PDA

View Full Version : Squeezebox firmware update using Sony remote



Swearengen
2005-09-20, 17:09
Can anyone help me get this working, I've got a squeezebox and couldn't find the remote for it, I also have a few slimp3's so grabbed one of those sony remotes and proceeded to get it going after seting the sony remote to use the JVC codes as per the FAQ.

I'm now stuck at the firmware update screen, for the life of me I can't find the 'brightness' key on the Sony remote, or more accurately which key is mapped to what brightness is on the supplied remotes of the Squeezeboxs. Once up on a time the slimserver had a nice image of the sony remote saying which keys were which functions, but I cannot find anything like that anywhere.

Any help would be appreciated :)

dean
2005-09-20, 22:24
Channel Up maps to brightness on the Sony remote with JVC codes...


On Sep 20, 2005, at 5:09 PM, Swearengen wrote:

>
> Can anyone help me get this working, I've got a squeezebox and
> couldn't
> find the remote for it, I also have a few slimp3's so grabbed one of
> those sony remotes and proceeded to get it going after seting the sony
> remote to use the JVC codes as per the FAQ.
>
> I'm now stuck at the firmware update screen, for the life of me I
> can't
> find the 'brightness' key on the Sony remote, or more accurately which
> key is mapped to what brightness is on the supplied remotes of the
> Squeezeboxs. Once up on a time the slimserver had a nice image of the
> sony remote saying which keys were which functions, but I cannot find
> anything like that anywhere.
>
> Any help would be appreciated :)
>
>
> --
> Swearengen
>

Swearengen
2005-09-21, 01:17
Well holding down the Channel + doesn't do it for me, is there anyway of forcing the firmware upgrade other than that?

dean
2005-09-21, 14:07
Ah, you are right. The CH+ and CH- minus are brightness up and down,
but won't trigger a firmware update.

Alas, you'll have to dig up a Slim Devices remote. Replacements can
be ordered here:

<https://secure.slimdevices.com/order/upgrades.cgi>


On Sep 21, 2005, at 1:17 AM, Swearengen wrote:

>
> Well holding down the Channel + doesn't do it for me, is there
> anyway of
> forcing the firmware upgrade other than that?
>
>
> --
> Swearengen
>

JJZolx
2005-09-21, 14:35
Ah, you are right. The CH+ and CH- minus are brightness up and down,
but won't trigger a firmware update.

Alas, you'll have to dig up a Slim Devices remote. Replacements can
be ordered here:
Another reason, maybe the best one yet, to make this step in the firmware upgrade process optional. A web interface might be a good idea, too.

Vote for this enhancement here: http://bugs.slimdevices.com/show_bug.cgi?id=641

pfarrell
2005-09-21, 14:51
On Wed, 2005-09-21 at 14:07 -0700, dean blackketter wrote:
> Alas, you'll have to dig up a Slim Devices remote. Replacements can
> be ordered here:

I nearly never use my remote, not sure I could find it.

Seems to me that a "lending library" might be better
than making folks pay for something they really
don't want to use. It sure would be keeping in
the spirit that I've seen from Slim's support


--
Pat Farrell
http://www.pfarrell.com

Swearengen
2005-09-22, 13:33
Well thats a shame, I'm not so keen that I would buy another remote and pay to have it shipped over. I imagine its a catch 22, only in a newer firmware could the brightness button be exchanged for something that was emulatable on another remote and I can't install such a newer firmware.

Dave Edwards
2005-09-22, 13:46
I have the same problem with my Pronto remote, as it doesn't seem to be able to simulate holding down the brightness key - it only gives a single key press.

I have to dig out the old remote every time a new firmware is released.

Would it be possible to add an option to the SlimServer web interface to perform the firmware upgrade? This would resolve the issue.

pfarrell
2005-09-22, 14:03
On Thu, 2005-09-22 at 13:46 -0700, Dave Edwards wrote:
> I have to dig out the old remote every time a new firmware is
> released.

Wow, that really is, er, less than optimal.

I'm still not happy, from a security view, in having it be
driven from the server, but having it be enabled
by the web or CLI interface and then done
more simply would meet my security paranoia.

> Would it be possible to add an option to the SlimServer web interface
> to perform the firmware upgrade? This would resolve the issue.

So how's this for a idea:

You go to the Web/CLI interface, drive down deeply to find the
"prepare for firmware upgrade on wimpy key press" option.
Then you do sometime easy to teach a learning remote, like
volume up, or "8" or "down arrow"

It is then user initiated over the web/cli interface,
but the actual firmware transfer is still triggered
by a remote key to the SqueezeBox itself.

This can't be hard (famous last words for a software developer).
and I think it meets all the requirements we've heard
about this over the past months.

--
Pat
http://www.pfarrell.com/music/slimserver/slimsoftware.html

Dave Edwards
2005-09-25, 11:33
Just to let everyone know - I have managed to get the firmware upgrade procedure to work with a Pronto learning remote.....

I was originally using the JVC code for brightness and this did not trigger the firmware upgrade.

I have now programmed a new button with the learned code for "brightness" from the original Slim remote.

If I hold this new button down for a few seconds, then the firmware update process kicks in. Interestingly, the update does not happen when a macro is set up to repeat the button a number of times - I'm not sure why. Anyway, at least this proves that the upgrade can be performed from the Pronto.

For those that are interested, the IR code used is "900D 006D 0000 0002 6E91 20DF 6E91 20DF".

Now I can finally put away the Slim remote and never have to hunt for it every time I need to update the firmware :)

Craig, James (IT)
2005-09-26, 02:59
I believe the IR code contains a header that is not repeated when you
hold a button down.
Repeating the code in a macro does repeat the header so it's not the
same command to the Squeezebox.

James
--------------------------------------------------------

NOTICE: If received in error, please destroy and notify sender. Sender does not waive confidentiality or privilege, and use is prohibited.