PDA

View Full Version : Why does the volume of the SB2 seem low?



gdg
2005-07-26, 18:45
I just realized the SB2 has it's own volume control. Can it be set to fixed (vs variable)?

kdf
2005-07-26, 19:21
On 26-Jul-05, at 6:45 PM, gdg wrote:

>
> Hi,
> I'm using the coax out of the SB2 into a BigBen>Tact2.0sRCS>Dac1.
> Why does the volume seem way down from my usual CDP transport?
>
The volume control on thee device can control the digital output. Have
you got it set at 39? Conversely you can use the player settings to
set the digital output to fixed, which I believe sets digital output to
the equivalent of 39, while allowing volume control to only adjust the
analogue side.

-kdf

gdg
2005-07-26, 19:32
Thanx KDF,
I just realized that there is digital volume control. I went into the menu and set it to fixed. I don't recall seeing anything about this in the instructions.

kdf
2005-07-26, 20:04
On 26-Jul-05, at 7:32 PM, gdg wrote:

>
> Thanx KDF,
> I just realized that there is digital volume control. I went into the
> menu and set it to fixed. I don't recall seeing anything about this in
> the instructions.
>
that's true. A lot of it is left to looking around a bit. There is a
wiki (wiki.slimdevices.com) with a lot of information beyond what you
find in the manual or the slimserver help section.
-k