PDA

View Full Version : Cosmetic - player info UDP -> TCP?



Triode
2005-07-22, 12:24
Its probably only me that notices this sort of thing, but given most players are no longer Slimp3s would it be a good idea to change
the player and server infomation displays to TCP rather than UDP? (seeing as the protocols are TCP not UDP). [Alternative being to
make it player specific if we want it to be accurate]

See attached for what I am proposing - even I could probably manage the translations for most languages...

Adrian

dean
2005-07-22, 12:44
How about just "port number". We may use UDP with SB2 for some
applications...


On Jul 22, 2005, at 12:24 PM, Triode wrote:

> Its probably only me that notices this sort of thing, but given
> most players are no longer Slimp3s would it be a good idea to
> change the player and server infomation displays to TCP rather than
> UDP? (seeing as the protocols are TCP not UDP). [Alternative being
> to make it player specific if we want it to be accurate]
>
> See attached for what I am proposing - even I could probably manage
> the translations for most languages...
>
> Adrian
>
>
> <strings.diff>
>

Triode
2005-07-22, 13:05
> How about just "port number". We may use UDP with SB2 for some applications...
>

I think this just gives the player port number of the slimproto session at present? So you would need to change slimproto back to
UDP for this.... But - happy with "port number".

I can change the common ones, is the process to delete the ones I can't translate?

dean
2005-07-22, 13:11
On Jul 22, 2005, at 1:05 PM, Triode wrote:

>> How about just "port number". We may use UDP with SB2 for some
>> applications...
>>
>>
>
> I think this just gives the player port number of the slimproto
> session at present? So you would need to change slimproto back to
> UDP for this.... But - happy with "port number".
SB2 actually does listen on UDP for some messages, the plan in the
next major revision to the firmware is to extend that.


>
> I can change the common ones, is the process to delete the ones I
> can't translate?
Yes, if it's not a trivial change.