PDA

View Full Version : sometimes slow response from squeezebox



maxman
2005-07-28, 02:56
Hi,

I'm running 6.1 on a win2003 machine with musicmagic plugin working. I have slimserver check my library every night. Now what I experience is that SOMETIMES the squeezebox 2 responds slow to remote control commands. It buffers the commands so they do get carried out eventually which makes operating the device very annoying.. press.... wait. Especially when holding a button to eg tune down volume this is annoying.

Does anyone have this issue as well? and what can it be, and how can it be resolved?

MeSue
2005-07-28, 10:43
I've experienced this occasionally too. WinXP, SlimServer 6.1.1, with MusicMagic plugin, wireless SB2.

maxman
2005-07-28, 11:46
ah... forgot to mention there: I'm wired... it does not seem to be a networking issue. More like the device itself is busy with 'something', it even happens powering on and off now and then

Ben Sandee
2005-07-28, 12:02
On 7/28/05, maxman <maxman.1svjhz (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com> wrote:
>
> Hi,
>
> I'm running 6.1 on a win2003 machine with musicmagic plugin working. I
> have slimserver check my library every night. Now what I experience is
> that SOMETIMES the squeezebox 2 responds slow to remote control
> commands. It buffers the commands so they do get carried out eventually
> which makes operating the device very annoying.. press.... wait.
> Especially when holding a button to eg tune down volume this is
> annoying.
>
> Does anyone have this issue as well? and what can it be, and how can it
> be resolved?

In my experience this is usually caused by load on the server -- it's
not really a squeezebox hardware issue because the hardware is just a
dumb terminal.

Check to see what the load on your win2k3 machine is -- maybe
musicmatch is scanning the library at the time or maybe slimserver is
particularly busy with something. If the load is low and the device
is still sluggish it could be something else -- maybe a bad network
cable and you're getting high packet loss?

Ben

wr420
2005-07-28, 12:22
> >
> > I'm running 6.1 on a win2003 machine with musicmagic plugin working.
I
> > have slimserver check my library every night. Now what I experience
is
> > that SOMETIMES the squeezebox 2 responds slow to remote control
> > commands. It buffers the commands so they do get carried out
eventually
> > which makes operating the device very annoying.. press.... wait.
> > Especially when holding a button to eg tune down volume this is
> > annoying.
> >
> > Does anyone have this issue as well? and what can it be, and how can
it
> > be resolved?
>

I have this problem from time to time. In my case it is caused after a
slim upgrade or copying new music to Slimserver in combination with
scheduled rescans. Sometimes a new version will handle scanning a bit
differently and it will go into a scanning loop or some new music will
cause it to go into a loop. Wacky tags are usually the root cause or
m3u files with the same name of a song in the directory. Both cases
result in the scanning continuing into the next day ect.. and a slow to
respond SB.
Try turning on some debugging and check the log files.
Matt

The information contained in this e-mail is strictly confidential and for the
intended use of the addressee only; it may also be legally privileged and/or
price sensitive. Notice is hereby given that any disclosure, use or copying
of the information by anyone other than the intended recipient is prohibited
and may be illegal. If you have received this message in error, please
notify the sender immediately by return e-mail. All e-mail sent to this
address will be received by Acacia Pacific Holding's e-mail system and is
subjected to archiving and review by someone other than the recipient.

Acacia Pacific Holdings has taken every reasonable precaution to ensure that
any attachment to this e-mail has been swept for viruses. We accept no
liability for any damage sustained as a result of software viruses and
advise you carry out your own virus checks before opening any attachment.

maxman
2005-07-28, 13:12
What I get out of your posts is that the box itself actually is just a terminal ;) I'll keep track on the load of my server to see if I can find the root cause. So would it not be smarter to have the menu browsing handled by the squeezebox itself without needing to contact the server, or am I stating something impossible here?

It would be nice to have immediate responses on the box to simple commands such as menu browsing and volume control. That connection to the server is needed to access music info, of course...

dukeinlondon
2005-07-28, 13:27
I have the problem as well and the server runs on linux and takes hardly 10% of cpu. The network usage is very low (wireless).

Don't know whether that's related but the scrolling is far from smooth actually. I've tried a few settings but that doesn't seem to make much of a difference.

Other than that, great buy, first ever tech purchase for which I get a compliment from my wife !

maxman
2005-07-28, 13:30
hehe...
on the waf... my gf liked the audiotron better as she understood the workings better ;)

kdf
2005-07-28, 13:38
Quoting maxman <maxman.1swbyz (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com>:

>
> What I get out of your posts is that the box itself actually is just a
> terminal ;) I'll keep track on the load of my server to see if I can
> find the root cause. So would it not be smarter to have the menu
> browsing handled by the squeezebox itself without needing to contact
> the server, or am I stating something impossible here?

not impossible, but the design is for a slim device. make sense?

transitions are in the SB2, but to hard code all the menus and remote control
handling would remove all of the flexibility, not to mention filling the
codespace with menu handling instead of as many audio codecs as possible.

-kdf

dean
2005-07-28, 14:27
On Jul 28, 2005, at 1:30 PM, maxman wrote:
> hehe...
> on the waf... my gf liked the audiotron better as she understood the
> workings better ;)
Can you post a little more on this? What did she understand about it
better?

dean
2005-07-28, 14:28
If your machine isn't heavily loaded, scrolling being uneven may be
related to packet loss on your wireless network. Do you think that
this could be the issue?

On Jul 28, 2005, at 1:27 PM, dukeinlondon wrote:

>
> I have the problem as well and the server runs on linux and takes
> hardly
> 10% of cpu. The network usage is very low (wireless).
>
> Don't know whether that's related but the scrolling is far from smooth
> actually. I've tried a few settings but that doesn't seem to make much
> of a difference.
>
> Other than that, great buy, first ever tech purchase for which I get a
> compliment from my wife !
>
>
> --
> dukeinlondon
>

MeSue
2005-07-28, 15:10
I have to laugh at all this WAF stuff. Am I the only female in here? The roles are reversed in this house, at least in regards to gadgets. The only reason hubby didn't give me grief over buying SB2 was because he had just spent almost the same amount of money on knives the same day.

>>In my experience this is usually caused by load on the server<<

I can accept that. My server is my work PC too and it is usually overloaded.

maxman
2005-07-28, 15:39
1.
It's about acceptance of new technology. What is a device like squeezebox used for by her: playing music. Because there's more functionality she is confronted with having to learn 'new' basics of control: eg no-one figures out on his/her own that a button on a remote can have two functions like pause pressed short, stop pressed long. (maybe using combination of the symbols solves that a little) So first reaction: 'where is the stop button? the audiotron had a stop button, every playing device has a stop button'

To appreciate the squeezebox you need to read some stuff (or let it be explained to you or play around with it) on how to interface with the device. Audiotron mimicked traditional audio equipment so acceptance was easy.

2.
No front panel controls on the squeezebox

hope that helps.

makingmark
2005-12-05, 19:29
I get sometimes slow remote response using SqueezeNetwork as well as SlimServer. So (it would seem to me definitely) not a server issue. And it is definitely annoying as the original poster said..adjust the volume no response adjust the volume hoLY COW IT'S LOUD TURN OFF TURN OFF oh wait it's off hey wait now it's back on again but stopped. For example.

Now packet loss as the CTO mentioned. Well, I am using wireless so seems possible...but if that were the case wouldn't I hear it in the form of dropouts?

Cleve
2005-12-12, 12:36
I get sometimes slow remote response using SqueezeNetwork as well as SlimServer. So (it would seem to me definitely) not a server issue. And it is definitely annoying as the original poster said..adjust the volume no response adjust the volume hoLY COW IT'S LOUD TURN OFF TURN OFF oh wait it's off hey wait now it's back on again but stopped. For example.

Now packet loss as the CTO mentioned. Well, I am using wireless so seems possible...but if that were the case wouldn't I hear it in the form of dropouts?


I've experienced this exact same issue myself with SB3. It doesn't happen very often, but my first thought is the remote control batteries are bad or not installed properly.

Sometimes, the lag is as long as 30 seconds before the volume control, et al responds to the initial command0. And then, of course, once the lag ends, Squeezebox automatically "remembers" each and every button I pushed on the remote while trying to trouble shoot - so volume goes down and up like a yo-yo until the "buffer" is satisfied.

And it doesn't matter whether I'm connected to Slimserver, or whether the PC is completely out of the loop (ie, Squeezenetwork). Seems to be a hardware bug of some sort with the player itself.

Cleve
2005-12-12, 20:24
*Bump*

- speak of the devil - tonight experienced the aforementioned dreaded remote "lock up" again - but this one lasted longer than ever - probably at least a minute. Was considering powering off and powering up the unit to reset, but then it finally responded on it's own. Has any bug report been filed on this?

Mark Lanctot
2005-12-12, 20:33
So this was tonight? Were you listening to SqueezeNetwork, by any chance?

Because the same thing happened to me just as I was reading the thread.

I suspect it was a temporary SqueezeNetwork problem. It's working perfectly for me now.

BTW when this happens don't get frustrated like I did and hit the power button repeatedly. ;-)

Cleve
2005-12-12, 20:46
So this was tonight? Were you listening to SqueezeNetwork, by any chance?

Because the same thing happened to me just as I was reading the thread.

I suspect it was a temporary SqueezeNetwork problem. It's working perfectly for me now.

BTW when this happens don't get frustrated like I did and hit the power button repeatedly. ;-)

Yep, I WAS listening to Squeezenetwork. Guess I'm still in the dark as to how the device is "wired" - I wouldn't think a remote network issue would affect internal functions like the volume control.

Michaelwagner
2005-12-12, 21:07
The remote button pushes are sent off to the remote system (either slimserver or squeezenetwork), which then interprets them and acts appropriately.

Only a select few remote button pushes are interpreted directly by the squeezebox hardware. In particular, volume is not one of them.

I don't know if the list of these is anywhere published - I've not found it.

seanadams
2005-12-12, 21:50
The remote button pushes are sent off to the remote system (either slimserver or squeezenetwork), which then interprets them and acts appropriately.

Only a select few remote button pushes are interpreted directly by the squeezebox hardware. In particular, volume is not one of them.

I don't know if the list of these is anywhere published - I've not found it.

The ONLY buttons which are processed locally (aside from the setup menu) are:

- Press and hold power to reset
- Press and hold left to go back to the "choose server" menu