PDA

View Full Version : Cannot Access Slimserver From Outside Router



Brendtron
2005-09-07, 17:45
Hello all,

I can't seem to access my Slimserver on the other side of my router. If I put the address http://192.168.0.xxx:9000/stream.mp3 into Winamp, it works fine. If I put http://my.external.ip:9000/stream.mp3, I don't get sound, even though it appears to connect. The "Welcome to Slimserver" text appears and scrolls, and the time played increases, but there is no sound. It even asks me for the password.

I have a D-Link DI-604 router. I am forwarding 9000 and 9090 (apparently sometimes you need this one), both UDP and TCP, to no avail. Even putting the server in the DMZ doesn't help.

I turned on debugging and it appears to send silence.mp3, and that's about it.

What kind of debugging should I have on here? Anybody else have this problem?

Slimserver definitely detects the connection. The player IP shows up in under the Settings heading.

MrC
2005-09-07, 19:23
Also forward port 3483 as well.

jth
2005-09-07, 19:42
Did you add music to the player playlist?

See: http://www.slimdevices.com/su_faq.html#advanced-streamout

Brendtron
2005-09-07, 21:43
[QUOTE=jth]Did you add music to the player playlist?

Yep. I've got Winamp set up for multiple instances. I can have instances connect behind the router just fine. If I make one go through the router...

http://external.ip:9000/stream.mp3

I get no sound. The internally connected one is happily playing away. I am totally stumped.

I'm running FreeBSD 5.4, BTW. netstat -a shows the connection is being made on port 9000.

I've tried disabling all firewalls, and putting the FreeBSD box in the DMZ. Nothing! Is my router just not going to work?

Brendtron
2005-09-07, 22:45
I started up Ethereal to see what's going on... it's sending data for sure, lots of packets. I think it's just sending silence.mp3 over and over... what could cause this? Seems like it could be a problem with the client not responding correctly.

kdf
2005-09-07, 22:56
On 7-Sep-05, at 10:45 PM, Brendtron wrote:

>
> I started up Ethereal to see what's going on... it's sending data for
> sure, lots of packets. I think it's just sending silence.mp3 over and
> over... what could cause this? Seems like it could be a problem with
> the client not responding correctly.
>
the server sends silence until you queue up a playlist for that player
using the web interface. Pressing play from a remote http player such
as winamp cannot start playing tracks on its own. You need to select
that player in the web ui and select tracks to play, making sure that
the playback is going (ie 'add' tracks will still need you to click on
the play button)

-kdf

Brendtron
2005-09-07, 23:27
On 7-Sep-05, at 10:45 PM, Brendtron wrote:

>
> I started up Ethereal to see what's going on... it's sending data for
> sure, lots of packets. I think it's just sending silence.mp3 over and
> over... what could cause this? Seems like it could be a problem with
> the client not responding correctly.
>
the server sends silence until you queue up a playlist for that player
using the web interface. Pressing play from a remote http player such
as winamp cannot start playing tracks on its own. You need to select
that player in the web ui and select tracks to play, making sure that
the playback is going (ie 'add' tracks will still need you to click on
the play button)

-kdf


Yep I have songs queued up, and it's actually playing through the Winamp that is connected with the URL http://192.168.0.xxx:9000/stream.mp3, but not through the one connected with external.ip:9000/stream.mp3.

The system is fully functional, except it doesn't make it through the router. Well, it actually does, but it doesn't seem to understand that it needs to send music.

I can also connect to the web interface with a browser by going to http://external.ip:9000, so port forwarding is working.

Mark.Bennett
2005-09-08, 00:17
On Wed, 2005-09-07 at 23:27 -0700, Brendtron wrote:

> Yep I have songs queued up, and it's actually playing through the
> Winamp that is connected with the URL
> http://192.168.0.xxx:9000/stream.mp3, but not through the one connected
> with external.ip:9000/stream.mp3.
>
> The system is fully functional, except it doesn't make it through the
> router. Well, it actually does, but it doesn't seem to understand that
> it needs to send music.

Both streams will be seen by slimserver as different players, with
different playlists. You need to switch to the external.ip player
in the Slimserver web page and queue up music for that player.

Forgive me if this is what you are already doing.

--
"The biggest problem encountered while trying to design a system that
was completely foolproof, was, that people tended to underestimate the
ingenuity of complete fools." (Douglas Adams)

jimwillsher
2005-09-08, 02:44
Brilliant!

I was doing the same thing. I had tried this many months ago and given up, but now I have seen the light.

I have port 9000/TCP forwarded to my server (9090 and UDP don't seem to be required).

I then open the stream in WinAmp or Media Player via http://externalIP:9000/stream.mp3

If I then refresh the Slimserver in my browser via http://externalIP:9000 I see there's now two players listed - my internal one as normal, but also the IP address of where I am coming from on the web. If I then queue up songs on this player, it streams perfectly to me across the web.

Cool!



Jim

Robin Bowes
2005-09-08, 03:21
jimwillsher wrote:
> Brilliant!
>
> I was doing the same thing. I had tried this many months ago and given
> up, but now I have seen the light.
>
> I have ports 9000 and 9090, TCP and UDP, all forwarded to my server.
> (Possibly overkill, I will experiment)
>
> I then open the stream in WinAmp or Media Player via
> http://externalIP:9000/stream.mp3
>
> If I then refresh the simserver in my browser via
> http://externalIP:9000 I see there's now two players listed - my
> internal one as normal, but also the IP address of where I am coming
> from on the web. If I then queue up songs on this player, it streams
> perfectly to me across the web.

Jim,

The ports you need to open up are listed in the FAQ:

http://slimdevices.com/su_faq.html#networking

To summarise, you need:

3483/tcp (Slimserver Control)
3483/udp (SlimDiscovery)
9000/tcp (Slimserver Web)

A suggestion:

1. Sort out your IP ports as above.

2. From your remote PC, open up a web page to your slimserver:

http://externalIP:9000

3. Download and install Softsqueeze.

You'll get a much better experience using Softsqueeze rather than WinAmp
or Media Player.

R.
--
http://robinbowes.com

If a man speaks in a forest,
and his wife's not there,
is he still wrong?

cbemoore
2005-09-08, 03:59
What are the security implications of opening up these ports on my router? Will I run the risk of a virus infection?

Thanks
Chris

Robin Bowes
2005-09-08, 04:19
cbemoore wrote:
> What are the security implications of opening up these ports on my
> router? Will I run the risk of a virus infection?

The general view is that slimserver was not designed to be exposed on
the internet and has not been extensively secured. (If this is not
right, please correct me.).

A better solution is to use ssh and tunnel the slimserver traffic.

Softsqueeze can do this without requiring any 3rd party client software,
or you can use something like PuTTY.

R.

--
http://robinbowes.com

If a man speaks in a forest,
and his wife's not there,
is he still wrong?

cbemoore
2005-09-08, 04:27
A better solution is to use ssh and tunnel the slimserver traffic.

I tried doing this ages ago when I first got my SB2, but I gave up eventually.....

Are there any simple instructions anywhere about how to set up an SSH tunnel?

Thanks for your help!
Chris

Robin Bowes
2005-09-08, 05:01
cbemoore wrote:
> Robin Bowes Wrote:
>
>>A better solution is to use ssh and tunnel the slimserver traffic.
>
>
> I tried doing this ages ago when I first got my SB2, but I gave up
> eventually.....
>
> Are there any simple instructions anywhere about how to set up an SSH
> tunnel?

What did you try?

What do you want to do?

R.

--
http://robinbowes.com

If a man speaks in a forest,
and his wife's not there,
is he still wrong?

Brendtron
2005-09-11, 11:06
Both streams will be seen by slimserver as different players, with
different playlists. You need to switch to the external.ip player
in the Slimserver web page and queue up music for that player.

Forgive me if this is what you are already doing.


Ah! Thank you. I didn't notice the drop down box in the top right because it only seems to show up when multiple users are connected. Feeling a bit stupid now... here I am busting out the packet sniffers, double checking firewall rules...

Slimserver is an amazing piece of software.