PDA

View Full Version : Cannot Connect unless Slimserver is Online



PoW
2005-07-27, 00:23
I need to observe this a bit more however it seems by sb2 cannot connect to squeezenetwork unless my slimserver is online. Once connected I can power down the slimserver and the sb2 stays connected to squeezenetwork. Kind of odd however, anybody notice anything similar?

slimserver v6.1.1

TIA

dean
2005-07-27, 06:01
That's very strange. Can you describe a little more what you see on
the screen?

On Jul 27, 2005, at 12:23 AM, PoW wrote:

>
> I need to observe this a bit more however it seems by sb2 cannot
> connect
> to squeezenetwork unless my slimserver is online. Once connected I
> can
> power down the slimserver and the sb2 stays connected to
> squeezenetwork. Kind of odd however, anybody notice anything similar?
>
> slimserver v6.1.1
>
> TIA
>
>
> --
> PoW
>

tygar
2005-07-27, 08:59
When the SB2 says "Connecting to SlimServer" try using the up or down arrows to change the display to "Connect to SqueezeNetwork" and proceed from there.

dean
2005-07-27, 14:14
Ah, when it says "Connecting to SlimServer..." up and down shouldn't
do anything except bump.

Press LEFT to go back to the menu, DOWN to choose "Connect to
SqueezeNetwork" and you are on...


On Jul 27, 2005, at 8:59 AM, tygar wrote:

>
> When the SB2 says "Connecting to SlimServer" try using the up or down
> arrows to change the display to "Connect to SqueezeNetwork" and
> proceed
> from there.
>
>
> --
> tygar
>

sbjaerum
2005-07-28, 09:16
Ah, when it says "Connecting to SlimServer..." up and down shouldn't
do anything except bump.

Press LEFT to go back to the menu, DOWN to choose "Connect to
SqueezeNetwork" and you are on...


Is it possible to connect Softsqueeze to SqueezeNetwork without starting SlimServer?

Steinar

Dan Sully
2005-07-28, 13:42
* sbjaerum shaped the electrons to say...

>Is it possible to connect Softsqueeze to SqueezeNetwork without
>starting SlimServer?

Sure! Depending on what OS you are on, but the jist is something like:

(OSX:)

open HTML/EN/html/softsqueeze/SoftSqueeze.jar

Which will launch java and SoftSqueeze. Use the config to point to
service.us.squeezenetwork.com as the server.

-D
--
They're techno trousers, ex-NASA, fantastic for walkies!

sbjaerum
2005-07-28, 14:46
* sbjaerum shaped the electrons to say...

>Is it possible to connect Softsqueeze to SqueezeNetwork without
>starting SlimServer?

Sure! Depending on what OS you are on, but the jist is something like:

(OSX:)

open HTML/EN/html/softsqueeze/SoftSqueeze.jar

Which will launch java and SoftSqueeze. Use the config to point to
service.us.squeezenetwork.com as the server.

-D


Thanks, setting the squeezenetwork server in config did the trick.

Steinar

PoW
2005-07-29, 00:02
No dice, I have the squeezebox setup behind a firewall, do I need to open some ports for it to work properly? I scroll down to 'Connect to SqueezeNetwork' and it sits there saying 'Connecting to SqueezeNetwork...'

Wait a second, while I'm typing this it connects perfectly, first time I have seen that. Heres something that might be affecting it, I usually have a number of torrents running, they eat up a good portion of my bandwidth especially the upstream bandwidth. However I just stopped all torrents a moment ago.

It seems the sb2 has a bit of trouble connecting to the SqueezeNetwork when there is lots of network traffic. Maybe its just me...

dean
2005-07-29, 07:16
On Jul 29, 2005, at 12:02 AM, PoW wrote:
> It seems the sb2 has a bit of trouble connecting to the SqueezeNetwork
> when there is lots of network traffic. Maybe its just me...
Torrents (or other applications that use a substantial amount of
upstream bandwidth) can be an issue for connecting to SqueezeNetwork,
since many broadband connections have far lower upstream bandwidth
available.

I found that my SqueezeNetwork access was intermittent when had a
torrent running with more than a couple active peers.

Robin Bowes
2005-07-29, 07:20
dean blackketter wrote:
>
> On Jul 29, 2005, at 12:02 AM, PoW wrote:
>
>> It seems the sb2 has a bit of trouble connecting to the SqueezeNetwork
>> when there is lots of network traffic. Maybe its just me...
>
> Torrents (or other applications that use a substantial amount of
> upstream bandwidth) can be an issue for connecting to SqueezeNetwork,
> since many broadband connections have far lower upstream bandwidth
> available.
>
> I found that my SqueezeNetwork access was intermittent when had a
> torrent running with more than a couple active peers.

*Any* TCP applications are impacted by saturated bandwidth. TCP is a
two-way protocol, so even if you are just downloading, the client needs
to send control packets back to the server which it can't do if the link
is saturated.

R.

PoW
2005-07-30, 23:07
What about a autoreconnect feature that, if disconnected from the squeezenetwork will try and reconnect every say 5, 10, or 15 minutes or so. This would be particularly handy if you want to remain connected to the squeezenetwork but have a intermittent connection (like mine).

I am afraid to rely on the squeezenetwork for the alarm clock feature for this exact reason. If my sb2 is likely to disconnect while im sleeping, its to risky to use it as an alarm clock if I need to get up at a certain time.

dean
2005-07-31, 20:12
If the player is disconnected from SqueezeNetwork, for whatever
reason, it will retry connecting immediately. If this times out
(after 5 seconds) it will retry again.

So unless the network goes down or the service does, it should stay
connected or keep trying...




On Jul 30, 2005, at 11:07 PM, PoW wrote:

>
> What about a autoreconnect feature that, if disconnected from the
> squeezenetwork will try and reconnect every say 5, 10, or 15
> minutes or
> so. This would be particularly handy if you want to remain
> connected to
> the squeezenetwork but have a intermittent connection (like mine).
>
> I am afraid to rely on the squeezenetwork for the alarm clock feature
> for this exact reason. If my sb2 is likely to disconnect while im
> sleeping, its to risky to use it as an alarm clock if I -need- to get
> up at a certain time.
>
>
> --
> PoW
>

jhall_uk
2005-08-30, 02:52
Dean - I'm having a similar issue. I've tried this with 6.1.1 and 6.2 26/08/05 nightly on Win2k, firmware 15. Going to try with the latest nightly now.

The issue seems to differ each time I connect. Sometimes I cannot connect to Squeezenetwork at all - sometimes I can.

By failing to connect to Squeezenetwork I'm mean I select the connect to aqueezenetwork menu and the phrase 'connecting to squeezenetwork...' appears. This then disappears after a few seconds and I'm not connected. I've tried bumping the menu (up, down, right, left and right again etc. etc.)

I have nothing else on the network/internet at the time these issues occur. I have a 8mbit DSL connection so internet bandwidth should not be an issue.

Regardless of my random successful connection when slimserver is running, I am consistently getting the issue with not connecting to Squeezenetwork if slimserver is not running.

If I connect to Squeezenetwork and shutdown the PC running slimserver, Squeezenetwork continues to work fine. Once I disconnect/signoff and try to reconnect once the slimserver is not running it fails to reconnect.

I've connected successfully 23.00 GMT last night and also at 07.30 GMT this morning to Squeezenetwork with the Slimserver service running.

Is there any scheduled downtime for the squeezenetwork servers that could be affecting European timezone users?

Cheers,
John Hall

dean
2005-08-30, 09:07
John,
Can you list the settings in the View Current Settings on the player
setup screens?


On Aug 30, 2005, at 2:52 AM, jhall_uk wrote:

>
> Dean - I'm having a similar issue. I've tried this with 6.1.1 and 6.2
> 26/08/05 nightly on Win2k, firmware 15. Going to try with the latest
> nightly now.
>
> The issue seems to differ each time I connect. Sometimes I cannot
> connect to Squeezenetwork at all - sometimes I can.
>
> By failing to connect to Squeezenetwork I'm mean I select the connect
> to aqueezenetwork menu and the phrase 'connecting to
> squeezenetwork...'
> appears. This then disappears after a few seconds and I'm not
> connected.
> I've tried bumping the menu (up, down, right, left and right again
> etc.
> etc.)
>
> I have nothing else on the network/internet at the time these issues
> occur. I have a 8mbit DSL connection so internet bandwidth should not
> be an issue.
>
> Regardless of my random successful connection when slimserver is
> running, I am consistently getting the issue with not connecting to
> Squeezenetwork if slimserver is not running.
>
> If I connect to Squeezenetwork and shutdown the PC running slimserver,
> Squeezenetwork continues to work fine. Once I disconnect/signoff and
> try to reconnect once the slimserver is not running it fails to
> reconnect.
>
> I've connected successfully 23.00 GMT last night and also at 07.30 GMT
> this morning to Squeezenetwork with the Slimserver service running.
>
> Is there any scheduled downtime for the squeezenetwork servers that
> could be affecting European timezone users?
>
> Cheers,
> John Hall
>
>
> --
> jhall_uk
>

jhall_uk
2005-09-02, 02:41
Settings as follows:

Connect by Ethernet
Obtain IP automatically
IP 192.168.10.11
Subnet 255.255.255.0
Gateway 192.168.1.1 <-- my router
DNS 212.104.130.9
DNS 195.166.128.17
Slimserver john(192.168.10.13)
MAC xxxxxxxxxxxxx I'd rather not put that on a public forum ;-)
firmware 18

I have 6.2.x 30/08/05 nightly beta installed.

Cheers,
John


John,
Can you list the settings in the View Current Settings on the player
setup screens?


On Aug 30, 2005, at 2:52 AM, jhall_uk wrote:

>
> Dean - I'm having a similar issue. I've tried this with 6.1.1 and 6.2
> 26/08/05 nightly on Win2k, firmware 15. Going to try with the latest
> nightly now.
>
> The issue seems to differ each time I connect. Sometimes I cannot
> connect to Squeezenetwork at all - sometimes I can.
>
> By failing to connect to Squeezenetwork I'm mean I select the connect
> to aqueezenetwork menu and the phrase 'connecting to
> squeezenetwork...'
> appears. This then disappears after a few seconds and I'm not
> connected.
> I've tried bumping the menu (up, down, right, left and right again
> etc.
> etc.)
>
> I have nothing else on the network/internet at the time these issues
> occur. I have a 8mbit DSL connection so internet bandwidth should not
> be an issue.
>
> Regardless of my random successful connection when slimserver is
> running, I am consistently getting the issue with not connecting to
> Squeezenetwork if slimserver is not running.
>
> If I connect to Squeezenetwork and shutdown the PC running slimserver,
> Squeezenetwork continues to work fine. Once I disconnect/signoff and
> try to reconnect once the slimserver is not running it fails to
> reconnect.
>
> I've connected successfully 23.00 GMT last night and also at 07.30 GMT
> this morning to Squeezenetwork with the Slimserver service running.
>
> Is there any scheduled downtime for the squeezenetwork servers that
> could be affecting European timezone users?
>
> Cheers,
> John Hall
>
>
> --
> jhall_uk
>

dean
2005-09-02, 08:06
Ah, there's the problem. The DHCP server in your router isn't set
up correctly.

It should be handing out addresses in the range: 192.168.1.xxx, not
192.168.10.xxx

-dean

p.s. If your MAC address ends with 09:01:01, then it's gotten
corrupted and you'll need to reset it. Navigate back to it using the
remote and press the RIGHT arrow button and enter the number printed
on the bottom of your player.


On Sep 2, 2005, at 2:41 AM, jhall_uk wrote:

>
> Settings as follows:
>
> Connect by Ethernet
> Obtain IP automatically
> IP 192.168.10.11
> Subnet 255.255.255.0
> Gateway 192.168.1.1 <-- my router
> DNS 212.104.130.9
> DNS 195.166.128.17
> Slimserver john(192.168.10.13)
> MAC xxxxxxxxxxxxx I'd rather not put that on a public forum ;-)
> firmware 18
>
> I have 6.2.x 30/08/05 nightly beta installed.
>
> Cheers,
> John
>
> dean Wrote:
>
>> John,
>> Can you list the settings in the View Current Settings on the player
>> setup screens?
>>
>>
>> On Aug 30, 2005, at 2:52 AM, jhall_uk wrote:
>>
>>
>>>
>>> Dean - I'm having a similar issue. I've tried this with 6.1.1 and
>>>
>> 6.2
>>
>>> 26/08/05 nightly on Win2k, firmware 15. Going to try with the latest
>>> nightly now.
>>>
>>> The issue seems to differ each time I connect. Sometimes I cannot
>>> connect to Squeezenetwork at all - sometimes I can.
>>>
>>> By failing to connect to Squeezenetwork I'm mean I select the
>>>
>> connect
>>
>>> to aqueezenetwork menu and the phrase 'connecting to
>>> squeezenetwork...'
>>> appears. This then disappears after a few seconds and I'm not
>>> connected.
>>> I've tried bumping the menu (up, down, right, left and right again
>>> etc.
>>> etc.)
>>>
>>> I have nothing else on the network/internet at the time these issues
>>> occur. I have a 8mbit DSL connection so internet bandwidth should
>>>
>> not
>>
>>> be an issue.
>>>
>>> Regardless of my random successful connection when slimserver is
>>> running, I am consistently getting the issue with not connecting to
>>> Squeezenetwork if slimserver is not running.
>>>
>>> If I connect to Squeezenetwork and shutdown the PC running
>>>
>> slimserver,
>>
>>> Squeezenetwork continues to work fine. Once I disconnect/signoff and
>>> try to reconnect once the slimserver is not running it fails to
>>> reconnect.
>>>
>>> I've connected successfully 23.00 GMT last night and also at 07.30
>>>
>> GMT
>>
>>> this morning to Squeezenetwork with the Slimserver service running.
>>>
>>> Is there any scheduled downtime for the squeezenetwork servers that
>>> could be affecting European timezone users?
>>>
>>> Cheers,
>>> John Hall
>>>
>>>
>>> --
>>> jhall_uk
>>>
>>>
>
>
> --
> jhall_uk
>

jhall_uk
2005-09-02, 08:21
Sorry - typo.

Gateway 192.168.10.1

My internet access works just fine and ip addresses are getting allocated ok.

The MAC address is also ok.

Cheers,
John


Ah, there's the problem. The DHCP server in your router isn't set
up correctly.

It should be handing out addresses in the range: 192.168.1.xxx, not
192.168.10.xxx

-dean

p.s. If your MAC address ends with 09:01:01, then it's gotten
corrupted and you'll need to reset it. Navigate back to it using the
remote and press the RIGHT arrow button and enter the number printed
on the bottom of your player.


On Sep 2, 2005, at 2:41 AM, jhall_uk wrote:

>
> Settings as follows:
>
> Connect by Ethernet
> Obtain IP automatically
> IP 192.168.10.11
> Subnet 255.255.255.0
> Gateway 192.168.1.1 <-- my router
> DNS 212.104.130.9
> DNS 195.166.128.17
> Slimserver john(192.168.10.13)
> MAC xxxxxxxxxxxxx I'd rather not put that on a public forum ;-)
> firmware 18
>
> I have 6.2.x 30/08/05 nightly beta installed.
>
> Cheers,
> John
>
> dean Wrote:
>
>> John,
>> Can you list the settings in the View Current Settings on the player
>> setup screens?
>>
>>
>> On Aug 30, 2005, at 2:52 AM, jhall_uk wrote:
>>
>>
>>>
>>> Dean - I'm having a similar issue. I've tried this with 6.1.1 and
>>>
>> 6.2
>>
>>> 26/08/05 nightly on Win2k, firmware 15. Going to try with the latest
>>> nightly now.
>>>
>>> The issue seems to differ each time I connect. Sometimes I cannot
>>> connect to Squeezenetwork at all - sometimes I can.
>>>
>>> By failing to connect to Squeezenetwork I'm mean I select the
>>>
>> connect
>>
>>> to aqueezenetwork menu and the phrase 'connecting to
>>> squeezenetwork...'
>>> appears. This then disappears after a few seconds and I'm not
>>> connected.
>>> I've tried bumping the menu (up, down, right, left and right again
>>> etc.
>>> etc.)
>>>
>>> I have nothing else on the network/internet at the time these issues
>>> occur. I have a 8mbit DSL connection so internet bandwidth should
>>>
>> not
>>
>>> be an issue.
>>>
>>> Regardless of my random successful connection when slimserver is
>>> running, I am consistently getting the issue with not connecting to
>>> Squeezenetwork if slimserver is not running.
>>>
>>> If I connect to Squeezenetwork and shutdown the PC running
>>>
>> slimserver,
>>
>>> Squeezenetwork continues to work fine. Once I disconnect/signoff and
>>> try to reconnect once the slimserver is not running it fails to
>>> reconnect.
>>>
>>> I've connected successfully 23.00 GMT last night and also at 07.30
>>>
>> GMT
>>
>>> this morning to Squeezenetwork with the Slimserver service running.
>>>
>>> Is there any scheduled downtime for the squeezenetwork servers that
>>> could be affecting European timezone users?
>>>
>>> Cheers,
>>> John Hall
>>>
>>>
>>> --
>>> jhall_uk
>>>
>>>
>
>
> --
> jhall_uk
>

jhall_uk
2005-09-02, 08:25
'my MAC address is also ok' - Atleast it does not end in the digits you describe.

I'll need to check out that the MAC address on screen matches the MAC address on the underside of the SB2.

Internet radio etc. all works fine...

Cheers,
John

dean
2005-09-02, 08:30
Ok, that makes more sense (I couldn't figure out how your computer
was working in the first place.)

What exact error does choosing SqueezeNetwork display?

Also, are you using PPPoE software on your PC (or some other software
required by your ISP) to connect to the internet?


On Sep 2, 2005, at 8:21 AM, jhall_uk wrote:

>
> Sorry - typo.
>
> Gateway 192.168.10.1
>
> My internet access works just fine and ip addresses are getting
> allocated ok.
>
> The MAC address is also ok.
>
> Cheers,
> John
>
> dean Wrote:
>
>> Ah, there's the problem. The DHCP server in your router isn't set
>> up correctly.
>>
>> It should be handing out addresses in the range: 192.168.1.xxx, not
>> 192.168.10.xxx
>>
>> -dean
>>
>> p.s. If your MAC address ends with 09:01:01, then it's gotten
>> corrupted and you'll need to reset it. Navigate back to it using the
>>
>> remote and press the RIGHT arrow button and enter the number printed
>> on the bottom of your player.
>>
>>
>> On Sep 2, 2005, at 2:41 AM, jhall_uk wrote:
>>
>>
>>>
>>> Settings as follows:
>>>
>>> Connect by Ethernet
>>> Obtain IP automatically
>>> IP 192.168.10.11
>>> Subnet 255.255.255.0
>>> Gateway 192.168.1.1 <-- my router
>>> DNS 212.104.130.9
>>> DNS 195.166.128.17
>>> Slimserver john(192.168.10.13)
>>> MAC xxxxxxxxxxxxx I'd rather not put that on a public forum ;-)
>>> firmware 18
>>>
>>> I have 6.2.x 30/08/05 nightly beta installed.
>>>
>>> Cheers,
>>> John
>>>
>>> dean Wrote:
>>>
>>>
>>>> John,
>>>> Can you list the settings in the View Current Settings on the
>>>>
>> player
>>
>>>> setup screens?
>>>>
>>>>
>>>> On Aug 30, 2005, at 2:52 AM, jhall_uk wrote:
>>>>
>>>>
>>>>
>>>>>
>>>>> Dean - I'm having a similar issue. I've tried this with 6.1.1 and
>>>>>
>>>>>
>>>> 6.2
>>>>
>>>>
>>>>> 26/08/05 nightly on Win2k, firmware 15. Going to try with the
>>>>>
>> latest
>>
>>>>> nightly now.
>>>>>
>>>>> The issue seems to differ each time I connect. Sometimes I cannot
>>>>> connect to Squeezenetwork at all - sometimes I can.
>>>>>
>>>>> By failing to connect to Squeezenetwork I'm mean I select the
>>>>>
>>>>>
>>>> connect
>>>>
>>>>
>>>>> to aqueezenetwork menu and the phrase 'connecting to
>>>>> squeezenetwork...'
>>>>> appears. This then disappears after a few seconds and I'm not
>>>>> connected.
>>>>> I've tried bumping the menu (up, down, right, left and right again
>>>>> etc.
>>>>> etc.)
>>>>>
>>>>> I have nothing else on the network/internet at the time these
>>>>>
>> issues
>>
>>>>> occur. I have a 8mbit DSL connection so internet bandwidth should
>>>>>
>>>>>
>>>> not
>>>>
>>>>
>>>>> be an issue.
>>>>>
>>>>> Regardless of my random successful connection when slimserver is
>>>>> running, I am consistently getting the issue with not connecting
>>>>>
>> to
>>
>>>>> Squeezenetwork if slimserver is not running.
>>>>>
>>>>> If I connect to Squeezenetwork and shutdown the PC running
>>>>>
>>>>>
>>>> slimserver,
>>>>
>>>>
>>>>> Squeezenetwork continues to work fine. Once I disconnect/signoff
>>>>>
>> and
>>
>>>>> try to reconnect once the slimserver is not running it fails to
>>>>> reconnect.
>>>>>
>>>>> I've connected successfully 23.00 GMT last night and also at 07.30
>>>>>
>>>>>
>>>> GMT
>>>>
>>>>
>>>>> this morning to Squeezenetwork with the Slimserver service
>>>>>
>> running.
>>
>>>>>
>>>>> Is there any scheduled downtime for the squeezenetwork servers
>>>>>
>> that
>>
>>>>> could be affecting European timezone users?
>>>>>
>>>>> Cheers,
>>>>> John Hall
>>>>>
>>>>>
>>>>> --
>>>>> jhall_uk
>>>>>
>>>>>
>>>>>
>>>
>>>
>>> --
>>> jhall_uk
>>>
>>>
>
>
> --
> jhall_uk
>

jhall_uk
2005-09-02, 09:16
Slimserver running on PC running w2k.

All internet access via a Draytek 2600Plus router with built in ADSL modem, which is handling the PPPoE connection to my ISP. Nothing propriertary is installed. My SB2 is connected via ethernet cable directly to one of the router's spare ports. I do have a USR wireless g access point running in infrastructure mode, but I don't connect my SB2 to the network via it. For reference, I also have a trusty old SliMp3 connected wirelessly to my network via another USR wireless g access point runningin client mode. But, the issues of connection to squeezenetwork occurred prior to me bothering to reconnect my old SlimP3 after I bought the new SB2.

No error messages appear on my SB2 which is weird. when I select the 'connect to squeezenetwork' option when my pc running slimserver is off, the SB2 shows 'connecting to squeezenetwork' for a few seconds, and then the screen goes blank.

Bumping the menu, causes the display to re-appear, but the connection issue remains. No errors, it just does nothing!

If the slimserver is up and running, the SB2 'usually' connects to the squeezenetwork, and when it does, switching off the PC does not affect the connection. If I then sign out from squeezenetwork and try to reconnect it fails again, just as described earlier.


Ok, that makes more sense (I couldn't figure out how your computer
was working in the first place.)

What exact error does choosing SqueezeNetwork display?

Also, are you using PPPoE software on your PC (or some other software
required by your ISP) to connect to the internet?


On Sep 2, 2005, at 8:21 AM, jhall_uk wrote:

>
> Sorry - typo.
>
> Gateway 192.168.10.1
>
> My internet access works just fine and ip addresses are getting
> allocated ok.
>
> The MAC address is also ok.
>
> Cheers,
> John
>
> dean Wrote:
>
>> Ah, there's the problem. The DHCP server in your router isn't set
>> up correctly.
>>
>> It should be handing out addresses in the range: 192.168.1.xxx, not
>> 192.168.10.xxx
>>
>> -dean
>>
>> p.s. If your MAC address ends with 09:01:01, then it's gotten
>> corrupted and you'll need to reset it. Navigate back to it using the
>>
>> remote and press the RIGHT arrow button and enter the number printed
>> on the bottom of your player.
>>
>>
>> On Sep 2, 2005, at 2:41 AM, jhall_uk wrote:
>>
>>
>>>
>>> Settings as follows:
>>>
>>> Connect by Ethernet
>>> Obtain IP automatically
>>> IP 192.168.10.11
>>> Subnet 255.255.255.0
>>> Gateway 192.168.1.1 <-- my router
>>> DNS 212.104.130.9
>>> DNS 195.166.128.17
>>> Slimserver john(192.168.10.13)
>>> MAC xxxxxxxxxxxxx I'd rather not put that on a public forum ;-)
>>> firmware 18
>>>
>>> I have 6.2.x 30/08/05 nightly beta installed.
>>>
>>> Cheers,
>>> John
>>>
>>> dean Wrote:
>>>
>>>
>>>> John,
>>>> Can you list the settings in the View Current Settings on the
>>>>
>> player
>>
>>>> setup screens?
>>>>
>>>>
>>>> On Aug 30, 2005, at 2:52 AM, jhall_uk wrote:
>>>>
>>>>
>>>>
>>>>>
>>>>> Dean - I'm having a similar issue. I've tried this with 6.1.1 and
>>>>>
>>>>>
>>>> 6.2
>>>>
>>>>
>>>>> 26/08/05 nightly on Win2k, firmware 15. Going to try with the
>>>>>
>> latest
>>
>>>>> nightly now.
>>>>>
>>>>> The issue seems to differ each time I connect. Sometimes I cannot
>>>>> connect to Squeezenetwork at all - sometimes I can.
>>>>>
>>>>> By failing to connect to Squeezenetwork I'm mean I select the
>>>>>
>>>>>
>>>> connect
>>>>
>>>>
>>>>> to aqueezenetwork menu and the phrase 'connecting to
>>>>> squeezenetwork...'
>>>>> appears. This then disappears after a few seconds and I'm not
>>>>> connected.
>>>>> I've tried bumping the menu (up, down, right, left and right again
>>>>> etc.
>>>>> etc.)
>>>>>
>>>>> I have nothing else on the network/internet at the time these
>>>>>
>> issues
>>
>>>>> occur. I have a 8mbit DSL connection so internet bandwidth should
>>>>>
>>>>>
>>>> not
>>>>
>>>>
>>>>> be an issue.
>>>>>
>>>>> Regardless of my random successful connection when slimserver is
>>>>> running, I am consistently getting the issue with not connecting
>>>>>
>> to
>>
>>>>> Squeezenetwork if slimserver is not running.
>>>>>
>>>>> If I connect to Squeezenetwork and shutdown the PC running
>>>>>
>>>>>
>>>> slimserver,
>>>>
>>>>
>>>>> Squeezenetwork continues to work fine. Once I disconnect/signoff
>>>>>
>> and
>>
>>>>> try to reconnect once the slimserver is not running it fails to
>>>>> reconnect.
>>>>>
>>>>> I've connected successfully 23.00 GMT last night and also at 07.30
>>>>>
>>>>>
>>>> GMT
>>>>
>>>>
>>>>> this morning to Squeezenetwork with the Slimserver service
>>>>>
>> running.
>>
>>>>>
>>>>> Is there any scheduled downtime for the squeezenetwork servers
>>>>>
>> that
>>
>>>>> could be affecting European timezone users?
>>>>>
>>>>> Cheers,
>>>>> John Hall
>>>>>
>>>>>
>>>>> --
>>>>> jhall_uk
>>>>>
>>>>>
>>>>>
>>>
>>>
>>> --
>>> jhall_uk
>>>
>>>
>
>
> --
> jhall_uk
>

jhall_uk
2005-09-12, 16:07
Any more ideas? I'm still getting the issue. The MAC address is confirmed as being correct.

It is 00:00 GMT+1 and I'm not even able to connect to squeezenetwork with the slimserver running. Weird.

Cheers,
John