PDA

View Full Version : OK, where's the PIN?????



Jetlag
2005-07-23, 14:06
I was signing up for Squeeze Network when it asked for my SB2's "PIN".

It mentioned "you can find the PIN under Settings -> Squeezebox PIN".

OK, I've looked everywhere for this via the Slimserver and going through the setup screens on my SB2.

Where the &#$%^ is the PIN????

kdf
2005-07-23, 14:29
Quoting Jetlag <Jetlag.1sn56o (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com>:

>
> I was signing up for Squeeze Network when it asked for my SB2's "PIN".
>
> It mentioned "you can find the PIN under Settings -> Squeezebox PIN".
>
> OK, I've looked everywhere for this via the Slimserver and going
> through the setup screens on my SB2.
>
> Where the &#$%^ is the PIN????

try the squeezenetwork item in the player menu, then settings.
and next time, ask nicer
-k

Robin Bowes
2005-07-23, 14:37
kdf wrote:
> Quoting Jetlag <Jetlag.1sn56o (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com>:
>
>
>>I was signing up for Squeeze Network when it asked for my SB2's "PIN".
>>
>>It mentioned "you can find the PIN under Settings -> Squeezebox PIN".
>>
>>OK, I've looked everywhere for this via the Slimserver and going
>>through the setup screens on my SB2.
>>
>>Where the &#$%^ is the PIN????
>
>
> try the squeezenetwork item in the player menu, then settings.
> and next time, ask nicer
> -k

Kevin,

No need for that. He didn't ask "not nicely" - he (she?) is obviously
just frustrated.

R.

kdf
2005-07-23, 14:43
Quoting Robin Bowes <robin-lists (AT) robinbowes (DOT) com>:

> kdf wrote:
> > Quoting Jetlag <Jetlag.1sn56o (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com>:
> >
> >
> >>I was signing up for Squeeze Network when it asked for my SB2's "PIN".
> >>
> >>It mentioned "you can find the PIN under Settings -> Squeezebox PIN".
> >>
> >>OK, I've looked everywhere for this via the Slimserver and going
> >>through the setup screens on my SB2.
> >>
> >>Where the &#$%^ is the PIN????
> >
> >
> > try the squeezenetwork item in the player menu, then settings.
> > and next time, ask nicer
> > -k
>
> Kevin,
>
> No need for that. He didn't ask "not nicely" - he (she?) is obviously
> just frustrated.
>
yes mom :)

Jetlag
2005-07-23, 15:43
...and next time, ask nicer
-k


Your mom was correct, I was just very frustrated.
I will ask nicer next time.
Now, what do I do with these 2 handfulls of hair?

kdf
2005-07-23, 16:28
you're welcome.

-kdf

Robin Bowes
2005-07-25, 03:12
kdf wrote:

>
> yes mom :)

:)

stuntman
2005-08-02, 12:12
I can understand the original poster's frustration. I just spent 20+ minutes looking under Server Settings and Player Settings, scratching my head then swearing because I couldn't see Squeezebox PIN.

kdf, cheers for the simple clear instructions. Those on the SqueezeNetwork registration (http://www.squeezenetwork.com/user/register) page are a little ambiguous (at least to me)!

dean
2005-08-02, 12:53
Good point. I'll see that the instructions get updated.

Thanks,

dean

On Aug 2, 2005, at 12:12 PM, stuntman wrote:

>
> I can understand the original poster's frustration. I just spent 20+
> minutes looking under -Server Settings- and -Player Settings-,
> scratching my head then swearing because I couldn't see -Squeezebox
> PIN-.
>
> kdf, cheers for the simple clear instructions. Those on the
> SqueezeNetwork 'registration'
> (http://www.squeezenetwork.com/user/register) page are a little
> ambiguous (at least to me)!
>
>
> --
> stuntman
>

casonbang
2005-08-30, 14:58
Ditto. I searched forever and couldn't find this menu. It looks like my player can't connect to the SqueezeNetwork even though the software player on my desktop can.

I'm going to try to switch out to my better router to see if it helps..

kevin
2005-08-30, 15:57
Ditto. I searched forever and couldn't find this menu. It looks like my player can't connect to the SqueezeNetwork even though the software player on my desktop can.

I'm going to try to switch out to my better router to see if it helps..

Are you using DHCP?

If so, is the DNS server IP address that the SB2 is getting match the gateway address?

(Are you using a Microsoft router?)

You could just try manually setting the DNS server IP by using a static IP--but use your ISP's DNS server, and not the router's DNS proxy.

giwatani
2006-05-04, 18:27
I've checked thru *ALL* of the Player Settings tabs and there is no menu item that even mentions "SqueezeNetwork" let alone a PIN number. There also is no "Settings__SqueezeBox PIN" menu item in my SqueezeBox.

Any additional insights would be appreciated!

Thx,
G

kdf
2006-05-04, 18:32
On 4-May-06, at 6:27 PM, giwatani wrote:

>
> I've checked thru *ALL* of the Player Settings tabs and there is no
> menu
> item that even mentions "SqueezeNetwork" let alone a PIN number.
> There
> also is no "Settings__SqueezeBox PIN" menu item in my SqueezeBox.
>
is it a squeezebox 2/3 and not a squeezebox 1?
-k

ceejay
2006-05-05, 00:01
I've checked thru *ALL* of the Player Settings tabs and there is no menu item that even mentions "SqueezeNetwork" let alone a PIN number. There also is no "Settings__SqueezeBox PIN" menu item in my SqueezeBox.

Any additional insights would be appreciated!

Thx,
G

and you do have 6.2.2 or later installed?

Ceejay

dean
2006-05-07, 10:27
You need to connect to SqueezeNetwork (it's the last choice on the
Squeezebox Home menu) to find your PIN.


On May 4, 2006, at 6:27 PM, giwatani wrote:

>
> I've checked thru *ALL* of the Player Settings tabs and there is no
> menu
> item that even mentions "SqueezeNetwork" let alone a PIN number.
> There
> also is no "Settings__SqueezeBox PIN" menu item in my SqueezeBox.
>
> Any additional insights would be appreciated!
>
> Thx,
> G
>
>
> --
> giwatani
> ----------------------------------------------------------------------
> --
> giwatani's Profile: http://forums.slimdevices.com/member.php?
> userid=5349
> View this thread: http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=15257
>
>