PDA

View Full Version : Re-scan problems



spieler
2005-08-03, 04:39
Since I upgraded to slimserver 6.1.1 I have problems with scanning on both re-scan and clear library and re-scan. I have only 500 albums and about 5300 tracks but it takes at least 45 - 60 mins to scan compared with around 15-20 on earlier versions.

My squeezebox is hard-wired to the router and never loses contact with the slimserver in normal use. However when scanning it constantly loses contact and it is impossible to scan and play at the same time. Even when not playing it still loses contact constantly.

When I look in task manager slimserver cycles rapidly between 60% and 97% CPU usage when playing and scanning and 60 and 85% when just scanning. I have tried disabling the plugins I added in case it made a difference but it doesn't.

It is a basic Dell windows box with a Celeron 2.6 processor and 256mb Ram. Any ideas? Can anyone help me set up debugging so I can provide more info?

Cheers
Paul

CouchPotatoe
2005-08-04, 07:56
I have just downloaded 6.2 nightly. Followed advice to do a library wipe
/ rescan and two things happened.

1) Rescan took nearly 30 hours and during that time all players were
stalled, web app unusable, in fact hard to even tell it was doing
anything, took over 10 mins to get into the player library info screen
to see if it was scanning. CPU usage on the PC was very low though -
<10%. Previous scan time 8 hours or so.

2) My library has reduced from 100K to 70K tracks - I know I had a very
badly managed library with duplicates around but not that many ! Any
thoughts ?? I think there are some u/c l/c corrections are there ?

Only other significant thing is that I am running as an XP service now
whereas before it was the app. Music is all on shares. Service is
running under the same user that app previously was run from. XP 4GB
3.4Ghz

Kevin

spieler wrote:

>Since I upgraded to slimserver 6.1.1 I have problems with scanning on
>both re-scan and clear library and re-scan. I have only 500 albums and
>about 5300 tracks but it takes at least 45 - 60 mins to scan compared
>with around 15-20 on earlier versions.
>
>My squeezebox is hard-wired to the router and never loses contact with
>the slimserver in normal use. However when scanning it constantly loses
>contact and it is impossible to scan and play at the same time. Even
>when not playing it still loses contact constantly.
>
>When I look in task manager slimserver cycles rapidly between 60% and
>97% CPU usage when playing and scanning and 60 and 85% when just
>scanning. I have tried disabling the plugins I added in case it made a
>difference but it doesn't.
>
>It is a basic Dell windows box with a Celeron 2.6 processor and 256mb
>Ram. Any ideas? Can anyone help me set up debugging so I can provide
>more info?
>
>Cheers
>Paul
>
>
>
>

kdf
2005-08-04, 09:29
Quoting Kevin Hawkins <lists (AT) ukusa (DOT) demon.co.uk>:

> I have just downloaded 6.2 nightly. Followed advice to do a library wipe
> / rescan and two things happened.
>
> 1) Rescan took nearly 30 hours and during that time all players were
> stalled, web app unusable, in fact hard to even tell it was doing
> anything, took over 10 mins to get into the player library info screen
> to see if it was scanning. CPU usage on the PC was very low though -
> <10%. Previous scan time 8 hours or so.

I see the same thing. Scans are now taking several seconds per track, no matter
which importers are used.

-kdf

CouchPotatoe
2005-08-06, 04:53
kdf wrote:

>Quoting Kevin Hawkins <lists (AT) ukusa (DOT) demon.co.uk>:
>
>
>
>>I have just downloaded 6.2 nightly. Followed advice to do a library wipe
>>/ rescan and two things happened.
>>
>>1) Rescan took nearly 30 hours and during that time all players were
>>stalled, web app unusable, in fact hard to even tell it was doing
>>anything, took over 10 mins to get into the player library info screen
>>to see if it was scanning. CPU usage on the PC was very low though -
>><10%. Previous scan time 8 hours or so.
>>
>>
>
>I see the same thing. Scans are now taking several seconds per track, no matter
>which importers are used.
>
>-kdf
>

CouchPotatoe
2005-08-06, 07:04
Kevin Hawkins wrote:

> kdf wrote:
>
>> Quoting Kevin Hawkins <lists (AT) ukusa (DOT) demon.co.uk>:
>>
>>
>>
>>> I have just downloaded 6.2 nightly. Followed advice to do a library
>>> wipe
>>> / rescan and two things happened.
>>>
>>> 1) Rescan took nearly 30 hours and during that time all players were
>>> stalled, web app unusable, in fact hard to even tell it was doing
>>> anything, took over 10 mins to get into the player library info screen
>>> to see if it was scanning. CPU usage on the PC was very low though -
>>> <10%. Previous scan time 8 hours or so.
>>>
>>
>>
>> I see the same thing. Scans are now taking several seconds per
>> track, no matter
>> which importers are used.
>>
>> -kdf
>>