PDA

View Full Version : Player stopping rather than pausing when switched off



Robin Cooksey
2005-07-31, 09:05
In 6.1.1, players seem to stop rather than pause when switched off.
I.e. when switched back on they say "Stopped", rather than "Paused",
and they have reverted back to the start of the track; rather than
starting at the same position in the track when play is pressed.

I observe this on all players (all of Slimp3, Squeezebox, Squeezebox2
and Softsqueeze), and I've checked with the server running on Linux,
as well as a clean Windows install. Tracks are MP3s in all cases.

Is this an intentional change in behaviour? Is there any way to get
the previous behaviour back (with an option, if this was an
intentional change)?

Cheers,
Robin

dean
2005-07-31, 20:19
This was an intentional change, in part to fix a bug where the volume
levels got messed up if you paused, but mostly because it seemed more
consistent with the behavior of other consumer electronics devices.

It sounds like this was a behavior that you were counting on. Can
you describe how you use it so we can fix it in the best possible way?

On Jul 31, 2005, at 9:05 AM, Robin Cooksey wrote:

> In 6.1.1, players seem to stop rather than pause when switched off.
> I.e. when switched back on they say "Stopped", rather than "Paused",
> and they have reverted back to the start of the track; rather than
> starting at the same position in the track when play is pressed.
>
> I observe this on all players (all of Slimp3, Squeezebox, Squeezebox2
> and Softsqueeze), and I've checked with the server running on Linux,
> as well as a clean Windows install. Tracks are MP3s in all cases.
>
> Is this an intentional change in behaviour? Is there any way to get
> the previous behaviour back (with an option, if this was an
> intentional change)?
>
> Cheers,
> Robin
>

Robin Cooksey
2005-07-31, 23:50
Thanks for the quick reply.

It's not critical, but I'd got used to the behaviour, and I still
think it's what I prefer. My usage is simply that I stop players
(e.g. when I leave the room) by turning them off (so they show the
clock), and when I start it again I like the music to pick up from
where it stopped.

This also happens to be how the other devices that I listen to music
on behave - iPod and in-car mini-disc.

I guess I could achieve a similar effect by using pause rather than
switching it off, and using an idle screensaver to show the clock; but
I think switching it off is cleaner and more intuitive.

How about an option to keep position within track when switched off?
What do others think about this behaviour?

Cheers,
Robin

On 8/1/05, dean blackketter <dean (AT) slimdevices (DOT) com> wrote:
> This was an intentional change, in part to fix a bug where the volume
> levels got messed up if you paused, but mostly because it seemed more
> consistent with the behavior of other consumer electronics devices.
>
> It sounds like this was a behavior that you were counting on. Can
> you describe how you use it so we can fix it in the best possible way?
>
> On Jul 31, 2005, at 9:05 AM, Robin Cooksey wrote:
>
> > In 6.1.1, players seem to stop rather than pause when switched off.
> > I.e. when switched back on they say "Stopped", rather than "Paused",
> > and they have reverted back to the start of the track; rather than
> > starting at the same position in the track when play is pressed.
> >
> > I observe this on all players (all of Slimp3, Squeezebox, Squeezebox2
> > and Softsqueeze), and I've checked with the server running on Linux,
> > as well as a clean Windows install. Tracks are MP3s in all cases.
> >
> > Is this an intentional change in behaviour? Is there any way to get
> > the previous behaviour back (with an option, if this was an
> > intentional change)?

max.spicer
2005-08-01, 05:03
I too definitely preferred the old behaviour. The new behaviour has now caught me out several times, but each time I assumed that it was just something I'd done - I hadn't realised a change had been made. I quite often use the off button to effectively pause the machine, but I also want the display off. My brightness at poweroff is set to zero, so I use(d) pause as pauseMusic/displayOn and off as pauseMusic/displayOff. I can't see why you'd want to lose your position in the music when you turn the device off. If you're going to remember the current track, you might as well also remember the position - think a tape player! If people want the start of the track, they can easily press the rewind button once.

Max

Aylwin
2005-08-01, 06:27
Personally, I don't mind much either way. Although I probably have a slight preference towards stopping rather than pausing when the power is switched off. On the other hand, it's easier to restart a track manually than to find your last position within that track.

Jeff Coffler
2005-08-01, 07:56
>How about an option to keep position within track when switched off?
>What do others think about this behaviour?

I prefer the new behavior (stopping rather than pausing when switching off).

This is also (moderately) lighter on server resources; if you switch off the
player while paused for a period of time, then the decoder that's running on
the server continues to run (in a blocked state).

By stopping the player, the decoder goes away, and fewer processes (and
buffers) are used on the server.

But, that said: While this mildly "irked" me, it was never significant
enough to complain about, so it's certainly not a biggie. I just learned to
work around it.

-- Jeff

ceejay
2005-08-01, 08:07
I'm with Max on this one - I prefer the "old" behaviour, the change has thrown me a couple of times now. And, as Aylwin pointed out, its much easier with the "old" behaviour to revert to the start of the track that it is to find your pause point with the "new".

Perhaps its time for a poll. Or yet another option on the player settings.

Ceejay.

MeSue
2005-08-01, 08:39
I barely had my SB long enough to get used to the old way, but I would prefer that the player keep its position within track when switched off. This is more consistent with the CD player in my car and other MP3 players. With the new way, if you turn the player off whenever you leave a room, you might end up hearing the same beginning of a song over and overů that's annoying.

Dan Goodinson
2005-08-01, 08:58
FWIW, I'd second this.

While it doesn't happen nearly as often as it used to, my SB still gets
hit by a bit of interference now and then. It full-on reboots (splash
screen, connecting to network etc) and then start from the beginning of
the track again. It occasionally goes through a bad patch and happens 4
or 5 times in the space of an hour or so (I reckon one of the neighbours
uses a cordless phone or something).

So starting from where it left off would also be great for this problem,
too. It sometimes gets a bit frustrating to hear the start of the same
song several time in a row...

Dan.

-----Original Message-----
From: discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
[mailto:discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com] On Behalf Of MeSue
Sent: 01 August 2005 16:39
To: discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
Subject: [slim] Re: Player stopping rather than pausing when switched
off



I barely had my SB long enough to get used to the old way, but I would
prefer that the player keep its position within track when switched off.
This is more consistent with the CD player in my car and other MP3
players. With the new way, if you turn the player off whenever you leave
a room, you might end up hearing the same beginning of a song over and
over... that's annoying.


--
MeSue

Sue

Triode
2005-08-01, 10:27
For what its worth my Rio Karma has options for "Resume" which I think are applicable here and perhaps we could consider offering:

Essentially:
1) Resume at start of current playlist [as if someone presses stop on a CD player]
2) Resume at current song in playlist - at start
3) Resume at current song in playlist - at current position [= pause]

Adrian

Daryle Tilroe
2005-08-02, 16:37
dean blackketter wrote:

> This was an intentional change, in part to fix a bug where the volume
> levels got messed up if you paused, but mostly because it seemed more
> consistent with the behavior of other consumer electronics devices.
>
> It sounds like this was a behavior that you were counting on. Can you
> describe how you use it so we can fix it in the best possible way?
>
> On Jul 31, 2005, at 9:05 AM, Robin Cooksey wrote:
>
>> In 6.1.1, players seem to stop rather than pause when switched off.
>> I.e. when switched back on they say "Stopped", rather than "Paused",
>> and they have reverted back to the start of the track; rather than
>> starting at the same position in the track when play is pressed.

I sort of thought this might have been done to help fix this bug from a
while back:

http://bugs.slimdevices.com/show_bug.cgi?id=419

I have not really tested the current version though; since I am tending
to leave the SB on all the time these days.

IMHO having the track stop when the device is turned off (hard or soft)
is the most logical behaviour. If you want to pause it, then pause it,
and turn the brightness down if you wish.

--
Daryle A. Tilroe

Philip Meyer
2005-08-02, 16:44
>How about an option to keep position within track when switched off?
>What do others think about this behaviour?
>
I would prefer to revert back to the previous behaviour too. I frequently play long tracks, eg. podcasts where there's one track composed internally of many songs, so having to fast-forward back to the last "song" within the "track" is a bit irritating.

In terms of server load, it's probably possible to change the way that the decoder is invoked, so that it isn't left idle/blocked. There is a bookmark plugin that remembers positions in tracks, such that play can resume from the bookmarked position - SlimServer could do a similar thing to resume from the last playlist/track position.

Phil

wr420
2005-08-02, 16:45
I too would like it to remember track position between power cycles.

Matt ...

>
> >How about an option to keep position within track when switched off?
> >What do others think about this behaviour?
> >
> I would prefer to revert back to the previous behaviour too. I
frequently
> play long tracks, eg. podcasts where there's one track composed
internally
> of many songs, so having to fast-forward back to the last "song"
within
> the "track" is a bit irritating.
>
> In terms of server load, it's probably possible to change the way that
the
> decoder is invoked, so that it isn't left idle/blocked. There is a
> bookmark plugin that remembers positions in tracks, such that play can
> resume from the bookmarked position - SlimServer could do a similar
thing
> to resume from the last playlist/track position.
>
> Phil
>
>

rds
2005-08-02, 17:59
I too definitely prefer the previous behavior. I often hit Power to get my clock display and then resume with Play. This sounds like one of those behaviors that should be a configurable option.

Daryle Tilroe
2005-08-02, 18:29
rds wrote:
> I too definitely prefer the previous behavior. I often hit Power to get
> my clock display and then resume with Play. This sounds like one of
> those behaviors that should be a configurable option.

That's a little roundabout. Why not just put this in a "custom.map"
file:

> [common]
> now_playing = dead
> now_playing.single = playdisp_toggle
> now_playing.hold = datetime

and then just hold down 'Now Playing' to get the time?



--
Daryle A. Tilroe

Aylwin
2005-08-03, 01:55
Earlier, I said I don't mind either way. I've changed my mind. Now that I've thought about it, I'd like the SB2 to pause when the power is switched off. BUT, only if it starts playing again automatically when the power is turned on again. To me, if I press the power off in middle of whatever the SB2 was doing, it would be nice if it reverts to the original state once the power is switched on again. This will allow single button (press once) operation on the remote control which even my 2-year old can handle.