/~mike/EAC/EAC_settings/

Hmmm. I'm not sure I agree with some of those settings.

I must write a guide to setting up EAC.

R.
--
http://robinbowes.com

If a man speaks in a forest,
and his wife's not there,
is he still wrong?

cptkcmuscl
2005-09-22, 11:48
Using the suggested settings it still will not reencode the .wavs into flac. There is a dos window that opens and closes very quickly thAt says there is an error but too quickly for me to read it. This was after I installed both on another computer. Same issue.
Really appreciate someone local to look at this.
Larry

Jeff52
2005-09-22, 13:41
If your DOS window closes quickly that would likely indicate a problem with your Additional Command Line Options in EAC. I would recommend that you carefully check the parameters again.

You may cut and paste either of the following into the command line options:

-8 -V -T "artist=%a" -T "album=%g" -T "tracknumber=%n" -T "title=%t" -T "date=%y" -T "genre=%m" %s

OR

-T "artist=%a" -T "album=%g" -T "tracknumber=%n" -T "title=%t" -T "date=%y" -T "genre=%m" %s

The "-8" and refers to compression level between 1 and 8, with 8 being the maximum. 5 is the default and what most people use so if you omit it the file will be compressed at a mid-level.

"-V" is a verification process which is likewise optional.

If you still have problems, make sure your path to the flac.exe file is correct and that you are using the proper version of flac.exe.