PDA

View Full Version : High bitrate stream plays in Softsqueeze, not SB2



GreenMan
2005-08-12, 10:04
I poked around on the Shoutcast site to find as high a bitrate radio station as I could (I simply sorted the bitrate column on the Shoutcast home page). There are a few that are 320, so I picked one of those.

If I add this station to my Slim Server, it plays fine on Softsqeeze, but on my SB2, the sound is choppy and the player starts to seize up. This looks to me like a network issue, but I can't be sure. My player is connected by cat5 wire directly to my Linksys wireless-b router. Could someone else try this to confirm the issue. I'm ready to hear if anyone thinks it might NOT be a network problem. If it is network related, I wonder what I could do to fix it?

dean
2005-08-12, 10:21
can you post the URL to that station?

On Aug 12, 2005, at 10:04 AM, GreenMan wrote:
> I poked around on the Shoutcast site to find as high a bitrate radio
> station as I could (I simply sorted the bitrate column on the
> Shoutcast
> home page). There are a few that are 320, so I picked one of those.
>
> If I add this station to my Slim Server, it plays fine on Softsqeeze,
> but on my SB2, the sound is choppy and the player starts to seize up.
> This looks to me like a network issue, but I can't be sure. My player
> is connected by cat5 wire directly to my Linksys wireless-b router.
> Could someone else try this to confirm the issue. I'm ready to hear if
> anyone thinks it might NOT be a network problem. If it is network
> related, I wonder what I could do to fix it?
>
>
> --
> GreenMan

GreenMan
2005-08-13, 16:09
Try this one:

http://www.shoutcast.com/sbin/shoutcast-playlist.pls?rn=598298&file=filename.pls


can you post the URL to that station?

On Aug 12, 2005, at 10:04 AM, GreenMan wrote:
> I poked around on the Shoutcast site to find as high a bitrate radio
> station as I could (I simply sorted the bitrate column on the
> Shoutcast
> home page). There are a few that are 320, so I picked one of those.
>
> If I add this station to my Slim Server, it plays fine on Softsqeeze,
> but on my SB2, the sound is choppy and the player starts to seize up.
> This looks to me like a network issue, but I can't be sure. My player
> is connected by cat5 wire directly to my Linksys wireless-b router.
> Could someone else try this to confirm the issue. I'm ready to hear if
> anyone thinks it might NOT be a network problem. If it is network
> related, I wonder what I could do to fix it?
>
>
> --
> GreenMan

dean
2005-08-15, 11:30
I've confirmed this and have filed bug 1979.

Thanks for the report.

-dean

On Aug 13, 2005, at 4:09 PM, GreenMan wrote:

>
> Try this one:
>
> http://www.shoutcast.com/sbin/shoutcast-playlist.pls?
> rn=598298&file=filename.pls
>

GreenMan
2005-08-22, 13:52
Many thanks for the independent confirmation. I'll check out the defect report.



I've confirmed this and have filed bug 1979.

Thanks for the report.

-dean

On Aug 13, 2005, at 4:09 PM, GreenMan wrote:

>
> Try this one:
>
> http://www.shoutcast.com/sbin/shoutcast-playlist.pls?
> rn=598298&file=filename.pls
>