PDA

View Full Version : Do I need a Squeezebox brfore trying SlimServer?



808htfan
2005-08-12, 20:26
Can I try out SlimServer before buying a Squeezebox?

Thanks!

dean
2005-08-12, 20:52
Yes!

Download our latest official release here: <http://
www.slimdevices.com/su_downloads.html>

Once you've got it running, click on the SoftSqueeze link on the
SlimServer web interface to launch SoftSqueeze, a software simulator
of Squeezebox.

All the best,

dean

808htfan
2005-08-12, 21:09
Thanks again Dean!

dermo99
2005-08-13, 09:44
Took advice to try SlimServer before buying. Downloaded and installed ok. When started, see it launch an icon in the system tray - but it seems to stay in "SlimServer Starting" mode and never get a web interface or such?

dean
2005-08-13, 10:01
On Aug 13, 2005, at 9:44 AM, dermo99 wrote:
> Took advice to try SlimServer before buying. Downloaded and installed
> ok. When started, see it launch an icon in the system tray - but it
> seems to stay in "SlimServer Starting" mode and never get a web
> interface or such?
This is often due to firewall/virus/spyware software preventing
connections to SlimServer or preventing it from running.

What flavors of this software do you have installed? Have you tried
restarting your machine?

dermo99
2005-08-13, 11:22
Thanks a lot for coming back ... I was just logging in to report that I uninstalled it first and then reinstalled, now can access the web interface ok.
Order now placed for a SB2!!