PDA

View Full Version : Two issues with 6.1 - Pause display & Segmentation Fault



Andy Kelk
2005-07-24, 06:32
Hello,

I upgraded to 6.1 yesterday and I've got a couple of issues.

Firstly a minor one. I use large text on my SB1 (wireless). When
pausing, the pause line comes up as small text taking up the first
line of the display. The remainder of the old large text remains
behind on the second line of the display. Pressing size twice seems to
sort this out.

Secondly and more seriously, I've been unable to rescan my library. It
scans for about 20-30 minutes and then exits with a segmentation
fault. It always seems to be on the same directory - this caused no
problems in 6.0 (doing a nightly rescan).

Andy

Triode
2005-07-24, 07:52
> Firstly a minor one. I use large text on my SB1 (wireless). When
> pausing, the pause line comes up as small text taking up the first
> line of the display. The remainder of the old large text remains
> behind on the second line of the display. Pressing size twice seems to
> sort this out.

I don't see this. Could you give us a few more details:

1) what "now playing" screensaver are you running - if so has it kicked in before you press pause

2) if not, what screen us showing when you press pause

3) have you set any no default fonts (player settings - display)

4) is the remaining text scrolling or would scroll if you leave it for long enough (after player settings - display - scroll pause)

5) any more details on a sure fire way of reproducing it.

Triode
2005-07-24, 07:54
3) should have been "non default" fonts
----- Original Message -----
From: "Triode" <triode1 (AT) btinternet (DOT) com>
To: "Slim Devices Discussion" <discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com>
Sent: Sunday, July 24, 2005 3:52 PM
Subject: Re: [slim] Two issues with 6.1 - Pause display & Segmentation Fault


>> Firstly a minor one. I use large text on my SB1 (wireless). When
>> pausing, the pause line comes up as small text taking up the first
>> line of the display. The remainder of the old large text remains
>> behind on the second line of the display. Pressing size twice seems to
>> sort this out.
>
> I don't see this. Could you give us a few more details:
>
> 1) what "now playing" screensaver are you running - if so has it kicked in before you press pause
>
> 2) if not, what screen us showing when you press pause
>
> 3) have you set any no default fonts (player settings - display)
>
> 4) is the remaining text scrolling or would scroll if you leave it for long enough (after player settings - display - scroll
> pause)
>
> 5) any more details on a sure fire way of reproducing it.
>
>
>
>

Andy Kelk
2005-07-24, 08:24
On 7/24/05, Triode <triode1 (AT) btinternet (DOT) com> wrote:
> > Firstly a minor one. I use large text on my SB1 (wireless). When
> > pausing, the pause line comes up as small text taking up the first
> > line of the display. The remainder of the old large text remains
> > behind on the second line of the display. Pressing size twice seems to
> > sort this out.
>
> I don't see this. Could you give us a few more details:
>
> 1) what "now playing" screensaver are you running - if so has it kicked in before you press pause

The player uses the "now playing" screensaver - yes, it has kicked in
when I pause.

> 3) have you set any no default fonts (player settings - display)

I don't think so - not sure where I'd select these.

> 4) is the remaining text scrolling or would scroll if you leave it for long enough (after player settings - display - scroll pause)
> 5) any more details on a sure fire way of reproducing it.

It seems only to happen on titles which don't scroll. On titles which
are long enough to scroll, it doesn't show anything when paused. On
short titles without scrolling, the top half of the large text is
replaced with "paused" in small text.

Triode
2005-07-24, 09:39
Andy,

I still can't see this. Could you restart the server with --d_graphics on the command line and post what the startup output is.

Also what OS are you running on?

Adrian
----- Original Message -----
From: "Andy Kelk" <andykelk (AT) gmail (DOT) com>
To: "Slim Devices Discussion" <discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com>
Sent: Sunday, July 24, 2005 4:24 PM
Subject: Re: [slim] Two issues with 6.1 - Pause display & Segmentation Fault


On 7/24/05, Triode <triode1 (AT) btinternet (DOT) com> wrote:
> > Firstly a minor one. I use large text on my SB1 (wireless). When
> > pausing, the pause line comes up as small text taking up the first
> > line of the display. The remainder of the old large text remains
> > behind on the second line of the display. Pressing size twice seems to
> > sort this out.
>
> I don't see this. Could you give us a few more details:
>
> 1) what "now playing" screensaver are you running - if so has it kicked in before you press pause

The player uses the "now playing" screensaver - yes, it has kicked in
when I pause.

> 3) have you set any no default fonts (player settings - display)

I don't think so - not sure where I'd select these.

> 4) is the remaining text scrolling or would scroll if you leave it for long enough (after player settings - display - scroll
> pause)
> 5) any more details on a sure fire way of reproducing it.

It seems only to happen on titles which don't scroll. On titles which
are long enough to scroll, it doesn't show anything when paused. On
short titles without scrolling, the top half of the large text is
replaced with "paused" in small text.

Andy Kelk
2005-07-24, 09:47
On 7/24/05, Triode <triode1 (AT) btinternet (DOT) com> wrote:
> Andy,
>
> I still can't see this. Could you restart the server with --d_graphics on the command line and post what the startup output is.

Here's the output when it starts up:

2005-07-24 17:45:34.5579 fontfile entry: full.2.font.bmp
2005-07-24 17:45:34.5587 fontfile entry: high.2.font.bmp
2005-07-24 17:45:34.5591 fontfile entry: huge.2.font.bmp
2005-07-24 17:45:34.5595 fontfile entry: large.2.font.bmp
2005-07-24 17:45:34.5598 fontfile entry: light.1.font.bmp
2005-07-24 17:45:34.5600 fontfile entry: light.2.font.bmp
2005-07-24 17:45:34.5604 fontfile entry: logo.font.bmp
2005-07-24 17:45:34.5607 fontfile entry: medium.1.font.bmp
2005-07-24 17:45:34.5610 fontfile entry: medium.2.font.bmp
2005-07-24 17:45:34.5614 fontfile entry: small.1.font.bmp
2005-07-24 17:45:34.5617 fontfile entry: small.2.font.bmp
2005-07-24 17:45:34.5620 fontfile entry: standard.1.font.bmp
2005-07-24 17:45:34.5623 fontfile entry: standard.2.font.bmp
2005-07-24 17:45:34.5629 Now parsing: high.2
2005-07-24 17:45:35.0602 high.2 had height 33 - 1
2005-07-24 17:45:35.1213 Now parsing: medium.2
2005-07-24 17:45:35.3922 medium.2 had height 17 - 1
2005-07-24 17:45:35.4214 Now parsing: medium.1
2005-07-24 17:45:35.6352 medium.1 had height 17 - 1
2005-07-24 17:45:35.6598 Now parsing: standard.2
2005-07-24 17:45:36.5636 standard.2 had height 33 - 1
2005-07-24 17:45:36.6726 Now parsing: light.1
2005-07-24 17:45:37.9297 light.1 had height 33 - 1
2005-07-24 17:45:38.0162 Now parsing: small.1
2005-07-24 17:45:38.5381 small.1 had height 17 - 1
2005-07-24 17:45:38.5683 Now parsing: logo
2005-07-24 17:45:38.7603 logo had height 17 - 1
2005-07-24 17:45:38.7794 Now parsing: large.2
2005-07-24 17:45:39.1975 large.2 had height 17 - 1
2005-07-24 17:45:39.2501 Now parsing: light.2
2005-07-24 17:45:39.9015 light.2 had height 33 - 1
2005-07-24 17:45:39.9913 Now parsing: standard.1
2005-07-24 17:45:40.5910 standard.1 had height 33 - 1
2005-07-24 17:45:40.6762 Now parsing: small.2
2005-07-24 17:45:40.9569 small.2 had height 17 - 1
2005-07-24 17:45:40.9869 Now parsing: full.2
2005-07-24 17:45:42.3945 full.2 had height 33 - 1
2005-07-24 17:45:42.5612 Now parsing: huge.2
2005-07-24 17:45:43.1729 huge.2 had height 17 - 1
Slim::Player::Playlist::setExecuteCommandCallback( ) will be removed in
SlimServer v6.2 - please update your plugins.

> Also what OS are you running on?

The server is running on Centos Linux 4.1

Andy

Triode
2005-07-24, 14:32
For the benefit of the list - this display corruption is a problem on character [Slimp3 and SB1] players. [I got off on the wrong
foot thinking it was a graphics player...]

Bug 1868 raised.

>> Firstly a minor one. I use large text on my SB1 (wireless). When
>> pausing, the pause line comes up as small text taking up the first
>> line of the display. The remainder of the old large text remains
>> behind on the second line of the display. Pressing size twice seems to
>> sort this out.
>

Andy Kelk
2005-07-25, 05:58
On 7/24/05, Triode <triode1 (AT) btinternet (DOT) com> wrote:
> For the benefit of the list - this display corruption is a problem on character [Slimp3 and SB1] players. [I got off on the wrong
> foot thinking it was a graphics player...]
>
> Bug 1868 raised.

I'll have a go with it tonight.

Andy

Andy Kelk
2005-07-26, 08:39
On 7/24/05, Andy Kelk <andykelk (AT) gmail (DOT) com> wrote:

> Secondly and more seriously, I've been unable to rescan my library. It
> scans for about 20-30 minutes and then exits with a segmentation
> fault. It always seems to be on the same directory - this caused no
> problems in 6.0 (doing a nightly rescan).

Does anyone have any ideas on the second one? 6.1 is currently
unusable for me as I can only see about 30% of my library.
I have about 30gigs of mp3 files in my collection. Over the weekend I
was having the server crash with a segmentation fault when doing a
rescan.
On monday I had a play around and pointed it at a much smaller
directory and asked it to rescan which it seemed to do with no
problems.
When I pointed it back at the main directory and asked it to rescan it
no longer crashed. Instead it seems to never finish scanning (getting
about 30% of the way through) and sitting on 25% cpu usage (and 65%
memory usage).
Has anyone else had any problems with 6.1 rescanning?

Andy

stinkingpig
2005-07-26, 08:52
Andy Kelk wrote:
> On 7/24/05, Andy Kelk <andykelk (AT) gmail (DOT) com> wrote:
>
>
>>Secondly and more seriously, I've been unable to rescan my library. It
>>scans for about 20-30 minutes and then exits with a segmentation
>>fault. It always seems to be on the same directory - this caused no
>>problems in 6.0 (doing a nightly rescan).
>
>
> Does anyone have any ideas on the second one? 6.1 is currently
> unusable for me as I can only see about 30% of my library.
> I have about 30gigs of mp3 files in my collection. Over the weekend I
> was having the server crash with a segmentation fault when doing a
> rescan.
> On monday I had a play around and pointed it at a much smaller
> directory and asked it to rescan which it seemed to do with no
> problems.
> When I pointed it back at the main directory and asked it to rescan it
> no longer crashed. Instead it seems to never finish scanning (getting
> about 30% of the way through) and sitting on 25% cpu usage (and 65%
> memory usage).
> Has anyone else had any problems with 6.1 rescanning?
>
> Andy

problems scanning are usually caused by circular shortcuts/links. Try
factoring down into your library (split in half, scan each half, try
again with the half that crashes, keep going until you find where it
crashes).

--
Jack at Monkeynoodle dot Org: It's A Scientific Venture...
"If this is Paradise, I wish I had a lawnmower." -- The Talking Heads

Dan Sully
2005-07-26, 10:32
* Jack Coates shaped the electrons to say...

>problems scanning are usually caused by circular shortcuts/links. Try
>factoring down into your library (split in half, scan each half, try
>again with the half that crashes, keep going until you find where it
>crashes).

Also - what is the crash itself?

I checked in a fix for playlists that refer to themselves in the 6.2 branch
the other day.

-D
--
<iNoah> my pdp goes to 11.

Andy Kelk
2005-07-28, 03:21
On 7/26/05, Dan Sully <dan (AT) slimdevices (DOT) com> wrote:
> * Jack Coates shaped the electrons to say...
>
> >problems scanning are usually caused by circular shortcuts/links. Try
> >factoring down into your library (split in half, scan each half, try
> >again with the half that crashes, keep going until you find where it
> >crashes).
>
> Also - what is the crash itself?
>
> I checked in a fix for playlists that refer to themselves in the 6.2 branch
> the other day.

I installed the latest 6.2 nightly yesterday and rescanned and it all
looks good. Hooray. I think it was probably a playlist referring to
another playlist (which may have referred back, possibly).

Thanks guys :-)