PDA

View Full Version : my good old slimp3 has gone silent :-(



docbee
2005-09-07, 15:08
Hi, after years of great service my slimp3 doesn't give any music anymore. The problem occurs after resetting the unit by pulling the power plug out and in again. The vfd is still ok, remote, ethernet and gui work flawlessly, but I don't get any sound out of the rca connectors. The only thing I hear is very silent a high frequency tone which gets louder when the vfd is getting brighter. I didn't heared that hiss before.

Did someone experience this before? Any standard procedures you can recommend?

I love the unit so much...

tgoldstone
2005-09-07, 15:42
Whooopee! Time to buy a Squeezebox! :)

docbee
2005-09-07, 15:59
Don't worry, I already have a nice squeezebox 2, but for the kitchen I prefer the slim form factor of the slimp3.

As our kitchen is by far not under my command, expanding the footprint of the music client will hardly pass the necessary approval procedures...

pfarrell
2005-09-07, 16:27
On Wed, 2005-09-07 at 15:59 -0700, docbee wrote:
> As our kitchen is by far not under my command, expanding the footprint
> of the music client will hardly pass the necessary approval
> procedures...

If you are like me, it isn't under your control if you want to eat
and not sleep in the bathtub.

I've never seen a real Slimp3, is the form factor all that different?

--
Pat
http://www.pfarrell.com/music/slimserver/slimsoftware.html

James Dunn
2005-09-08, 00:35
Pat,

Approximate dimensions of original slimp3.

W x H x D (inches)
8.5 x 2.5 x 2

Hence the name I guess and why people were able to in-wall mount them.

Circuit boards and display were mounted in a stack on a piece of L shaped
smoked Perspex.

Original models even had no case and so circuit board was exposed at the
back. Cases came later and as an upgrade option.

James

I've never seen a real Slimp3, is the form factor all that different?