PDA

View Full Version : Player stopping rather than pausing when switched off?



wr420
2005-08-30, 08:05
Hi
I was wondering if anybody knew if this was going to be changed back to
the original behavior.
I've searched the bug/enhancements but don't see anything on it.

Thanks
matt


> This was an intentional change, in part to fix a bug where the volume

> levels got messed up if you paused, but mostly because it seemed more

> consistent with the behavior of other consumer electronics devices.

>

> It sounds like this was a behavior that you were counting on. Can

> you

> describe how you use it so we can fix it in the best possible way?

>

> On Jul 31, 2005, at 9:05 AM, Robin Cooksey wrote:

>

>> In 6.1.1, players seem to stop rather than pause when switched off.

>> I.e. when switched back on they say "Stopped", rather than "Paused",

>> and they have reverted back to the start of the track; rather than

>> starting at the same position in the track when play is pressed.

I sort of thought this might have been done to help fix this bug from a
while back:

http://bugs.slimdevices.com/show_bug.cgi?id=419

I have not really tested the current version though; since I am tending
to leave the SB on all the time these days.

kdf
2005-08-30, 08:50
On 30-Aug-05, at 8:05 AM, Matt Alioto wrote:

> Hi
> I was wondering if anybody knew if this was going to be changed back to
> the original behavior.
> I've searched the bug/enhancements but don't see anything on it.
>
it already was.
-kdf

wr420
2005-08-31, 08:17
I've upgraded to the 8-30 nightly of 6.1.2 and it still seems to behave
the same. Same= If I'm in the middle of a song and power off, then
power on the song starts at the beginning again instead of from where I
left off.

I've tried unplugging and replugging squeeze box, forcing firmware
upgrade, power cycling, checked for new settings that control this
behavior, deleted pref file and cache dir ect.. and still the same
behavior. Was it fixed in the 6.1.2? or 6.2? Is there a special
procedure to start it playing from where it left off as opposed to
starting from the beginning?


Thanks
matt

>
> > Hi
> > I was wondering if anybody knew if this was going to be changed back
to
> > the original behavior.
> > I've searched the bug/enhancements but don't see anything on it.
> >
> it already was.
> -kdf
>

kdf
2005-08-31, 10:34
Quoting Matt Alioto <malioto (AT) acpac (DOT) com>:

> I've upgraded to the 8-30 nightly of 6.1.2 and it still seems to behave
> the same. Same= If I'm in the middle of a song and power off, then
> power on the song starts at the beginning again instead of from where I
> left off.
>
I didn't remember making the original change to 6.1, so I didn't merge the
reversion (I can merge it later tonight). 6.2 should be back to old behaviour
as of Aug 22 build.

-kdf

Daryle Tilroe
2005-08-31, 22:02
kdf wrote:

>
> On 30-Aug-05, at 8:05 AM, Matt Alioto wrote:
>
>> Hi
>> I was wondering if anybody knew if this was going to be changed back to
>> the original behavior.
>> I've searched the bug/enhancements but don't see anything on it.
>>
> it already was.
> -kdf

So is it an option now? I preferred the new behaviour! IMHO
it is much more what you would expect. Has it at least been
confirmed that the old behaviour was not what caused things like
this bug?:

http://bugs.slimdevices.com/show_bug.cgi?id=419

I'm assuming the 'old' behaviour leaves streaming and transcoding
activities on the server in the same suspended state as a pause event.

--
Daryle A. Tilroe

kdf
2005-08-31, 22:36
On 31-Aug-05, at 10:02 PM, Daryle A. Tilroe wrote:

> kdf wrote:
>
>> On 30-Aug-05, at 8:05 AM, Matt Alioto wrote:
>>> Hi
>>> I was wondering if anybody knew if this was going to be changed back
>>> to
>>> the original behavior.
>>> I've searched the bug/enhancements but don't see anything on it.
>>>
>> it already was.
>> -kdf
>
> So is it an option now? I preferred the new behaviour!

>
you know, there was just so much yelling..
I really have nothing more to say on this one. sorry
-kdf

dean
2005-09-01, 07:45
We can make it an option. Patches welcome.


On Aug 31, 2005, at 10:02 PM, Daryle A. Tilroe wrote:

> kdf wrote:
>
>
>> On 30-Aug-05, at 8:05 AM, Matt Alioto wrote:
>>
>>> Hi
>>> I was wondering if anybody knew if this was going to be changed
>>> back to
>>> the original behavior.
>>> I've searched the bug/enhancements but don't see anything on it.
>>>
>>>
>> it already was.
>> -kdf
>>
>
> So is it an option now? I preferred the new behaviour! IMHO
> it is much more what you would expect. Has it at least been
> confirmed that the old behaviour was not what caused things like
> this bug?:
>
> http://bugs.slimdevices.com/show_bug.cgi?id=419
>
> I'm assuming the 'old' behaviour leaves streaming and transcoding
> activities on the server in the same suspended state as a pause event.
>
> --
> Daryle A. Tilroe
>

Triode
2005-09-01, 10:49
> We can make it an option. Patches welcome.
>
>

As per my previous posts I believe this should be an option... I'll have a go at it - put the bug down to me...

Now the hard bit - agreeing what the option should cover. I think it should be (slight refinement to my previous post on the
matter):

Power Off / Resume mode:
1) Pause/Resume: Power off = pause, power on = unpause - continue playing same track at point paused.
2) Pause: Power off = pause, power on = no action - i.e. the current behaviour
3) Stop: Power off = stop, power on = no action, pressing play will restart the track being played when turned off at the start
4) Stop/Reset Playlist: Power off = stop + reset current song to start of playlist, power on = no action. [emulating a CD player]

For remote urls (streaming radio stations), it should be either 3 or 4 as we don't want to stream when the user thinks the player is
off.

Any advance?

Adrian

dean
2005-09-01, 11:00
Sounds good to me. Remote URLs should always stop at power off and
then reconnect for the 2nd and 4th options below.

How's this for text on the option:

------------------------------------------------------------------------
------------
Power On Resume

You can choose what your player should do if you press the POWER
button when it's playing.

[ Pause at power off / Remain paused at power on ]
[ Pause at power off / Resume at power on ]
[ Stop at power off / Restart song at power on ]
[ Stop at power off / Remain stopped at power on ]
[ Stop at power off / Restart playlist at power on ]




On Sep 1, 2005, at 10:49 AM, Triode wrote:

>> We can make it an option. Patches welcome.
>>
>>
>>
>
> As per my previous posts I believe this should be an option...
> I'll have a go at it - put the bug down to me...
>
> Now the hard bit - agreeing what the option should cover. I think
> it should be (slight refinement to my previous post on the matter):
>
> Power Off / Resume mode:
> 1) Pause/Resume: Power off = pause, power on = unpause - continue
> playing same track at point paused.
> 2) Pause: Power off = pause, power on = no action - i.e. the
> current behaviour
> 3) Stop: Power off = stop, power on = no action, pressing play will
> restart the track being played when turned off at the start
> 4) Stop/Reset Playlist: Power off = stop + reset current song to
> start of playlist, power on = no action. [emulating a CD player]
>
> For remote urls (streaming radio stations), it should be either 3
> or 4 as we don't want to stream when the user thinks the player is
> off.
>
> Any advance?
>
> Adrian
>

Triode
2005-09-01, 12:31
Before I put it in the wrong place - is this a per player (if so which screen?) or server behaviour setting?

> Sounds good to me. Remote URLs should always stop at power off and
> then reconnect for the 2nd and 4th options below.
>
> How's this for text on the option:
>
> ------------------------------------------------------------------------
> ------------
> Power On Resume
>
> You can choose what your player should do if you press the POWER
> button when it's playing.
>
> [ Pause at power off / Remain paused at power on ]
> [ Pause at power off / Resume at power on ]
> [ Stop at power off / Restart song at power on ]
> [ Stop at power off / Remain stopped at power on ]
> [ Stop at power off / Restart playlist at power on ]

dean
2005-09-01, 14:44
Yes, this is a per-player setting.

Probably should go in Player Settings -> Audio


On Sep 1, 2005, at 12:31 PM, Triode wrote:

> Before I put it in the wrong place - is this a per player (if so
> which screen?) or server behaviour setting?
>
>
>> Sounds good to me. Remote URLs should always stop at power off
>> and then reconnect for the 2nd and 4th options below.
>> How's this for text on the option:
>> ---------------------------------------------------------------------
>> --- ------------
>> Power On Resume
>> You can choose what your player should do if you press the POWER
>> button when it's playing.
>> [ Pause at power off / Remain paused at power on ]
>> [ Pause at power off / Resume at power on ]
>> [ Stop at power off / Restart song at power on ]
>> [ Stop at power off / Remain stopped at power on ]
>> [ Stop at power off / Restart playlist at power on ]
>>
>
>

mherger
2005-09-01, 21:14
> Power Off / Resume mode:
> 1) Pause/Resume: Power off = pause, power on = unpause - continue
> playing same track at point paused.

Hey, will this finally be the user interface to the autoPlay setting?!?
Wow! Great news! I already thought I'd write a plugin for it :-)

--

Michael

-----------------------------------------------------------
Help translate SlimServer by using the
StringEditor Plugin (http://www.herger.net/slim/)

kdf
2005-09-01, 21:36
On 1-Sep-05, at 9:14 PM, Michael Herger wrote:

>> Power Off / Resume mode:
>> 1) Pause/Resume: Power off = pause, power on = unpause - continue
>> playing same track at point paused.
>
> Hey, will this finally be the user interface to the autoPlay
> setting?!? Wow! Great news! I already thought I'd write a plugin for
> it :-)
>
or, they could be considered entirely different, since autoplay is on
connect (power up) as opposed to simply the use of the big red button
:)

-kdf

Triode
2005-09-10, 05:42
I've just added the ability to specify how this works on a per player basis to the latest 6.2 - [should be available in subversion
now and the next nightly built]

Please try it out to see if it works for you - the option is on the player settings - audio web page.

Adrian