PDA

View Full Version : How to use FLAC?



Munge
2005-09-19, 05:58
I plan to get an SB2, use FLAC and then enjoy the music. But how do I actually use FLAC? I don't want to use the command line interface, and there must be a number of good FLAC interfaces out there. Which one should I use? I'm looking for a simple to use interface (encode to FLAC and get the tags). Or would the Apple lossless be an option? I plan to use an old Thinkpad 240 (300 MHz, 128 MB RAM, W2K) for the server. Would it manage to decode Apple lossless and then encode to FLAC on the fly?
Any advice would be appreciated.

Munge

Robin Bowes
2005-09-19, 06:14
Munge wrote:
> I plan to get an SB2, use FLAC and then enjoy the music. But how do I
> actually use FLAC? I don't want to use the command line interface, and
> there must be a number of good FLAC interfaces out there. Which one
> should I use? I'm looking for a simple to use interface (encode to FLAC
> and get the tags). Or would the Apple lossless be an option? I plan to
> use an old Thinkpad 240 (300 MHz, 128 MB RAM, W2K) for the server.
> Would it manage to decode Apple lossless and then encode to FLAC on the
> fly?
> Any advice would be appreciated.

Ok, some questions:

1. Are you using the Mac platform exclusively?
2. Do you have a lot of Apple lossless already?
3. Do you want to keep your Apple lossless?

R.
--
http://robinbowes.com

If a man speaks in a forest,
and his wife's not there,
is he still wrong?

Munge
2005-09-19, 06:26
> 1. Are you using the Mac platform exclusively?
> 2. Do you have a lot of Apple lossless already?
> 3. Do you want to keep your Apple lossless?


1. No. PC only.
2. No
3. N/A

It's just that I find iTunes easy to use, and I haven't seen anything else.

Hiroyuki
2005-09-19, 06:31
Munge,

Currently there is a bug with the SB2 using the Apple lossless. It
cuts off the beginning of each songs slightly. Sometimes you will
notice that by listening to the beginning of the songs but that's
rare. The most problematic thing with that is when you are listening
to a continuous live recording CDs or any continuous recordings, you
will notice the gap between songs. It gives you slight clicking
sound between the songs. I have a lot of Apple lossless files myself
and I'm hoping that the issue will be solved soon.

Best,

Hiroyuki
On Sep 19, 2005, at 8:58 AM, Munge wrote:

>
> I plan to get an SB2, use FLAC and then enjoy the music. But how do I
> actually use FLAC? I don't want to use the command line interface, and
> there must be a number of good FLAC interfaces out there. Which one
> should I use? I'm looking for a simple to use interface (encode to
> FLAC
> and get the tags). Or would the Apple lossless be an option? I plan to
> use an old Thinkpad 240 (300 MHz, 128 MB RAM, W2K) for the server.
> Would it manage to decode Apple lossless and then encode to FLAC on
> the
> fly?
> Any advice would be appreciated.
>
> Munge
>
>
> --
> Munge
>

Munge
2005-09-19, 06:45
Thanks for the information. Let's forget about Apple lossless. My number one option is to use FLAC, but I don't know how I would do that. There must be a number of FLAC wrappers (?). I'm not planning to write my own application just to encode some FLAC files.

/Munge

radish
2005-09-19, 06:49
EAC is generally considered the best ripper for windows. It works just fine with FLAC. Search the forum and you should find a howto guide.

deksawyer
2005-09-19, 07:06
Try dbpowerAMP if all you want to do is rip your music into flac format.

www.dbpoweramp.com

Tag&Rename will help with the Tags

www.softpointer.com/tr.htm

D.

Robin Bowes
2005-09-19, 07:31
Munge wrote:
>>>1. Are you using the Mac platform exclusively?
>>>2. Do you have a lot of Apple lossless already?
>>>3. Do you want to keep your Apple lossless?
>>
>
> 1. No. PC only.
> 2. No
> 3. N/A
>
> It's just that I find iTunes easy to use, and I haven't seen anything
> else.

Ok, that makes your choice easy.

Use EAC and set it up to convert to flac directly.

R.
--
http://robinbowes.com

If a man speaks in a forest,
and his wife's not there,
is he still wrong?

Josh Coalson
2005-09-19, 09:16
--- Munge <Munge.1vlzhb (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com> wrote:
>
> Thanks for the information. Let's forget about Apple lossless. My
> number
> one option is to use FLAC, but I don't know how I would do that.
> There
> must be a number of FLAC wrappers (?). I'm not planning to write my
> own
> application just to encode some FLAC files.

there are a lot of options listed on the FLAC site:

http://flac.sourceforge.net/download.html
http://flac.sourceforge.net/links.html#software

Josh

Rene
2005-09-21, 02:57
Another nice ripper is Easy CDDA from poikosoft.com
It supports many formats incl. FLAC
It also has a conversion capability to convert your archive from FLAC (or any other other supported format) into whatever is supported. You can also directly burn CD's from FLAC (or any of the suppored formats).
regards
Rene

Fifer
2005-09-21, 03:07
+1 for Easy CDDA. It rips, tags and transcodes and has a nice, easy to use UI.

street_samurai
2005-09-21, 10:48
If you are interested in using EAC which is generally considered to be the best ripper out there (but also one of the more complicated to get setup). Check out this guide on how to get it all setup:

http://www.hydrogenaudio.org/forums/index.php?showtopic=30959

If you are not worried about the odd pop or click, or if you feel that the guide is too technical, I'd suggest checking out one of the other rippers suggested previously in this topic.

ss.

Fifer
2005-09-21, 11:14
I've ripped over 400 albums with Easy CDDA and have yet to hear a pop, click or any other unwanted artefact.

shvejk
2005-09-21, 11:33
>I plan to use an old Thinkpad 240 (300 MHz, 128 MB RAM, W2K) for the
server.
If this is a slimserver dedicated PC, then I would definitely recommend
SlimCD instead of W2K.
Works much better with low specs. W2K is a dog with 128 MB of RAM.
..
http://www.herger.net/slim/detail.p...&kategorie=slim
..
Hope this helps.

abdomen
2005-09-21, 11:35
After a period of research and experimentation, I settled on EAC (for ripping and tagging, including retrieving tag data from freedb) and Mp3tag (for massaging/correcting tags and, occasionally, file names). Notwithstanding the time spent learning some of the ins and outs of EAC and configuring it (roughly like in the hydrogenaudio forum link a couple of posts above in this thread), the combination of these two pieces of software has been meeting my needs well. I'd categorize EAC as technically impressive, and Mp3tag as simply a pleasure from the first moment.

ModelCitizen
2005-09-21, 11:59
> After a period of research and experimentation, I settled on
> EAC (for ripping and tagging, including retrieving tag data
> from freedb) and Mp3tag (for massaging/correcting tags and,
> occasionally, file names).
> Notwithstanding the time spent learning some of the ins and
> outs of EAC and configuring it (roughly like in the
> hydrogenaudio forum link a couple of posts above in this
> thread), the combination of these two pieces of software has
> been meeting my needs well. I'd categorize EAC as technically
> impressive, and Mp3tag as simply a pleasure from the first moment.

I'm just going to have to second this as, after lots of trying various
stuff, this is what I settled on and once set up it's just a breeze.

Although I'm not sure I like agreeing with a bloke called arse.

Simon Turner
Barcombe UK

Munge
2005-09-21, 12:37
Thanks for all good advice! I tried EAC with the seetings from http://www.hydrogenaudio.org/forums/index.php?showtopic=30959
The CD went back and forth for ages and then it said that there was an error. No file created.
Look here, I've got a hifi CD player with which I am happy. It doesn't retry 28 times and then delivers the sound, it gives me great sound at once. What is so different with the PC CD drive? I never get any read errors when I read a software CD. What's so special with ripping audio CDs? I'm beginning to think that all this is mumbo jumbo. Please explain why I need this EAC tool. Otherwise I will go for iTunes --> WAV --> Flac Frontend --> Flac. At least it works and is easy to use.

Munge

Hiroyuki
2005-09-21, 13:12
Munge,

I use Mac and naturally I use the iTunes. I've never used EAC. But
my understanding is that the EAC (Exact Audio Copy!) can do better
job of copying problematic CDs. If I had a choice I'd go with EAC
for that reason. But, having said that I don't really notice
anything wrong with iTunes ripped music... (there was one time when I
tried to ripped a CD that had a crack and it just didn't do it
right) Also, I know that there are plenty of serious audiophiles out
there using iTunes.

Do you see any physical damage on the particular CD you are trying to
rip? How does it do with the iTunes?

I'd like to hear firsthand accounts of using both iTunes/EAC. Anybody?

Best,

Hiroyuki
On Sep 21, 2005, at 3:37 PM, Munge wrote:

>
> Thanks for all good advice! I tried EAC with the seetings from
> http://www.hydrogenaudio.org/forums/index.php?showtopic=30959
> The CD went back and forth for ages and then it said that there was an
> error. No file created.
> Look here, I've got a hifi CD player with which I am happy. It doesn't
> retry 28 times and then delivers the sound, it gives me great sound at
> once. What is so different with the PC CD drive? I never get any read
> errors when I read a software CD. What's so special with ripping audio
> CDs? I'm beginning to think that all this is mumbo jumbo. Please
> explain why I need this EAC tool. Otherwise I will go for iTunes -->
> WAV --> Flac Frontend --> Flac. At least it works and is easy to use.
>
> Munge
>
>
> --
> Munge
>

pfarrell
2005-09-21, 13:15
On Wed, 2005-09-21 at 12:37 -0700, Munge wrote:
> I've got a hifi CD player with which I am happy. It doesn't
> retry 28 times and then delivers the sound, it gives me great sound at
> once. What is so different with the PC CD drive?

Red Book audio (normal audio CD specs) is quite different than CD-ROM
(computer data) specs. Nearly nothing in common.

The RedBook spec specifically says what a player is supposed to do
when it gets an error that it can't recover. This is after a lot
of clever encoding and error correction is done. The players
basically "improvise" when they can't recover. Which is what
normal CD reading programs do on computers as well.

Now, in reality, the hifi CD player market is tiny or smaller,
and the computer CD/DVD market is everything. So nearly all
transports used, even in mega dollar audiophile CD players
are computer drives.

Try a different PC. Or a different drive.
Or both. Or try a different OS in your computer.

EAC is advertised as being very anal about getting exactly
what is on you CD. You don't have to use it, there are
other tools, just not so anal. There are switches to tell EAC to lighten
up if you want.

To really, really know that you have the correct bits,
you would have to have at least three separate CDs, and separate
computer/CD combos, then extract it three times and use
a computer "voting" scheme to tell which is right. Sometimes
three is not enough, so you can use five sets, etc. The
Nasa Space Shuttles use redundant computers this way.


--
Pat
http://www.pfarrell.com/music/slimserver/slimsoftware.html

Munge
2005-09-21, 13:38
Thanks for the information. I realize that EAC is likely to give me better data, but when you say that hifi cd players improvise when they cannot recover from errors, then I am willing to accept improvisation when I rip the very same CD. It shouldn't matter much unless the ripping happens to be very unsuccessful.

/Munge

abdomen
2005-09-21, 13:49
To really, really know that you have the correct bits, you would have to have at least three separate CDs, and separate computer/CD combos, then extract it three times and use a computer "voting" scheme to tell which is right.
The hydrogenaudio instructions for EAC configuration that street_samurai linked to above include Accurate Rip, which integrates with EAC and uses a central database to accomplish that by pooling checksums from rips performed by many different people. It isn't always perfect-- varying manufacturing pressings of CDs can result in false indications of a problem-- but it is pretty darn cool. (Like EAC and Mp3tag, Accurate Rip is free.)

With that said, if Accurate Rip tells me there may have be a flaw in the rip, I usually ignore it. If I hear a problem while listening at a later time, I will go back and see about cleaning off the disk and trying again. I have not yet heard any flaws during playback through my SB2, though, even with one CD that had a substantial crack in it.

BillC
2005-09-21, 13:55
You can also use a distributed version of this approach:

www.accuraterip.com

maintains a database of checksums generated from rips of CDs that you can compare your rips against. You get a "confidence" number that indicates how many submitted rips agree with yours. Any match gives a pretty good indication that your rip is accurate.

EAC and dbPowerAmp are currently the only supported rippers. I tend to use dbPowerAmp for most of my rips because it's much faster than EAC on my system. If I don't get an accuraterip match I'll re-rip and see if I get the same checksum for another rip. If so, I assume it's a good rip. If I don't get a match after one or two retries then I fire up EAC and let it do its best to get a good rip off the CD.



> To really, really know that you have the correct bits,
> you would have to have at least three separate CDs, and separate
> computer/CD combos, then extract it three times and use
> a computer "voting" scheme to tell which is right. Sometimes
> three is not enough, so you can use five sets, etc. The
> Nasa Space Shuttles use redundant computers this way.
>

abdomen
2005-09-21, 14:17
Otherwise I will go for iTunes --> WAV --> Flac Frontend --> Flac. At least it works and is easy to use.
This sounds reasonable to me, but I don't think your FLAC files will contain any metadata after this procedure. Slimserver may still correctly infer artist, album, track number, and track name from the file and folder names, but I believe you will find year and genre are missing when you use your SB2. However, I have seen positive comments recently on these forums about software at http://musicbrainz.org/ that I believe could look at your FLAC files and add metadata to them from a central database. It's a safe bet more suggestions are forthcoming from others...

I hope you find a solution that suits you without too much more confusion-- I was there myself about 6 weeks ago.

abdomen
2005-09-21, 14:36
The CD went back and forth for ages and then it said that there was an error. No file created.
One last thing: Is it possible a WAV file was created but no FLAC? If so, I posted what may be the solution a while back (http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?p=48738#post48738):
I was experiencing the same problem, until I changed a single checkbox in EAC's options. I believe it was "Skip track extraction on read or sync errors".

stinkingpig
2005-09-21, 14:37
Josef Shvejk wrote:

> >I plan to use an old Thinkpad 240 (300 MHz, 128 MB RAM, W2K) for the
> server.
>
> If this is a slimserver dedicated PC, then I would definitely
> recommend SlimCD instead of W2K.
> Works much better with low specs. W2K is a dog with 128 MB of RAM.
> .
> http://www.herger.net/slim/detail.p...&kategorie=slim
> <http://www.herger.net/slim/detail.p...&kategorie=slim>
> .
> Hope this helps.


agreed, but SlimCD on that machine may still be challenging (the old IBM
laptops needed some black magic boot strings passed because of their
non-standard CD interfaces).

--
Jack at Monkeynoodle dot Org : It's a Scientific Venture!
"I spent all me tin with the ladies drinking gin,
so across the Western ocean I must wander." -- All for Me Grog, trad.

street_samurai
2005-09-21, 17:05
I suggest if you want a detailed ins-and-outs look at why EAC is the best ripper around then you go look on Hydrogenaudio forums. There is -very- detailed discussion about what it does and does not do and why it is/is not better than other rippers.

I completely agree that there is mumbo jumbo and I did not say that you won't get perfect rips with other programs. I'm just saying that if you want to be -sure- that you got a perfect rip, then EAC is as good as there is.

EAC isn't for everyone. As I mentioned, its reasonably complex to setup properly. As someoelse mentioned, once its all setup and your profiles are saved... its a breeze.

Munge, try another CD to see if it works. If EACs error checking bothers you use another ripper.

Any time you use a program that rips to WAV without then passing its metadata data to FLAC is going to lose all of your metadata information (which you definitely want). The WAV file format does not contain metadata. I'm not sure how iTunes works with FlacFrontEnd but I'd bet that the tags will be lost.

ss.

shvejk
2005-09-21, 18:04
>
> agreed, but SlimCD on that machine may still be challenging (the old IBM
> laptops needed some black magic boot strings passed because of their
> non-standard CD interfaces).

SlimCD boots fine on Thinkpad T22. I do not know about any older models.
Alternatively, you could pull out the hard drive from the laptop and hook it
up to a desktop machine. Boot the desktop from SlimCd and run install to HD..
It requires a bit of work, but then the laptop CD drive is not needed
anymore.
Cheers,

stinkingpig
2005-09-21, 20:17
Josef Shvejk wrote:

> agreed, but SlimCD on that machine may still be challenging (the
> old IBM
> laptops needed some black magic boot strings passed because of their
> non-standard CD interfaces).
>
>
> SlimCD boots fine on Thinkpad T22. I do not know about any older models.
> Alternatively, you could pull out the hard drive from the laptop and
> hook it up to a desktop machine. Boot the desktop from SlimCd and run
> install to HD. It requires a bit of work, but then the laptop CD drive
> is not needed anymore.
>
> Cheers,

I think the T line is after they switched to a normal ATAPI drive... any
way, your hard drive trick is the way that I've successfully installed
to laptops of the 240's vintage. A 40-44 pin adapter will be required,
coupla bucks at the nearest RadioShack/Fry's equivalent.


--
Jack at Monkeynoodle dot Org : It's a Scientific Venture!
"I spent all me tin with the ladies drinking gin,
so across the Western ocean I must wander." -- All for Me Grog, trad.

pfarrell
2005-09-21, 20:18
On Wed, 2005-09-21 at 16:55 -0400, Bill Cutts wrote:
> You can also use a distributed version of this approach:
> www.accuraterip.com
> maintains a database of checksums generated from rips of CDs
> that you can compare your rips against. You get a "confidence"
> number that indicates how many submitted rips agree with yours.
> Any match gives a pretty good indication that your rip is accurate.

This is a cool idea. Much easier than mine of getting three computers.

> EAC and dbPowerAmp are currently the only supported rippers.

But they only seem to support those rippers
on Windows, which goes against my open source religion.
So I've asked their support forum about how to get
other rippers on the list.

It looks like doing validation of the checksums is possible,
but they are, justifiably, paranoid about bad implementations
polluting their data. This would be fine with me, as all I
really care about is that other people get the same results
as I do.


--
Pat
http://www.pfarrell.com/music/slimserver/slimsoftware.html

Munge
2005-09-22, 00:11
My plan is to use iTunes --> WAV. iTunes gets all tag info but nothing goes into the WAV files. However, the folder structure will contain this (except for year?), and then I can use a custom tag specifier like G\A\L\T in the Flac Frontend.

As for the Linux CD with Thinkpad 240: There is no cd drive on the 240, so I would have to take out the disk. My first attempt will be to run Slimserver under W2K on the Thinkpad.

/Munge

abdomen
2005-09-22, 03:56
(except for year?)
Yes, and genre, as I indicated above. From what I understand, musicbrainz can identify the metadata from their database with nothing but a sort of sound finger print taken from the file.

indianajones
2005-10-19, 18:32
Munge,

Currently there is a bug with the SB2 using the Apple lossless. It
cuts off the beginning of each songs slightly. Sometimes you will
notice that by listening to the beginning of the songs but that's
rare. The most problematic thing with that is when you are listening
to a continuous live recording CDs or any continuous recordings, you
will notice the gap between songs. It gives you slight clicking
sound between the songs. I have a lot of Apple lossless files myself
and I'm hoping that the issue will be solved soon.

Best,

Hiroyuki
On Sep 19, 2005, at 8:58 AM, Munge wrote:

>
>
>


well, you are in luck my friend, as i have FINALLY figured out the solution to our problem.

after about 6 months of effort and going back and forth with tech support, i now have flawless apple lossless playback. the key is to first go into the server options under file type. there you will see the three apple lossless checkboxes, one for AIFF, one for FLAC and one for MP3. the first two must be unchecked leaving just the apple->MP3 option checked.

next go to player settings and go to audio. the last option, bitrate limit, should be set to no limit so the apple lossless files will be streamed as uncompressed pcm. this has resulted in not having that pause in the beginning of each song that has caused me to nearly go crazy over the past 6 months. let me know if it works for you, it sure did for me!!!

Hiroyuki
2005-10-19, 18:52
indianajones,

YOU ARE A GOD! I was starting to get pretty depressed about the
problem. I've been using AIFF because of the particular issue, and
lately for unknown reason, it started to give big popping sound
between the songs with AIFF (it seems to happen randomly... ). I
will try the remedy tomorrow and let you know how it goes. Thank you
very much for reporting about it!

Best regards,

Hiroyuki
On Oct 19, 2005, at 9:32 PM, indianajones wrote:

>
> Hiroyuki Wrote:
>
>> Munge,
>>
>> Currently there is a bug with the SB2 using the Apple lossless. It
>> cuts off the beginning of each songs slightly. Sometimes you will
>> notice that by listening to the beginning of the songs but that's
>> rare. The most problematic thing with that is when you are listening
>>
>> to a continuous live recording CDs or any continuous recordings, you
>> will notice the gap between songs. It gives you slight clicking
>> sound between the songs. I have a lot of Apple lossless files myself
>>
>> and I'm hoping that the issue will be solved soon.
>>
>> Best,
>>
>> Hiroyuki
>> On Sep 19, 2005, at 8:58 AM, Munge wrote:
>>
>>
>>>
>>>
>>>
>>>
>
>
> well, you are in luck my friend, as i have FINALLY figured out the
> solution to our problem.
>
> after about 6 months of effort and going back and forth with tech
> support, i now have flawless apple lossless playback. the key is to
> first go into the server options under file type. there you will see
> the three apple lossless checkboxes, one for AIFF, one for FLAC and
> one
> for MP3. the first two must be unchecked leaving just the apple->MP3
> option checked.
>
> next go to player settings and go to audio. the last option, bitrate
> limit, should be set to no limit so the apple lossless files will be
> streamed as uncompressed pcm. this has resulted in not having that
> pause in the beginning of each song that has caused me to nearly go
> crazy over the past 6 months. let me know if it works for you, it sure
> did for me!!!
>
>
> --
> indianajones
>

Hiroyuki
2005-10-20, 16:22
Indianajones,

I just tried the remedy on my system and I hear very faint noise with
the playback when I do what you said to do... It's sort of like high
frequency static noise. If you don't hear it from your speakers,
maybe you can hear with it with nice headphones. Can you see if you
hear anything like that. It goes away as soon as I switch to Apple
AAC to AIFF.

Hiroyuki,

Hiroyuki
On Oct 19, 2005, at 9:32 PM, indianajones wrote:

>
> Hiroyuki Wrote:
>
>> Munge,
>>
>> Currently there is a bug with the SB2 using the Apple lossless. It
>> cuts off the beginning of each songs slightly. Sometimes you will
>> notice that by listening to the beginning of the songs but that's
>> rare. The most problematic thing with that is when you are listening
>>
>> to a continuous live recording CDs or any continuous recordings, you
>> will notice the gap between songs. It gives you slight clicking
>> sound between the songs. I have a lot of Apple lossless files myself
>>
>> and I'm hoping that the issue will be solved soon.
>>
>> Best,
>>
>> Hiroyuki
>> On Sep 19, 2005, at 8:58 AM, Munge wrote:
>>
>>
>>>
>>>
>>>
>>>
>
>
> well, you are in luck my friend, as i have FINALLY figured out the
> solution to our problem.
>
> after about 6 months of effort and going back and forth with tech
> support, i now have flawless apple lossless playback. the key is to
> first go into the server options under file type. there you will see
> the three apple lossless checkboxes, one for AIFF, one for FLAC and
> one
> for MP3. the first two must be unchecked leaving just the apple->MP3
> option checked.
>
> next go to player settings and go to audio. the last option, bitrate
> limit, should be set to no limit so the apple lossless files will be
> streamed as uncompressed pcm. this has resulted in not having that
> pause in the beginning of each song that has caused me to nearly go
> crazy over the past 6 months. let me know if it works for you, it sure
> did for me!!!
>
>
> --
> indianajones
>
>

Hiroyuki
2005-10-29, 06:00
Indianajones,

I was wondering if you get to detect the noise I was referring to...
Let me know. Maybe I missed your post...

Best,

Hiroyuki
On Oct 20, 2005, at 7:22 PM, Hiroyuki Hamada wrote:

> Indianajones,
>
> I just tried the remedy on my system and I hear very faint noise
> with the playback when I do what you said to do... It's sort of
> like high frequency static noise. If you don't hear it from your
> speakers, maybe you can hear with it with nice headphones. Can you
> see if you hear anything like that. It goes away as soon as I
> switch to Apple AAC to AIFF.
>
> Hiroyuki,
>
> Hiroyuki
> On Oct 19, 2005, at 9:32 PM, indianajones wrote:
>
>
>>
>> Hiroyuki Wrote:
>>
>>
>>> Munge,
>>>
>>> Currently there is a bug with the SB2 using the Apple lossless. It
>>> cuts off the beginning of each songs slightly. Sometimes you will
>>> notice that by listening to the beginning of the songs but that's
>>> rare. The most problematic thing with that is when you are
>>> listening
>>>
>>> to a continuous live recording CDs or any continuous recordings, you
>>> will notice the gap between songs. It gives you slight clicking
>>> sound between the songs. I have a lot of Apple lossless files
>>> myself
>>>
>>> and I'm hoping that the issue will be solved soon.
>>>
>>> Best,
>>>
>>> Hiroyuki
>>> On Sep 19, 2005, at 8:58 AM, Munge wrote:
>>>
>>>
>>>
>>>>
>>>>
>>>>
>>>>
>>>>
>>
>>
>> well, you are in luck my friend, as i have FINALLY figured out the
>> solution to our problem.
>>
>> after about 6 months of effort and going back and forth with tech
>> support, i now have flawless apple lossless playback. the key is to
>> first go into the server options under file type. there you will see
>> the three apple lossless checkboxes, one for AIFF, one for FLAC
>> and one
>> for MP3. the first two must be unchecked leaving just the apple->MP3
>> option checked.
>>
>> next go to player settings and go to audio. the last option, bitrate
>> limit, should be set to no limit so the apple lossless files will be
>> streamed as uncompressed pcm. this has resulted in not having that
>> pause in the beginning of each song that has caused me to nearly go
>> crazy over the past 6 months. let me know if it works for you, it
>> sure
>> did for me!!!
>>
>>
>> --
>> indianajones
>>
>>
>>

indianajones
2005-10-29, 10:29
i hadn't responded yet because i wanted to listen for a week or so to test it out. no, i don't hear any glitches or problems at all using the method i described. playback is now 100% flawless using apple lossless. i don't know what the problem you're having could be coming from. are you wireless or wired? i have a wired sb1. i do think i will be getting sb3 shortly, so it will be interesting to see if there are any problems again. as of right now though, i don't hear any glitching after a week of critical listening on my setup...

Hiroyuki
2005-10-29, 10:49
I have wireless SB2 and I use the optical out. I just tried it again
and the sound is sort of like certain frequency is going under water
and gets sort of wavy... I don't know if I'm describing it right.
You might want to try all kind of music and see. It's more apparent
in certain music than the other.

Best,

Hiroyuki


On Oct 29, 2005, at 1:29 PM, indianajones wrote:

>
> i hadn't responded yet because i wanted to listen for a week or so to
> test it out. no, i don't hear any glitches or problems at all using
> the
> method i described. playback is now 100% flawless using apple
> lossless.
> i don't know what the problem you're having could be coming from. are
> you wireless or wired? i have a wired sb1. i do think i will be
> getting sb3 shortly, so it will be interesting to see if there are any
> problems again. as of right now though, i don't hear any glitching
> after a week of critical listening on my setup...
>
>
> --
> indianajones
>