PDA

View Full Version : hardware failure?



arjengerstel
2005-08-25, 15:35
Hi,

My SB2 seems to have a hardware problem (correct me if I'm wrong).

It has been working fine for a few weeks, but now the display has gone blank. Power cycling doesn't help. I can still hear music if I play files using the web interface, but the volume is very low. It responds to the remote, but the volume never gets loud enough for normal listening. The SB2 does respond to pings.

Is there anything I can do to get it working again?

Regards,

Arjen Gerstel
Utrecht
The Netherlands

kdf
2005-08-25, 15:57
Quoting arjengerstel <arjengerstel.1ucdcn (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com>:

>
> Hi,
>
> My SB2 seems to have a hardware problem (correct me if I'm wrong).
>
> It has been working fine for a few weeks, but now the display has gone
> blank. Power cycling doesn't help.

Have you pressed the brightness button a few times?

> I can still hear music if I play
> files using the web interface, but the volume is very low. It responds
> to the remote, but the volume never gets loud enough for normal
> listening.

Are you using digital or analogue outputs?

Can you try stopping the service, finding your slimserver.pref file and moving
that somewhere else. Then restart the service.

Failing that, or any other suggestions that might come along here. You'll want
to contact support (AT) slimdevices (DOT) com for an RMA, or your local dealer.

-kdf--
NOT a Slim Devices employee

arjengerstel
2005-08-25, 16:12
Hi kdf,

At the moment the SB2 is disconnected from the network and i've tried resetting to factory defaults. I'm assuming that would include brightness settings, right?

Extra info:
The optical connector does light up when power is connected.
The power supply seems ok (outputs 5V approx).

I'm using analog outputs.

I hope I won't have to send the unit back, that would be a real pain. My CD's are already in storage....

Arjen

seanadams
2005-08-25, 16:36
This sounds like a failure of the display. Please contact support@slimdevices.com. If you're comfortable opening the unit then we can just cross-ship the display to you and you won't have any down time.

arjengerstel
2005-08-26, 00:14
Sean,

I'm OK with opening electronic equipment and replacing parts. Does my reseller provide a replacement or does Slimdevices do that directly. I'm in the Netherlands, Europe.

Regards,
Arjen Gerstel

seanadams
2005-08-26, 06:26
You need to contact the reseller.

arjengerstel
2005-08-26, 06:56
Thanks. They have already agreed to replace the unit. I'll be sending it in today. I hope the replacement gets here quickly.

Arjen