PDA

View Full Version : Discrete Remote Control Codes



WeedMonkey
2005-07-21, 08:22
Are there any discrete remote control codes for "power on" and "power off" for the SB2 that I can use on my Philips Pronto remote instead of the "power toggle" button on the SB2 remote?

Craig, James (IT)
2005-07-21, 08:36
There are Pronto files on www.remotecentral.com that say they contain
discrete commands for Squeezebox.

I've only used the ones linked from SlimDevices before (which don't) but
having seen what's on Remote Central I think it could be time for an
upgrade. A full Squeezebox keyboard on the Pronto?!

Does anyone know if it's possible to use a custom IR map as well as the
default one (so that the Pronto & the original remote will both work)?
Do I create a custom map that includes the original one?

James
--------------------------------------------------------

NOTICE: If received in error, please destroy and notify sender. Sender does not waive confidentiality or privilege, and use is prohibited.

Bruce Hartley
2005-07-21, 13:56
There are Pronto files on www.remotecentral.com that say they contain
discrete commands for Squeezebox.


Does anyone know if it's possible to use a custom IR map as well as the
default one (so that the Pronto & the original remote will both work)?
Do I create a custom map that includes the original one?From memory, I think I created a custom ir.map file, then used some IR tools to create new IR codes which I mapped to power on, power off etc.

I don't think you would be able to have two different map files active as they might clash, but there would be nothing to stop you merging two files into one as long as the IR codes did not overlap.

I simply learnt all the codes onto my "Pronto" then added extra codes and commands for my requirements.

if you are interested my CCF file is at http://brucehartley.com/ and I can upload my ir.map file if you are interested.

Rgds,
Bruce.

Cessquill
2005-07-22, 01:40
There are discrete codes for the original Squeezebox, but they don't work *yet* for the squeezebox 2 (unless they do now - I haven't downloaded a nightly for a while).

You get discrete power codes, plus jumps straight to search artists, songs, albums and browse artists, albums, etc.

I'm using one downloaded straight off Remote Central, and I'm putting off rebuilding it into my templates, since it's quite a monster. :)

WeedMonkey
2005-07-22, 15:40
[QUOTE=Cessquill]There are discrete codes for the original Squeezebox, but they don't work *yet* for the squeezebox 2 (unless they do now - I haven't downloaded a nightly for a while).

Cessquil,

Are you saying that these features just aren't implemented yet for the SB2? If so, would this be implemented via a firmware update for the SB2, or is it somehow a function of SlimServer?

Thanks.

WeedMonkey

DrNic
2005-07-23, 13:55
Does anyone know if it's possible to use a custom IR map as well as the
default one (so that the Pronto & the original remote will both work)?
Do I create a custom map that includes the original one?

James


Although I don't own an SB2 (yet) I have used the Excel file from the slimdevices plugings section for my SB1. The discrete codes work fine but some other commands do not function as planned. I have found this to be due to truncated/error in the hex. So I just used a little program (can get from RC Central) called makehex (using the JVC ir file and the specified device number in the excel file and made lovely clean hex for the pronto...!!

So can anyone tell me why the ir set has changed for the SB2 when it looks to be the same remote control? Has the ir.map file changed for the new device (why?!).
Have a go at these Hex codes on your Pronto's & SB2 for discrete power and tell us if they work...

ON:
0000 006A 0012 0000 0029 002F 0014 003D 0014 003D 0014 003D 0014 003D 0014 0014 0014 003D 0014 003D 0014 003D 0014 0014 0014 0014 0014 0014 0014 0014 0014 0014 0014 0014 0014 0014 0014 003D 0014 002F

OFF:
0000 006A 0012 0000 0029 002F 0014 003D 0014 003D 0014 003D 0014 003D 0014 0014 0014 003D 0014 003D 0014 003D 0014 0014 0014 0014 0014 0014 0014 0014 0014 0014 0014 0014 0014 0014 0014 0014 0014 002F

Nic

Dick Sternum
2005-07-23, 17:03
Well they don't work on mine - firmware 15.

WeedMonkey
2005-07-23, 18:37
They don't work on mine either.

WeedMonkey

DrNic
2005-07-24, 08:24
Hmmmm
I wonder if Slim can interject here and let us know why the ir commands have changed for the SB2?!

:)

Nic

dean
2005-07-24, 10:59
They shouldn't have changed. We do know that there is a bug in the
IR handling in SB2 that prevent it from working with some non-slim-
remote IR commands (JVC compatible). That's a high priority bug for
our next release.


On Jul 24, 2005, at 8:24 AM, DrNic wrote:

>
> Hmmmm
> I wonder if Slim can interject here and let us know why the ir
> commands
> have changed for the SB2?!
>
> :)
>
> Nic
>
>
> --
> DrNic
>

DrNic
2005-07-24, 11:30
They shouldn't have changed. We do know that there is a bug in the
IR handling in SB2 that prevent it from working with some non-slim-
remote IR commands (JVC compatible). That's a high priority bug for
our next release.


Thanks Dean for the prompt reply!
This does seem like it needs to be a high priority bug to fix!!!
If it is only the JVC ir commands that are "broken" then would the native command set still work OK if added to? I have looked at the hex and it seems that the OEM remote you supply spits out NEC2 protocol - do you know which "device" you use??
Just a thought...
:)

Nic

dean
2005-07-24, 11:53
On Jul 24, 2005, at 11:30 AM, DrNic wrote:
> Thanks Dean for the prompt reply!
NP.

> This does seem like it needs to be a high priority bug to fix!!!
Agreed.

> If it is only the JVC ir commands that are "broken" then would the
> native command set still work OK if added to?
They should.

> I have looked at the hex
> and it seems that the OEM remote you supply spits out NEC2 protocol -
> do you know which "device" you use??
That's exactly right.

DrNic
2005-07-24, 12:25
On Jul 24, 2005, at 11:30 AM, DrNic wrote:
> Thanks Dean for the prompt reply!
NP.

> This does seem like it needs to be a high priority bug to fix!!!
Agreed.

> If it is only the JVC ir commands that are "broken" then would the
> native command set still work OK if added to?
They should.

> I have looked at the hex
> and it seems that the OEM remote you supply spits out NEC2 protocol -
> do you know which "device" you use??
That's exactly right.


Thats good to know - could you let me know which device "set" (or number) NEC2 code you are using, if you know?!

Thanks
Nic

dean
2005-07-24, 12:39
On Jul 24, 2005, at 11:30 AM, DrNic wrote:

>
> dean Wrote:
>
>> They shouldn't have changed. We do know that there is a bug in the
>> IR handling in SB2 that prevent it from working with some non-slim-
>> remote IR commands (JVC compatible). That's a high priority bug for
>> our next release.
>>
>>
>
> Thanks Dean for the prompt reply!
> This does seem like it needs to be a high priority bug to fix!!!
> If it is only the JVC ir commands that are "broken" then would the
> native command set still work OK if added to? I have looked at the hex
> and it seems that the OEM remote you supply spits out NEC2 protocol -
> do you know which "device" you use??

I believe that the device code we use is 6e91, but Sean would need to
confirm.

DrNic
2005-07-25, 04:02
I believe that the device code we use is 6e91, but Sean would need to
confirm.

Did you manage to confirm the device code for me?!

Nic

DrNic
2005-07-27, 13:49
Did you manage to confirm the device code for me?!

Nic

Bump....!!!
Just a quick confirmation - please, pretty please.... !

dean
2005-07-27, 14:12
Sean found the datasheets for the SC-33 remote and our IR code format:

<http://www.slimdevices.com/downloads/datasheets/remote/>

E619 looks to be valid.

-dean

On Jul 27, 2005, at 1:49 PM, DrNic wrote:

>
> DrNic Wrote:
>
>> Did you manage to confirm the device code for me?!
>>
>> Nic
>>
>
> Bump....!!!
> Just a quick confirmation - please, pretty please.... !
>
>
> --
> DrNic
>

DrNic
2005-07-27, 14:32
Thanks Dean

Nic