PDA

View Full Version : What's the true MAC address?



JulianL
2005-09-15, 10:26
I just got my SB2 and had some trouble getting connected to my wireless access point (WAP) initially. I had MAC access control set on my WAP so I wanted to add the SB2's MAC address to the allowed client list for my WAP. When I was doing this last night I found a MAC address via the menus using the remote control where I could see the IP address, subnet mask, DNS server address, etc. This morning however when I was playing with my SB2 a bit more I noticed the sticker on the bottom of the device has a MAC address written on it and it bears no relation to the MAC address I found via the menus last night. Which is correct? Why are they different? Is this evidence of something wrong with my SB2?

- Julian

MrC
2005-09-15, 10:38
There's a corruption bug regarding the MAC address. The one at the bottom is correct. Search the forum here for more information on how to fix.

dean
2005-09-15, 10:39
There is a bug in the current firmware (fixed in the latest nightly
releases) that could cause your MAC address to get reset if the
player was unplugged at the wrong time.

The correct MAC address is printed on the bottom. To reset it,
navigate back to the setup menu and View Current Settings, then
select the MAC address and press to go right. You can then edit the
MAC address back.


On Sep 15, 2005, at 10:26 AM, JulianL wrote:

>
> I just got my SB2 and had some trouble getting connected to my
> wireless
> access point (WAP) initially. I had MAC access control set on my
> WAP so
> I wanted to add the SB2's MAC address to the allowed client list
> for my
> WAP. When I was doing this last night I found a MAC address via the
> menus using the remote control where I could see the IP address,
> subnet
> mask, DNS server address, etc. This morning however when I was playing
> with my SB2 a bit more I noticed the sticker on the bottom of the
> device has a MAC address written on it and it bears no relation to the
> MAC address I found via the menus last night. Which is correct? Why
> are
> they different? Is this evidence of something wrong with my SB2?
>
> - Julian
>
>
> --
> JulianL
>

MrC
2005-09-28, 13:09
Despite having the latest firmware (v22), I've noticed my SB2 is not getting the statically assigned IP address that I have my firewall configured to assign.

I've tracked this down to the MAC address being reported/used. It is simply incorrect (at least from my firewalls point of view). Here are the DHCP leases given out over time to the SB2:

20:05:78:00:00:0C 192.168.2.144 2005/09/28 20:34:13
20:05:78:00:00:0C 192.168.2.144 2005/09/28 20:28:00
20:05:78:00:00:0C 192.168.2.144 2005/09/28 20:30:01
20:05:72:00:00:0C 192.168.2.145 2005/09/10 17:19:48
20:05:70:00:00:0C 192.168.2.147 2005/09/02 16:49:27

Besides being comletely incorrect, notice the change in the 3rd octet (70 -> 72 -> 78).

The assigned MAC address is 00:04:20:05:b8:2b, and this shows in the players settings under Information. Perhaps its just a coincidence that the 20:05 portion is in both the actual and bogus MAC addresses.

After unplugging the SB2, and assigning a static IP address, I find that the correct MAC address is being used again. Going back to DHCP yields the incorrect MAC address again.

Any comments?

MrC
2005-09-28, 15:58
I've reset to factory defaults, and reconfigured everything in the SB2. Now I'm seeing the correct MAC address again.

dhcpd: DHCPDISCOVER from 00:04:20:05:b8:2b via eth0
dhcpd: DHCPOFFER on 192.168.2.3 to 00:04:20:05:b8:2b via eth0
dhcpd: DHCPREQUEST for 192.168.2.3 (192.168.2.1) from 00:04:20:05:b8:2b via eth0
dhcpd: DHCPACK on 192.168.2.3 to 00:04:20:05:b8:2b via eth0

I'm almost postitive there's a bug still somewhere in the firmware that's causing the MAC address to be incorrect sometimes.

MrC
2005-09-28, 17:05
I've reposted my issue in the Beta forum:

http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?p=54949#post54949