PDA

View Full Version : Replay Gain!!



JJZolx
2005-09-15, 14:50
is here... as of today's SB2 firmware update for the 6.2 beta.

Very nice work.

danf
2005-09-15, 19:20
How do I use this feature with a SB2?


"JJZolx"
<JJZolx.1vf79n (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com>
wrote in message news:JJZolx.1vf79n (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com...
>
> is here... as of today's SB2 firmware update for the 6.2 beta.
>
> Very nice work.
>
>
> --
> JJZolx
>
> Jim

JJZolx
2005-09-15, 19:31
How do I use this feature with a SB2?

You need replay gain tags on your files.
Download and install tonight's version 6.2 nightly beta release.
There's a server setting to enable the use of replay gain. I haven't seen it yet (still at work), but I assume would replay gain is disabled by default.

Dave D
2005-09-15, 19:43
[list]
You need replay gain tags on your files.

So for us dummies: would I need to re-rip everything?

bossanova808
2005-09-15, 19:47
no there are various tools to add replaygain after the fact - metaflac, mp3gain etc.

bossanova808
2005-09-15, 19:48
What time do the nightlies get made? I'm in Oz so I have to factor in US time....

kdf
2005-09-15, 19:56
On 15-Sep-05, at 7:48 PM, bossanova808 wrote:

>
> What time do the nightlies get made? I'm in Oz so I have to factor in
> US time....
>
about 1am Pacific Time (about 5 hours from the time of this post)
-kdf

JJZolx
2005-09-15, 20:47
So for us dummies: would I need to re-rip everything?
No. You just need to run a program that will examine each file and add the replay gain tags. I'm looking for a way to do that myself for a library of flac files, since I didn't add replay gain tags when I ripped the CDs and encoded them using flac.exe. I'm thinking that foobar2000 can probably do it.

cbemoore
2005-09-15, 22:43
Actually, ReplayGain is set to "Smart" by default.

I'd personally prefer it if it was set "off" by default. Although I suppose that if you didn't want to use ReplayGain, you wouldn't have the tags in your music in the first place???

Anyway, I've switched it off now, but I might have a play with it some time later.

Chris



You need replay gain tags on your files.
Download and install tonight's version 6.2 nightly beta release.
There's a server setting to enable the use of replay gain. I haven't seen it yet (still at work), but I assume would replay gain is disabled by default.

Robin Bowes
2005-09-16, 01:45
JJZolx wrote:
> Dave D Wrote:
>
>>So for us dummies: would I need to re-rip everything?
>
> No. You just need to run a program that will examine each file and add
> the replay gain tags. I'm looking for a way to do that myself for a
> library of flac files, since I didn't add replay gain tags when I
> ripped the CDs and encoded them using flac.exe. I'm thinking that
> foobar2000 can probably do it.

I've got a perl script that I wrote to add ReplayGain tags to my library
of flac files.

I can tidy it up and release it if there's any interest?

R.
--
http://robinbowes.com

If a man speaks in a forest,
and his wife's not there,
is he still wrong?

max.spicer
2005-09-16, 05:59
Wouldn't do any harm. I think I've got a shell script that does the same thing. From recollection, it's as simple as using find to call metaflac on every flac file it finds.

Having ReplayGain is fantastic news. A big thankyou to whoever got it going!

Max


JJZolx wrote:
> Dave D Wrote:
>
>>So for us dummies: would I need to re-rip everything?
>
> No. You just need to run a program that will examine each file and add
> the replay gain tags. I'm looking for a way to do that myself for a
> library of flac files, since I didn't add replay gain tags when I
> ripped the CDs and encoded them using flac.exe. I'm thinking that
> foobar2000 can probably do it.

I've got a perl script that I wrote to add ReplayGain tags to my library
of flac files.

I can tidy it up and release it if there's any interest?

R.
--
http://robinbowes.com

If a man speaks in a forest,
and his wife's not there,
is he still wrong?

Robin Bowes
2005-09-16, 06:18
max.spicer wrote:
> Wouldn't do any harm. I think I've got a shell script that does the
> same thing. From recollection, it's as simple as using find to call
> metaflac on every flac file it finds.

Not quite.

You actually need to run metaflac in every directory containing flac
files so that the album gain value is calculated, assuming albums all
have their own directory.

I'll tidy it up and post it on my website over the next couple of weeks.

R.
--
http://robinbowes.com

If a man speaks in a forest,
and his wife's not there,
is he still wrong?

JJZolx
2005-09-16, 09:43
I'll tidy it up and post it on my website over the next couple of weeks.
What environment are you working in? One thing with Windows is that the following doesn't work:

> metaflac --add-replay-gain *.flac

So you have to iterate all of the files in the directory on the command line (ughh). I'm writing a VBS script to do the same thing and I'm afraid of exceeding the max command line length, depending on the file naming convention. So in Windows you may want to find all of the files' 8.3 equivalent names and instead of passing a full, absolute path, do a change directory into the target directory and use relative file names.

Richie
2005-09-16, 10:11
> So you have to iterate all of the files in the directory on the command
> line (ughh). I'm writing a VBS script to do the same thing and I'm
> afraid of exceeding the max command line length, depending on the file
> naming convention. So in Windows you may want to find all of the
> files' 8.3 equivalent names and instead of passing a full, absolute
> path, do a change directory into the target directory and use relative
> file names.
>
> --
> JJZolx
>
> Jim

If you're using Windows this is something that foobar2000 excels at.
Use windows search to find all the flac files you want to apply
replaygain to. Drag and drop the list into foobar, select all (ctrl
a), right click and choose Replaygain -> Scan selection as multiple
albums and let it go to work. Works a treat.

Richard

Dave
2005-09-16, 10:40
Is Replay Gain only possible at SB2 devices, or will my good old SB-G also do the trick?

dean
2005-09-16, 10:52
It's currently only on SB2. It may be possible to do something close
on SB1 (or even SLIMP3) by adjusting the master volume control
dynamically, but this work hasn't begun.



On Sep 16, 2005, at 10:40 AM, Dave wrote:

>
> Is Replay Gain only possible at SB2 devices, or will my good old SB-G
> also do the trick?
>
>
> --
> Dave
>

max.spicer
2005-09-16, 11:12
Here's the script that I wrote a while ago. As you say, it runs on directories. NB This is untested, so please be careful if you use it! I'll try running it on some small test dirs today.

#!/bin/sh
basedir=${1:-.}

IFS="
"
for dir in `find $basedir -type d`; do
metaflac --add-replay-gain "$dir/*.flac"
done

Max


max.spicer wrote:
> Wouldn't do any harm. I think I've got a shell script that does the
> same thing. From recollection, it's as simple as using find to call
> metaflac on every flac file it finds.

Not quite.

You actually need to run metaflac in every directory containing flac
files so that the album gain value is calculated, assuming albums all
have their own directory.

I'll tidy it up and post it on my website over the next couple of weeks.

R.
--
http://robinbowes.com

If a man speaks in a forest,
and his wife's not there,
is he still wrong?

max.spicer
2005-09-16, 11:24
Alas, this doesn't work at all well. I could have sworn I'd at least run it last time! Time for some hacking!

Max


max.spicer wrote:
> Wouldn't do any harm. I think I've got a shell script that does the
> same thing. From recollection, it's as simple as using find to call
> metaflac on every flac file it finds.

Not quite.

You actually need to run metaflac in every directory containing flac
files so that the album gain value is calculated, assuming albums all
have their own directory.

I'll tidy it up and post it on my website over the next couple of weeks.

R.
--
http://robinbowes.com

If a man speaks in a forest,
and his wife's not there,
is he still wrong?

max.spicer
2005-09-16, 11:41
Ah yes, my shell script doesn't work as the directory names tend to have spaces, quotes etc in them - the standard problem! I guess the solution here is to use a proper language like perl. ;-)

Max


Alas, this doesn't work at all well. I could have sworn I'd at least run it last time! Time for some hacking!

Max

m1abrams
2005-09-16, 17:32
It's currently only on SB2. It may be possible to do something close
on SB1 (or even SLIMP3) by adjusting the master volume control
dynamically, but this work hasn't begun.



On Sep 16, 2005, at 10:40 AM, Dave wrote:

>
> Is Replay Gain only possible at SB2 devices, or will my good old SB-G
> also do the trick?
>
>
> --
> Dave
>

Ah yet another reason I am being taunted to upgrade ;)

Jess Askey
2005-09-16, 22:51
Robin Bowes wrote:

> I've got a perl script that I wrote to add ReplayGain tags to my
> library of flac files.
>
> I can tidy it up and release it if there's any interest?
>
> R.

I would be interested in that. I have recently switched over to ripping
in FLAC instead of MP3 and I have noticed that my FLAC's are pretty hot
in comparison to my MP3's adjusted with MP3Gain.

Side question: What do you use to tag your FLAC's? I rip my CD's with
EAC but there doesn't seem to be tag support when ripping to FLAC's
AFAIK. I use ID3 Tag IT 3 for tagging but that doesn't support tagging
FLAC's either so my FLAC all sit tagless for now. :-(

thnx.

jess

Richie
2005-09-16, 23:11
> Side question: What do you use to tag your FLAC's? I rip my CD's with
> EAC but there doesn't seem to be tag support when ripping to FLAC's
> AFAIK. I use ID3 Tag IT 3 for tagging but that doesn't support tagging
> FLAC's either so my FLAC all sit tagless for now. :-(
>
> thnx.
>
> jess

I use :

Tag & Rename from www.softpointer.com which you have to pay for.
foobar2000 from www.foobar2000.org which is free and very handy as it
lets you view the raw tags.

Others have recommended mp3tag from mp3tag.de (i've not tried it yet)

Hope this helps

Richard

Robin Bowes
2005-09-16, 23:40
Jess Askey said the following on 17/09/2005 06:51:
> Robin Bowes wrote:
>
>> I've got a perl script that I wrote to add ReplayGain tags to my
>> library of flac files.
>>
>> I can tidy it up and release it if there's any interest?
>>
>> R.
>
>
> I would be interested in that. I have recently switched over to ripping
> in FLAC instead of MP3 and I have noticed that my FLAC's are pretty hot
> in comparison to my MP3's adjusted with MP3Gain.

I'll be tidying up the code, bundling the modules it uses, making sure
it works on windows, etc. over the weekend andhope to have a release
sometime next week.

> Side question: What do you use to tag your FLAC's? I rip my CD's with
> EAC but there doesn't seem to be tag support when ripping to FLAC's
> AFAIK. I use ID3 Tag IT 3 for tagging but that doesn't support tagging
> FLAC's either so my FLAC all sit tagless for now. :-(

EAC does support tagging with external compressors (which is how flac is
configured with EAC). Make sure your compression settings look something
like:

Program, including path, used for compression:
C:\Program Files\FLAC\flac.exe

Additional command-line options:
--best --verify -T "artist=%a" -T "title=%t" -T "album=%g" -T "date=%y"
-T "tracknumber=%n" -T "genre=%m" -T "Comment=%e" -T Encoder="EAC
v0.95 beta 2 (Secure Mode) / FLAC 1.1.2" %s

R.
--
http://robinbowes.com

If a man speaks in a forest,
and his wife's not there,
is he still wrong?

max.spicer
2005-09-17, 01:57
Can EAC add album replaygain when ripping CDs? I'm guessing it can't as this would involve running flac/metaflac across all the tracks in the album, but I suppose it could be cunning.

Max


Jess Askey said the following on 17/09/2005 06:51:
> Robin Bowes wrote:
>
>> I've got a perl script that I wrote to add ReplayGain tags to my
>> library of flac files.
>>
>> I can tidy it up and release it if there's any interest?
>>
>> R.
>
>
> I would be interested in that. I have recently switched over to ripping
> in FLAC instead of MP3 and I have noticed that my FLAC's are pretty hot
> in comparison to my MP3's adjusted with MP3Gain.

I'll be tidying up the code, bundling the modules it uses, making sure
it works on windows, etc. over the weekend andhope to have a release
sometime next week.

> Side question: What do you use to tag your FLAC's? I rip my CD's with
> EAC but there doesn't seem to be tag support when ripping to FLAC's
> AFAIK. I use ID3 Tag IT 3 for tagging but that doesn't support tagging
> FLAC's either so my FLAC all sit tagless for now. :-(

EAC does support tagging with external compressors (which is how flac is
configured with EAC). Make sure your compression settings look something
like:

Program, including path, used for compression:
C:\Program Files\FLAC\flac.exe

Additional command-line options:
--best --verify -T "artist=%a" -T "title=%t" -T "album=%g" -T "date=%y"
-T "tracknumber=%n" -T "genre=%m" -T "Comment=%e" -T Encoder="EAC
v0.95 beta 2 (Secure Mode) / FLAC 1.1.2" %s

R.
--
http://robinbowes.com

If a man speaks in a forest,
and his wife's not there,
is he still wrong?

Robin Bowes
2005-09-17, 04:35
max.spicer said the following on 17/09/2005 09:57:
> Can EAC add album replaygain when ripping CDs? I'm guessing it can't as
> this would involve running flac/metaflac across all the tracks in the
> album, but I suppose it could be cunning.

Right answer, right reason.

R.
--
http://robinbowes.com

If a man speaks in a forest,
and his wife's not there,
is he still wrong?

rme
2005-09-17, 06:29
You can include the option "--replay-gain" in the command line for the flac.exe in EAC. see http://flac.sourceforge.net/documentation.html

"Calculate ReplayGain values and store in FLAC tags, similar to VorbisGain. Title gains/peaks will be computed for each input file, and an album gain/peak will be computed for all files. All input files must have the same resolution, sample rate, and number of channels. Only mono and stereo files are allowed, and the sample rate must be one of 8, 11.025, 12, 16, 22.05, 24, 32, 44.1, or 48 kHz. Also note that this option may leave a few extra bytes in a PADDING block as the exact size of the tags is not known until all files are processed.

Note that this option cannot be used when encoding to standard output (stdout). "

I think this is only track gain, but I am not sure.

Robin Bowes
2005-09-17, 10:59
rme said the following on 17/09/2005 14:29:
> You can include the option "--replay-gain" in the command line for the
> flac.exe in EAC. see http://flac.sourceforge.net/documentation.html

You can indeed, but it only calculates album gain for the track(s)
specified on the command line, i.e. only the track currently being ripped.

>
> "Calculate ReplayGain values and store in FLAC tags, similar to
> VorbisGain. Title gains/peaks will be computed for each input file, and
> an album gain/peak will be computed for all files. All input files must
> have the same resolution, sample rate, and number of channels. Only
> mono and stereo files are allowed, and the sample rate must be one of
> 8, 11.025, 12, 16, 22.05, 24, 32, 44.1, or 48 kHz. Also note that this
> option may leave a few extra bytes in a PADDING block as the exact size
> of the tags is not known until all files are processed.
>
> Note that this option cannot be used when encoding to standard output
> (stdout). "
>
> I think this is only track gain, but I am not sure.

It is only track gain. You have to post-process if you want album gain.

R.

--
http://robinbowes.com

If a man speaks in a forest,
and his wife's not there,
is he still wrong?

bossanova808
2005-09-17, 17:38
If you use something like flacattack/wack to do the encoding to flac, you can rip in EAC and have replay gain applied correctly at the time of rip, both album and track gain.

http://www.uninformative.com/wack/

davegerke
2005-09-17, 20:41
Am using Replay Gain now!!

Fantastic work guys!!!

One Question though....

Is there anyway to confirm that RG is being used for the current track or do I need to take is word??

PS don't have a DB meter handy :)

Also RG settings are in Player Settings not Server Settings.

Cheers and Thanks again,
Dave

street_samurai
2005-09-20, 13:55
Is there anyway to confirm that RG is being used for the current track or do I need to take is word??


I think your best bet would be to find (or create) two tracks with very different volumes (before you replay-gain'em) and then add replay gain and play them through the SB.

For me, there is a completely obvious difference between these types of tracks.

ss.

[Edit] a good way to find those two tracks would be to analyse (but not apply) gain to them. Find two tracks that have opposite gains.

chopdog
2005-09-20, 18:03
JRiver's Media Centre is by far the best library and tag management system on the market - bar none. If JRiver and Slim Devices got working together, it would be the best combination. Go have a play !

mbonsack
2005-10-27, 14:05
I'll be tidying up the code, bundling the modules it uses, making sure
it works on windows, etc. over the weekend and hope to have a release
sometime next week.


Did this ever happen? I'd still be interested in this.