PDA

View Full Version : Is there any software version that will actually work for me?



Justme
2005-07-27, 05:49
I love my squeezebox, but slimserver is simply driving me made. The first version I downloaded hardly worked at all, and although new releases have fixed some of the problems, they always introduce new ones.

I currently have 6.1.1, and I upgraded from the previous version, as I couldn't fast forward or rewind (If I did, it would just begin skipping and jittering endlessly, even if I changed songs. The only way to fix it was to restart my computer). There were plenty of other problems such as slow response time for browsing etc, although this was imporved from the previous version.

Now, how can one live without fastforward or rewind? When friends were around, they would fall in love with the device and decide on the spot to buy one, but changed their minds when they saw all the software flaws (I tried to add a new track I just ripped, and it simply wouldn't see it).

Now with 6.1.1 the fastforward/rewind is better, at least in the fact that I don't have to restart my computer to stop the jittering. It's still a problem as it doesn't actually fast forward through the song, it just jitters when I press the button and then continues playing after, but no further in the song.

Great.

But now my big peave is that the display simply won't see most of the track names. This is driving me mad. All my mp3's have names and the artist. In Slim server I have it set to display "Title (Artist)". This worked in the previous version, but now about 80% of the tracks only show the artist. It makes it impossible to bowse or search, and of cause, on "show playing" it usually just has the artist name in brackets with no song title before that. This has not only annoyed me to endless lengths, but it has discouraged another two friends from buying this device.

Has anyone seen this problem? Or is it just me.

Another problem with this new release is that it is so much slower than the other. Yesterday a friend asked to hear a particular song from Placebo. Great, normally this should be a 10second operation to begin the song, but it took 10minutes for first the "browse artists" to list the artists and a further 5minutes to scroll to the band in question, then of cause with no song titles and three CD's to go through testing each song, we just gave up and put the damn CD in.

I have a win XP PC, not the fastest at 1gig Anthlon, and 1gig RAM, but hey, it works perfectly with hardcore photo editing software and massive audio software, just not slimserver.

Robin Bowes
2005-07-27, 12:45
Simon @ Home wrote:

> I've just ordered a 3.2mghz PC and am hoping this sorts out my problems and
> that Slimserver, for the first time since I have been running it, works as I
> expect it to.

It probably will if you install Linux on it :)

R.

>
> Simon Turner
> Barcombe UK

radish
2005-07-27, 13:02
It probably will if you install Linux on it :)


Amusing, but hardly accurate. I, and many others, run SS on windows with no problems.

As for the specific problems brought up by the poster, I can't say I've seen any of them. I run very similar hardware (Athlon 1.3, 512mb) and browsing is very fast (I have ~9500 tracks, and nearly 4000 artists). FF/REW never works for me because I transcode most stuff on the server (FLAC/Vorbis -> PCM). As for adding new stuff, I always do a rescan if I add more music. That takes a little while (maybe 15 mins) so it's not something I tend to do frequently - just in batches.

Robin Bowes
2005-07-27, 13:08
radish wrote:
>>It probably will if you install Linux on it :)
>>
>
>
> Amusing, but hardly accurate. I, and many others, run SS on windows
> with no problems.

Sorry. Private joke. I used to live near Simon and we met up a couple of
times to get all geeky about music, hifi, and our Squeezeboxes. He'd had
trouble installing linux on an old PC so I offered to help. I seem to
remember it was a 486 with 12MB of RAM, or something!!

I must install Slimserver on a Windows box and see what all the fuss is
about...

R.

Justme
2005-07-27, 14:29
Amusing, but hardly accurate. I, and many others, run SS on windows with no problems.

As for the specific problems brought up by the poster, I can't say I've seen any of them. I run very similar hardware (Athlon 1.3, 512mb) and browsing is very fast (I have ~9500 tracks, and nearly 4000 artists). FF/REW never works for me because I transcode most stuff on the server (FLAC/Vorbis -> PCM). As for adding new stuff, I always do a rescan if I add more music. That takes a little while (maybe 15 mins) so it's not something I tend to do frequently - just in batches.

It's a real pity, maybe I'm the only one with the "title (artist)" problem, where only the artist is displayed on 80% of the tracks. (It also seems random, on some CD's, 8 of the 10 songs have no title now, but 2 seem fine, despite the CD being ripped in one go). I'll try and see if I can find a pattern, but to be honest I would really rather spend my time actually using this device for it's original purpose - listening to music rather than debugging it.

If I bought a TV where some things worked only 20% of the time, it would be a scandle.

kdf
2005-07-27, 15:08
Quoting Justme <Justme.1suks0 (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com>:

> If I bought a TV where some things worked only 20% of the time, it
> would be a scandle.

sure, but feed the tv a bad signal it is hard to fault the tv for a grainy
picture.

slimserver can't possibly correct for everything magically. give a chance at
finding out the cause, then its easier to determine what, if anything, needs to
be fixed in slimserver. Every fix begins with somebody having a problem that
can be reliably reproduced by those who can fix it. Every problem that has been
fixed along the way, including many that you have benefitted from is due to
other users who have helped provide details of the cause. This time, it looks
like it has to be your turn. Pity, yes, but the effort is appreciated.

-kdf

radish
2005-07-27, 21:06
If you can supply one of the files which isn't working for you, I'm sure someone can see if there's anything "unusual" about it.

fuzzyT
2005-07-28, 13:17
Justme wrote:

> If I bought a TV where some things worked only 20% of the time, it
> would be a scandle.

Did you ever do any television viewing in the 1940s?

Interference, vertical hold, tuner drift, having to hold odd poses while
adusting the aerial; all were commonplace.

Until this device underwent significant development it too had
deficiencies and foibles. Despite this, it's value was understood and
appreciated and many were sold despite the cost.

In fact, it's popularity continues to this day.

--rt

Justme
2005-07-28, 13:35
Ok, it seems my TV analogy caused a bit of stir, I appologize for that, but I'm sure you can all see my point of view. By the way, I certainly do appreciate the help from this forum. It always impresses me how so many people are so helpful to others problems. Don't let my frustration seem like I am ungrateful, but I just feel the way anyone would feel after spending 300 on a great device, but one that really doesn't work properly for me.

Anyway, I'm happy to send one of the mp3's to anyone who wishes to look at them, although keep in mind, the previous versions of the software did not have the missing song title problem.

I did think that the problem may be the speed of my computer, it is not terribly fast, however, in normal playback I never actually have problems listening to music itself, the audio streams perfectly even in this latest version.

I have no idea how slimserver works and how it treats differently the audio playback from information.

Anyway, I'm thinking of going back to the previous version. I tried to fastforward (through a song) again today, and the same problem I had before occured, in that the song just begun jittering, and continued even if skip to the nex song or switch off the squeesebox2 and back on again. I had to reboot my PC to resume playback. So there is no advantage to this new slimserver version.

Again, thanks to everyone who has helped!

street_samurai
2005-07-28, 13:54
Can I suggest that you have a look at your ID3 tags in an editor like:

http://www.mp3tag.de/en/

or

http://users.otenet.gr/~jtcliper/tgf/

And ensure that your tags are properly defined. If you downloaded the tracks from P2P theres a good chance that they aren't correct.

Load the whole collection and spend a couple of hours fixing all your tags. It takes some time but it'll be worth it since you won't ever need to worry about it again.

ss.

Justme
2005-07-28, 14:02
Can I suggest that you have a look at your ID3 tags in an editor like:

http://www.mp3tag.de/en/

or

http://users.otenet.gr/~jtcliper/tgf/

And ensure that your tags are properly defined. If you downloaded the tracks from P2P theres a good chance that they aren't correct.

Load the whole collection and spend a couple of hours fixing all your tags. It takes some time but it'll be worth it since you won't ever need to worry about it again.

ss.

I'll check this out. I bought all my CD's and convert to mp3 with iRiver's media Jukebox, this connects to the internet and aquires the tags from there. On the otherhand, I also ripped a few of my CD's at work (faster computer) and there used the latest version of Window's Media Player that also collects the ID3 tags but from a different source.

This is very interesting, and maybe one of the rippers tags don't work with this latest version.

I'll try and investigate this tomorrow, thanks for the idea. You have me thinking now.

oreillymj
2005-07-28, 21:22
Quote
"Now with 6.1.1 the fastforward/rewind is better, at least in the fact that I don't have to restart my computer to stop the jittering. It's still a problem as it doesn't actually fast forward through the song, it just jitters when I press the button and then continues playing after, but no further in the song."

FFWD/REW was broken in the initial 6.1 release. A fix was mentioned in version 6.1.1. I upgraded to the latest 6.1.2 nightly expecting it to be fixed, but it remained broken.
I discovered that the fix was actually in the firmware, but the firmware wasn't revved to reflect a change. So because I already had version 15 of the firmware on my SB2 from the 6.1 release, an auto-update wasn't triggered.
Forcing a firmware update by holding the brightness button for 5 secs fixed FFWD/REW for me.

I suggest that you take just the latest squeezebox2_15.bin and copy it to the firmware dir on your server, then force an upgrade on the player.

Here's the link to the firmware from the latest nightly http://www.slimdevices.com/downloads/nightly/latest/6.1.2/SlimServer_6_1_x_v2005-07-28/Firmware/squeezebox2_15.bin

On a windows box, you would copy it to here...

C:\Program Files\SlimServer\server\Firmware

...assuming that the software is installed in the default location on your C: drive.

Then press the brightness button on your remote to force an update.

Justme
2005-07-29, 13:53
Well, I downloaded the Tag editing program recommended, but after looking at it, my jRiver Media Jukebox does pretty much the same thing.

Anyway, there doesn't seem to be any difference I can see between the ID3tags. When checking two different songs, one that displays both title and artist, and one that only shows the artist, both are filled out in all major fields. There are no unusal characters, no major difference in field lengths, no difference if spaces were used or not.

I just can't see a pattern.

Very unusual.

Steve Bernard, Jr
2005-07-29, 18:55
On 7/29/05, Justme <Justme.1sy8hn (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com> wrote:

> Anyway, there doesn't seem to be any difference I can see between the
> ID3tags. When checking two different songs, one that displays both
> title and artist, and one that only shows the artist, both are filled
> out in all major fields. There are no unusal characters, no major
> difference in field lengths, no difference if spaces were used or not.

Is there a chance that some of these files might have both ID3v1 and
ID3v2 tags at the same time? One tag might be right and the other
might be incomplete. I have run across MP3s of my own that had both
set, and I can easily see by looking at the file properties using
WinAmp.

Anywho, I have no idea what SlimServer does with MP3s that have both
tags, but it probably just looks at one set and ignores the other.

-Steve

jth
2005-07-29, 22:36
Anywho, I have no idea what SlimServer does with MP3s that have both
tags, but it probably just looks at one set and ignores the other.


That's right, it reads id3v2 and ignores v1 if they are both set.