PDA

View Full Version : Elpac power supply for the SB2



ephemere
2005-09-08, 16:12
I'm looking for an additional power supply for the SB2, mainly just to have another one hanging around so that it's easier to move the SB2 from room to room.

Searching the forums, I came across a bunch of folks (mainly on the audiophile forum) who were looking to buy or build a linear supply in hopes that it would sound better than the stock switching supply. But interestingly, although there were several inquiries, I couldn't find any mention of an off-the-shelf linear power supply.

I came across the Elpac WM050-1950-760 for $17.72 at Allied Electronics. It's a linear supply. Is there any reason it won't work for the SB2? It's only 1.2A output (the stock is 2A), but IIRC the SB2 needs only .65A. (Don't rely on my memory; do your own search.) Folks over at head-fi.org seem to like the 24V version of the Elpac (WM080-1950-760) for headphone amps, so I'm guessing the quality is decent.

Any comments? Any reason this is a bad idea?

http://www.elpac.com/products/powersupplies/external/single.html
http://www.alliedelec.com/Search/ProductDetail.asp?SKU=8792050

Mike Hanson
2005-09-08, 18:27
Well, the SB2 actually needs close to 1.5A, IIRC, but there is an Elpac that will do the 2A. However, I'm not sure how good it's going to be, with the small form factor. It needs to fit a transformer, fuse, smoothing cap(s) and regulator. With the small size, I wouldn't expect the performance to overly impressive.

-=> Mike Hanson <=-

ephemere
2005-09-08, 19:52
I believe the 2A Elpac is a switching supply, which would explain the small size. See here...

http://www.alliedelec.com/catalog/pf.asp?FN=647.pdf

Do you remember where you heard about the 1.5A requirement? I dug up the post by Sean Adams with the 650mA spec, but now I realize that was for the SB1, not the SB2.

http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?p=4439&highlight=650ma#post4439

Does the SB2 really need 1.5A?

Mike Hanson
2005-09-09, 06:18
I believe the 2A Elpac is a switching supply, which would explain the small size. See here...

http://www.alliedelec.com/catalog/pf.asp?FN=647.pdf[/url
Yes, you're correct. BTW, there is a 1.5A version of the supply that you've picked. See model #WM050-1950-760.


Do you remember where you heard about the 1.5A requirement? I dug up the post by Sean Adams with the 650mA spec, but now I realize that was for the SB1, not the SB2.

[url]http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?p=4439&highlight=650ma#post4439

Does the SB2 really need 1.5A?
I'm not certain where it was that I heard that. I also believe it depends on whether you have the wireless card, which could increase the current draw significantly. I also expect it to be very bursty, so a 1.5A supply would very likely be sufficient.

-=> Mike Hanson <=-

Barry McLarnon
2005-09-10, 12:59
On Thursday 08 September 2005 22:52, ephemere wrote:
> I believe the 2A Elpac is a switching supply, which would explain the
> small size. See here...
>
> http://www.alliedelec.com/catalog/pf.asp?FN=647.pdf
>
> Do you remember where you heard about the 1.5A requirement? I dug up
> the post by Sean Adams with the 650mA spec, but now I realize that was
> for the SB1, not the SB2.
>
> http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?p=4439&highlight=650ma#post
>4439
>
> Does the SB2 really need 1.5A?

I'm using a 2A linear supply that I happened to have on hand, but the Slim
website says (http://www.slimdevices.com/pi_specs.html) that the SB2 needs
a minimum of 1.0A.

Barry

--
Barry McLarnon VE3JF Ottawa, ON

Music Machine
2005-09-10, 14:42
Allied lists the 5v 1.5a Elpac WM075-1950-760 as linear and regulated.

http://www.alliedelec.com/Search/ProductDetail.asp?SKU=879-2075&SEARCH=ELPAC+WM075%2D1950%2D760&ID=&DESC=WM075%2D1950%2D760

They price it at 38.95

Electronics Surplus has the same part number for 17.50

http://www.electronicsurplus.com/commerce/catalog/product.jsp;jsessionid=F783C20ED713823CE4C1D627889 407C1?product_id=78437&czuid=1126394343251

Don't know if this is an improvement over the stock SB2 PS, but a switching supply can't be optimal.

So I ordered one to check it out.

Regards,
Music Machine

ephemere
2005-09-13, 22:11
Thanks! Good catch. Just ordered one myself.

sleepysurf
2005-09-23, 16:27
Likewise, just ordered. Can't beat the price, even just to "try" it.

I guess Sean is being tactful (respecting Red Wine Audio and Bolder Cable's mods) in not commenting specifically about this off-the-shelf psu. Guess us "early adopters" will need to spread the gospel if they prove worthwhile.

Music Machine
2005-09-23, 16:49
I think the elpac proves that the power supply is very important to SB2 for sound quality. At least for analog out which I use, but maybe for digital out too. Considering the instantly noticable improvement this non-optimal surplus supply makes, I would guess the "good stuff" from the modders is a huge upgrade.

Regards,
Music Machine

sleepysurf
2005-10-08, 15:11
Well, after trying the Elpac linear PSU in place of the standard switching PSU, I can honestly say the improvement is minimal (using the SB2 analog out).

However, I downloaded the latest Slimserver Beta, which incorporates pre-amp volume control to allow direct connection to an amp.

After connecting the SB2 analog out DIRECTLY to my Sunfire Cinema Grand 200 amp (feeding Martin-Logan Aerius i's), I now have absolutely INCREDIBLE LUSH CRYSTALLINE sound like I've rarely heard before. I had no idea my Yamaha RX-V1000 (as Pre/Pro) had such a deleterious effect on the signal path.

At least for me, the GREATEST upgrade path for improved audio from the SB2, was to simply bypass the pre-amp stage altogether! I'm sure some other mods might tweak the sound even more, but I'm thrilled with the improvement thus obtained. Now, I just need to figure out how I can still utilize my RX-V1000 for Home Theater DVD playback.

Music Machine
2005-10-08, 15:32
Now that you have "absolutely INCREDIBLE LUSH CRYSTALLINE sound" put the stock supply back in and see what happens. Confused and rough.

Regards,
Music Machine

sleepysurf
2005-10-08, 17:17
Compared the two PSU's extensively, the linear is (slightly) better in my system. Clearly, feeding directly to the amp is the biggest "bang for the buck" improvement I have attained thus far. Gotta rest my ears a while now!

pfarrell
2005-10-08, 17:29
On Sat, 2005-10-08 at 15:11 -0700, sleepysurf wrote:
> After connecting the SB2 analog out DIRECTLY to my Sunfire Cinema Grand
> 200 amp (feeding Martin-Logan Aerius i's), I now have absolutely
> INCREDIBLE LUSH CRYSTALLINE sound like I've rarely heard before. I had
> no idea my Yamaha RX-V1000 (as Pre/Pro) had such a deleterious effect
> on the signal path.

Less things having a chance to screw the sound up. If nothing else,
one fewer set of interconnects, two sets of jacks, and whatever is
inside the box.

Put the Yamaha and the big screen TV in the basement, away from serious
listening.

--
Pat
http://www.pfarrell.com/music/slimserver/slimsoftware.html

Old Pa
2005-12-05, 20:08
The Elpac WM1005-760 is a linear regulated PSU of wallwart style, 5V/2.0A and runs $25.68 at Allied Electronics. It appears to be set up for "plug & play" with the SB3.

JohnnyLightOn
2005-12-06, 13:23
^ WRT this Elpac supply, if I have an SB3 that feeds an outboard DAC and a generally-revealing system, if I swap the stock wall wart with this linear supply, will I notice a sound quality improvement?

Are there any drawbacks, such as a buzz/hum from the supply? Do I need to wire in the SB's power cable myself to it? Thanks. :)

By the way, this Elpac is listed on Allied's site (see pdf link to the catalog page at bottom of screen) as a linear switching supply, not a linear regulated supply. The Elpac WM-050-1950-760 is a linear regulated supply, 1.2A, 5V, $17.72.

Old Pa
2005-12-07, 07:22
I don't know if you personally will notice any sonic changes in your system by going to a regulated linear PSU as any change can be subtle and your perceptions are subjective. It has been reported (and I have heard in other applications, not the SB yet), that going from a relatively cheap switching PSU to a regulated linear PSU maximized component performance along the power line, lowers the noise floor, and adds subtle clarity and small detail. IMHO, this is worth $30 to find out. At the very least, you will know you theoretically improved your electronic performance.

JohnnyLightOn
2005-12-07, 14:58
Thanks, Old Pa. I agree. I was hoping to hear from someone who's been down this path with their digital-output SB and could steer me to a specific model number and share results, but if I don't it's certainly worth $30 for me to find out for myself.

dwc
2005-12-07, 16:47
I bought two of the Hosfelt supples. Unfortunately the power supplies themselves hum audibly, so I'm not completely satisfied.
-Dan

dhuskey
2005-12-14, 17:48
The specs on the Elpac are +/- 5% on load side. I found a regulated linear power supply with +/- .05% specs:

http://www.mpja.com/productview.asp?product=6601+PS

Any reason that would not work with the SB2/3? Note, it is only a 1.2A, but seems from the discussion that should be ok.

ModelCitizen
2005-12-15, 05:27
> The specs on the Elpac are +/- 5% on load side. I found a regulated
> linear power supply with +/- .05% specs:
>
> http://www.mpja.com/productview.asp?product=6601+PS
>
> Any reason that would not work with the SB2/3? Note, it is only a
> 1.2A, but seems from the discussion that should be ok.

As far as I can see neither of these have UK options. Has anyonme found a
linear supply for the UK market that will power the Squeezebox?

Simon Turner
Barcombe UK

rcb
2005-12-16, 15:59
Hi,
newbie here, so pls excuse the cross-posting...

I've just got a (wireless) SB3, and was following the thread re improvements when using a linear power supply to replace the stock switching power supply. Folks have recommended the Elpac WM075-1950-760... so I tried that model, but, given the results, I'm willing to wager that the SB3 sometimes needs 2amps, while the SB2 made do with less...Bottom line, I haven't gotten
the Elpac to work.
The Elpac is rated at 1.5 amps. When it's connected to the SB3, for me, the display flickers and is dim... and the rest goes downhill from there...(and yes, this SB3 has the latest firmware).
Has anyone had luck with the Elpac and the SB3 (as opposed
to the SB2)? I've measured the output w/ my meters, and it seems
to be working OK.

Sure enough (kicking myself, should have looked first): the switching supply that comes with the SB3 says 1.5V, 2 A output...
So: anybody have any recommendations for a linear power supply for the SB3 - doesn't seem as though Allied has a 2amp one...

thanks

PS: I have found that by-passing any pre-amp stage
does indeed, as expected, do wonders, as do several outboard
DACs (though the DACs have made less of a difference, IMHO - I have tried the Benchmark; the Audio Aero Capitole,
and the Esoteric DV50s -- all upsample to 192khz...)

dhuskey
2005-12-20, 21:43
Power-One makes a 5vdc 3A regulated linear power supply with +-.05% load regulation which should perform better than the Elpac. List price is $36.95.

http://www.flw.com/olpow2.htm

Another choice would be an International Power Open frame linear power supply also with +- .05% regulation:

http://www.mpja.com/productview.asp?product=6634+PS

This one is also available on E-bay for $29.99:

http://cgi.ebay.com/International-Power-5V-2A-12-5-12-4-IHTAA-16W_W0QQitemZ7567443201QQcategoryZ50968QQssPageNam eZWD1VQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

Jetlag
2005-12-21, 14:39
sent you an email

skvinson
2005-12-23, 11:00
Power-One makes a 5vdc 3A regulated linear power supply with +-.05% load regulation which should perform better than the Elpac. List price is $36.95.

http://www.flw.com/olpow2.htm




Can you tell me why this should be better than the Elpac? Also, is it "plug & play"? I'd like to avoid any soldering.

Thanks

TriodeGuy
2005-12-23, 11:17
Have to give Occam over at AudioCircle credit for finding this one. It's a very nice 5V 3A supply made by power one for $2.50!

http://www.cascadesurplus.com/catalog/product_info.php/cPath/99/products_id/856

I purchased several of these and they are really nice supplies if you don't mind doing a little DIY work. You have to solder a power cord on and enclose it yourself.

Robin Bowes
2005-12-24, 13:28
TriodeGuy said the following on 23/12/2005 18:17:
> Have to give Occam over at AudioCircle credit for finding this one.
> It's a very nice 5V 3A supply made by power one for $2.50!
>
> http://www.cascadesurplus.com/catalog/product_info.php/cPath/99/products_id/856
>
> I purchased several of these and they are really nice supplies if you
> don't mind doing a little DIY work. You have to solder a power cord on
> and enclose it yourself.

Now, why can't we find stuff like this in the UK?

R.

robertwb70
2006-04-29, 13:07
I've just got a (wireless) SB3, and was following the thread re improvements when using a linear power supply to replace the stock switching power supply. Folks have recommended the Elpac WM075-1950-760... so I tried that model, but, given the results, I'm willing to wager that the SB3 sometimes needs 2amps, while the SB2 made do with less...Bottom line, I haven't gotten
the Elpac to work.
The Elpac is rated at 1.5 amps. When it's connected to the SB3, for me, the display flickers and is dim... and the rest goes downhill from there...(and yes, this SB3 has the latest firmware).

same here-I don't remember where I got the link I bought from but I got an Elpac WM075-1950 (no D5 or 1760 or anyhting else after that) and it just doesn't seem to have enough power to run the SB3 even though it's rated at +5VDC 1.5A

guess I'll have to get something else...

Michaelwagner
2006-04-29, 16:42
The wireless versions all need more power.

Notthebomba
2006-06-01, 15:19
Hah! You must have bought the last one! I checked out the website and they said they're out of stock. Guess that's why they're named "surplus".

-NTB


Allied lists the 5v 1.5a Elpac WM075-1950-760 as linear and regulated.

http://www.alliedelec.com/Search/ProductDetail.asp?SKU=879-2075&SEARCH=ELPAC+WM075%2D1950%2D760&ID=&DESC=WM075%2D1950%2D760

They price it at 38.95

Electronics Surplus has the same part number for 17.50

http://www.electronicsurplus.com/commerce/catalog/product.jsp;jsessionid=F783C20ED713823CE4C1D627889 407C1?product_id=78437&czuid=1126394343251

Don't know if this is an improvement over the stock SB2 PS, but a switching supply can't be optimal.

So I ordered one to check it out.

Regards,
Music Machine