PDA

View Full Version : Two Laptops on Squeezebox2

essbee1964
2005-08-12, 14:45
Hi All,
Took delivery today and got it up and running brilliantly on my laptop.
In order to keep the girlfriend quiet she wants to install Slimserver on her laptop too so she can use the Squeezebox when I'm not using it on my laptop.
I have installed Slimserver on both laptops but can only open and play music on mine. When I attempt to open Slimserver on hers it says it cannot connect to the localhost:900 site (after making sure my Slimserver is closed).
Am I being thick, is there a way to do this or is it not an option (will she have to transfer her music to my laptop)?

One further point, the Squeezebox 'sees' that there is both mine and her laptop on the wireless network but only connects to mine.

Can anybody help?

complete newbie
Shaun

dean
2005-08-12, 18:45
I'd bet it's an issue with some firewall software on her laptop.

On Aug 12, 2005, at 2:45 PM, essbee1964 wrote:

>
> Hi All,
> Took delivery today and got it up and running brilliantly on my
> laptop.
> In order to keep the girlfriend quiet she wants to install Slimserver
> on her laptop too so she can use the Squeezebox when I'm not using it
> on my laptop.
> I have installed Slimserver on both laptops but can only open and play
> music on mine. When I attempt to open Slimserver on hers it says it
> cannot connect to the localhost:900 site (after making sure my
> Slimserver is closed).
> Am I being thick, is there a way to do this or is it not an option
> (will she have to transfer her music to my laptop)?
>
> One further point, the Squeezebox 'sees' that there is both mine and
> her laptop on the wireless network but only connects to mine.
>
> Can anybody help?
>
> complete newbie
> Shaun
>
>
> --
> essbee1964
>

mherger
2005-08-13, 12:36
> Slimserver is closed).

localhost is always the machine your sitting at. If you try to access your
girlfriend's computer from your machine, you'd have to use her machine's