PDA

View Full Version : Problem with "Clear library before rescan"



bgriffis
2005-09-05, 20:10
I have two copies of my music on my computer. One copy is in wma format and the other is flac. I originally had set the music folder to be the wma folder and it scanned in all the album/artist info. I have since changed it to the flac folder and I clicked the "Clear library before rescan" box and had SlimServer rescan. However, it still shows BOTH sets of music for everything. Is this a bug?

Thanks,
Brad

kdf
2005-09-05, 21:54
On 5-Sep-05, at 8:10 PM, bgriffis wrote:

>
> I have two copies of my music on my computer. One copy is in wma
> format
> and the other is flac. I originally had set the music folder to be the
> wma folder and it scanned in all the album/artist info. I have since
> changed it to the flac folder and I clicked the "Clear library before
> rescan" box and had SlimServer rescan. However, it still shows BOTH
> sets of music for everything. Is this a bug?
>
that depends.
are you using the latest 6.2 nightly build?
Have you made sure non of your playlists or shortcuts refer to the wma
collection?
-kdf

bgriffis
2005-09-06, 04:40
that depends.
are you using the latest 6.2 nightly build?
Have you made sure non of your playlists or shortcuts refer to the wma
collection?
-kdf

I'm using 6.1.1 which appears to be the most recent official version. I do not have any playlists or shortcuts, just a straight folder hierarchy and file naming conventions to keep it all straight.

Brad

kdf
2005-09-06, 09:39
Quoting bgriffis <bgriffis.1uxr0z (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com>:

>
> kdf Wrote:
> >
> > that depends.
> > are you using the latest 6.2 nightly build?
> > Have you made sure non of your playlists or shortcuts refer to the wma
> >
> > collection?
> > -kdf
>
> I'm using 6.1.1 which appears to be the most recent official version.

That's correct. Another official release is about a month or so away (6.2). I'm
unaware whether 6.1.2 will be made an official release or not.

> I do not have any playlists or shortcuts, just a straight folder
> hierarchy and file naming conventions to keep it all straight.

That's a good start. Lots of database cleanup has been part of the 6.2
pre-release builds. Lots of new features and a few kinks. If you are
cautious, you may prefer to try the 6.1.2 builds which are kept more to
critical fixes and stability. This may resolve the issues you are seeing. They
are available here:

http://www.slimdevices.com/dev_nightly.html

-kdf

JJZolx
2005-09-06, 10:14
I have two copies of my music on my computer. One copy is in wma format and the other is flac. I originally had set the music folder to be the wma folder and it scanned in all the album/artist info. I have since changed it to the flac folder and I clicked the "Clear library before rescan" box and had SlimServer rescan. However, it still shows BOTH sets of music for everything. Is this a bug?
Are you sure that the two sets you see consist of the WMA and the FLAC versions of the files, or could you just be seeing duplicates of the FLAC files?

Have you restarted SlimServer since making the music folder change?

bgriffis
2005-09-06, 12:23
Jim,

Thanks for your reply. I'm sure that they are from different directories. If I click on a song in the album it shows the file path and I can see that one is from the wma folder and one from the flac folder.

I have not tried restarting SlimServer. I can give it a shot when I get home from work. Was that just a generic suggestion or is there something you know of requiring me to restart it? Either way, thanks.

Brad

JJZolx
2005-09-06, 12:40
Was that just a generic suggestion or is there something you know of requiring me to restart it? Either way, thanks.
Yeah, fairly generic :), but I know that SlimServer keeps a lot of things in memory rather than hitting the database more often. So even though the database might be getting fully cleared, the data in the running server's memory may not. Maybe the coders didn't take into consideration what happens if you change the music folder and do a rescan. If so, it would be a bug.

Usually, though, as kdf pointed out, the problem lies with having playlists or links/shortcuts in the music folder. Version 6.2 betas correct a lot of the problems that existed in 6.1.x in that regard.

kdf
2005-09-06, 12:57
Quoting JJZolx <JJZolx.1uyd8z (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com>:

> Maybe the coders didn't take into
> consideration what happens if you change the music folder and do a
> rescan. If so, it would be a bug.

2000+ reports, and many bugfixes that never get reported or never entered into
bugszilla, so I may be recalling this at less than 100%. There was a bug or
two involving changing the music folder location and it was fixed. I can't
recall which server version it was, or the exact symptoms of the problem.
Hence why I often simply jump to the suggestion of trying the latest from the
Betas. Even if daily changelogs existed, it would be a lot of hunting to
confirm this type of thing. Restarting the server, is often a safe way to just
be certain that all changes have taken effect when faced with so many versions
of the software out in the wild.

> Usually, though, as kdf pointed out, the problem lies with having
> playlists or links/shortcuts in the music folder. Version 6.2 betas
> correct a lot of the problems that existed in 6.1.x in that regard.

especially if some of those old playlists are still referring to the former
music folder locations. 6.0 started by string to add everything it found, and
has slowly been cleaned up. 6.1.1, and even 6.1.2 still catch data that may
not be desired. Some debate still rages over what 6.2 should be collecting or
not :)

-k

bgriffis
2005-09-06, 16:08
Thanks everyone for the replies. I think I'm going to try going to 6.2 to see how that behaves.

This is the first time I've upgraded. Do I need to completely uninstall and then reinstall or if I try to install a new one will it just upgrade the old one? I'd like to try and keep my user preferences if possible.

Thanks again everyone! I love my new SB2, just working out a few minor kinks! :)

Brad

radish
2005-09-06, 16:44
Assuming you're running Windows, just run the installer for the new version, no need to uninstall first. Preferences (and DB) will be preserved.

Sean Nixonq
2005-09-06, 17:03
For what its worth. I had a similar problem, and also, when I added another ablum to my directory, the slim server would not detect it after a clear library and rescan. This problem persisted after an update.

When I completely uninstalled, the re installed the slimserver it worked much better.

For the extra 5 minutes it takes, it may be worthwhile?

Sean