PDA

View Full Version : installing linux RPM's "everything already installed"



Bruce Hartley
2005-07-21, 14:28
Sorry to make myself look so stupid here.

I have a mandrake box that I use purely for slimserver.
When I tried to install the 6.1 release over whatever nightly I had installed, it says

"everything already installed"

I guess it is a problem with the version numbers? or the dates or something?

Please could someone put me out of misery and explain how I do an "install -force" type of thing.

Thanks,
Bruce.

pfarrell
2005-07-21, 14:39
On Thu, 2005-07-21 at 14:28 -0700, Bruce Hartley wrote:
> I have a mandrake box that I use purely for slimserver.

> Please could someone put me out of misery and explain how I do an
> "install -force" type of thing.

Assuming you are trying to install the RPM version,
on Mandrake, you should be using urpmi instead of
just rpm.

urpmi --force foo.rpm

will force Y answers to all questions.
It is usually better to do an uninstall first

The easy way to do this is using MCC
(Mandrake Control Center).

Email me off list for more details.
You might also ask these kinds of questions
over on the slimunix list/forum

--
Pat
http://www.pfarrell.com/music/slimserver/slimsoftware.html