PDA

View Full Version : Cost

bjackson
2005-08-19, 10:40
I have a question about the cost of the device, as I am extremely interested in purchasing one. Will the price of this device ever drop or will it remain constant throughout its entire production run?

I ask this because I am a poor college student that needs to save every penny (think JM Lab tastes on a Pioneer budget) :). I do realize that it is a wonderful value, especially considering the quality of the internal components, which are not found on any device at this price.

Also, is there anywhere online where this can be purchased less expensively? I think no, for it seems that the price is fixed, but I can hope. Also any chance of refurbs?

kdf
2005-08-19, 10:54
Quoting bjackson <bjackson.1u0voz (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com>:

>
> I have a question about the cost of the device, as I am extremely
> interested in purchasing one. Will the price of this device ever drop
> or will it remain constant throughout its entire production run?

If you've looked at the web site, you'll notice that prices have already been
recently marked down.

> Also, is there anywhere online where this can be purchased less
> expensively? I think no, for it seems that the price is fixed, but I
> can hope. Also any chance of refurbs?

I have seen no indication of price fixing anywhere. Retail outlets set their own
prices based on the markup they want.

There were some original squeezebox refurbs available a while ago. Odds are
that SB2 will also follow that path in the future should newer hardware come
along.

-kdf
--
NOT a Slim Devices employee

medtech
2005-08-19, 12:16
Hi bjackson,