PDA

View Full Version : Slimserver 6.x on Mandrake 10.0+



Rockin
2005-09-09, 19:40
Since there seems to be no help out in Unix/Linux forum, I am trying here. Please pardon any harsh comments, but this crap is really pissing me off as I've tried for a month to get the dang thing working. My new SB2 is gathering dust because of it. The RPM download for 6.x (any of them) have never worked for Mandrake. Why can't there be one created that works for it. I am sure there are plenty of Mandrake users who have been frustrated by this. Most must be able to figure the dang thing out, but no one seems to want to help a complete novice at it. 5.4 worked great and I have no idea why 6.0+ can't. I was able to run the "./slimserver.pl" script and saw a failure which said run xxxx. Well that then ran fine, only to have the same message come up on the next "./slimserver.pl". So I download the src RPM and it does not say anything about how to get that to work. The damn installation file only tells you about what the freakin RPM does. Ok, what the hell are the "exact" steps to accomplish the same thing the RPM does for you. Do you need to do crap as root? Do you need certain permissions? Does it expect to be in a certain directory? Many specifics are left out. Try looking at Gentoo installation files to see how to write one. They don't leave anything out. I've seen a comment once about Mandrake doing something different for their PERL, but there was never anything about how to fix it or work around it.

stinkingpig
2005-09-09, 20:31
Rockin wrote:

>Since there seems to be no help out in Unix/Linux forum, I am trying
>here. Please pardon any harsh comments, but this crap is really
>pissing me off as I've tried for a month to get the dang thing working.
>My new SB2 is gathering dust because of it. The RPM download for 6.x
>(any of them) have never worked for Mandrake. Why can't there be one
>created that works for it. I am sure there are plenty of Mandrake
>users who have been frustrated by this. Most must be able to figure
>the dang thing out, but no one seems to want to help a complete novice
>at it. 5.4 worked great and I have no idea why 6.0+ can't. I was able
>to run the "./slimserver.pl" script and saw a failure which said run
>xxxx. Well that then ran fine, only to have the same message come up
>on the next "./slimserver.pl". So I download the src RPM and it does
>not say anything about how to get that to work. The damn installation
>file only tells you about what the freakin RPM does. Ok, what the hell
>are the "exact" steps to accomplish the same thing the RPM does for you.
>Do you need to do crap as root? Do you need certain permissions? Does
>it expect to be in a certain directory? Many specifics are left out.
>Try looking at Gentoo installation files to see how to write one. They
>don't leave anything out. I've seen a comment once about Mandrake doing
>something different for their PERL, but there was never anything about
>how to fix it or work around it.
>
>

I'm running the RPM on Mandrake 10.1, needed no changes. If you'd like
to troubleshoot, post details instead of complaints.

--
Jack at Monkeynoodle dot Org : It's a Scientific Venture!
"I spent all me tin with the ladies drinking gin,
so across the Western ocean I must wander." -- All for Me Grog, traditional

Jess Askey
2005-09-10, 10:01
While I can't seem to get ACPI to work under Mandrake 10.2, Slimserver
6.1 works just fine for me directly from the RPM installed via Webmin. I
will trade problems with you if you want. :-) Post your issues as Jack
pointed out and Im sure you will find more than enough help here.


Jack Coates wrote:

>
> I'm running the RPM on Mandrake 10.1, needed no changes. If you'd like
> to troubleshoot, post details instead of complaints.
>

stinkingpig
2005-09-10, 10:55
Jess Askey wrote:

> While I can't seem to get ACPI to work under Mandrake 10.2, Slimserver
> 6.1 works just fine for me directly from the RPM installed via Webmin.
> I will trade problems with you if you want. :-) Post your issues as
> Jack pointed out and Im sure you will find more than enough help here.


ACPI is highly hardware dependent... never did get it working properly
on a Sony Vaio VX88, but the IBM T40 I'm typing on now had no issues at all.

--
Jack at Monkeynoodle dot Org : It's a Scientific Venture!
"I spent all me tin with the ladies drinking gin,
so across the Western ocean I must wander." -- All for Me Grog, traditional

Robin Bowes
2005-09-10, 15:51
Rockin said the following on 10/09/2005 03:40:
> Since there seems to be no help out in Unix/Linux forum, I am trying
> here. Please pardon any harsh comments, but this crap is really
> pissing me off as I've tried for a month to get the dang thing working.
> My new SB2 is gathering dust because of it. The RPM download for 6.x
> (any of them) have never worked for Mandrake. Why can't there be one
> created that works for it. I am sure there are plenty of Mandrake
> users who have been frustrated by this. Most must be able to figure
> the dang thing out, but no one seems to want to help a complete novice
> at it. 5.4 worked great and I have no idea why 6.0+ can't. I was able
> to run the "./slimserver.pl" script and saw a failure which said run
> xxxx. Well that then ran fine, only to have the same message come up
> on the next "./slimserver.pl". So I download the src RPM and it does
> not say anything about how to get that to work. The damn installation
> file only tells you about what the freakin RPM does. Ok, what the hell
> are the "exact" steps to accomplish the same thing the RPM does for you.
> Do you need to do crap as root? Do you need certain permissions? Does
> it expect to be in a certain directory? Many specifics are left out.
> Try looking at Gentoo installation files to see how to write one. They
> don't leave anything out. I've seen a comment once about Mandrake doing
> something different for their PERL, but there was never anything about
> how to fix it or work around it.

I don't run Mandrake, but someone else had a problem with Mandriva Linux
(aka Mandrake 10.2) so I installed it on a spare machine and documented
what I had to do to get it to work.

http://wiki.slimdevices.com/index.cgi?MandrivaLinux

R.

PS. I'm sure you're frustrated but try and be more constructive next
time - you're more likely to get help in these forums.
--
http://robinbowes.com

If a man speaks in a forest,
and his wife's not there,
is he still wrong?

Rockin
2005-09-10, 18:38
see unix/linux thread for details http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=15556

I can not understand what my problem would be if it works for others. I have even done brand spanking new Mandrake installs followed immediately by slimserver install and still doesn't work.

stinkingpig
2005-09-10, 21:25
Rockin wrote:

>see unix/linux thread for details
>http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=15556
>
>I can not understand what my problem would be if it works for others.
>I have even done brand spanking new Mandrake installs followed
>immediately by slimserver install and still doesn't work.
>
>

replied in that thread.

--
Jack at Monkeynoodle dot Org : It's a Scientific Venture!
"I spent all me tin with the ladies drinking gin,
so across the Western ocean I must wander." -- All for Me Grog, traditional