PDA

View Full Version : SB2 Stops Responding



MeSue
2005-07-20, 10:12
I've barely had my SB2 a week. The last two nights it has locked up during the night while my PC was idle, but not at the same time each night. I know the time because the clock gets stuck there. Last night it was 2:21 AM and the previous time it was 9:12 AM.

When I returned to my PC, everything was running fine, but I had left the SlimServer web interface open in my browser, and it would not respond to clicks. The taskbar icon said "SlimServer Running" but when I stopped SlimServer and tried to start it again, it just stayed stuck on "SlimServer Starting" and never completed. I had to restart my PC to get it working again.

I have checked the Windows event logs and can't find anything happening at those times that I can attribute to this, and I have no idea what could be causing this. The only vague idea I have is that the last two nights I had an Adobe Updater running in the background that was set to download updates while my computer was idle. It finished today so I shouldn't have that again tonight.

I am running the 7/14 nightly of 6.1b2. Does anyone have suggestions for troubleshooting this?

dean
2005-07-20, 10:34
It would be nice to know from the Task Manager if SlimServer was
running and what the CPU and memory situation was like when you were
not getting responses.

-dean

On Jul 20, 2005, at 10:12 AM, MeSue wrote:
> I've barely had my SB2 a week. The last two nights it has locked up
> during the night while my PC was idle, but not at the same time each
> night. I know the time because the clock gets stuck there. Last night
> it was 2:21 AM and the previous time it was 9:12 AM.
>
> When I returned to my PC, everything was running fine, but I had left
> the SlimServer web interface open in my browser, and it would not
> respond to clicks. The taskbar icon said "SlimServer Running" but when
> I stopped SlimServer and tried to start it again, it just stayed stuck
> on "SlimServer Starting" and never completed. I had to restart my
> PC to
> get it working again.
>
> I have checked the Windows event logs and can't find anything
> happening
> at those times that I can attribute to this, and I have no idea what
> could be causing this. The only vague idea I have is that the last two
> nights I had an Adobe Updater running in the background that was
> set to
> download updates while my computer was idle. It finished today so I
> shouldn't have that again tonight.
>
> I am running the 7/14 nightly of 6.1b2. Does anyone have suggestions
> for troubleshooting this?

MeSue
2005-07-21, 06:59
It would be nice to know from the Task Manager if SlimServer was running and what the CPU and memory situation was like when you were not getting responses.

I'll check that if it happens again. Last night I updated to the 7/20 nightly and closed down some programs I didn't need to have running overnight, and it didn't happen.

MeSue
2005-07-24, 16:11
I'm still having this problem. It got stuck at 2:52 PM this afternoon. As soon as I noticed it, I went to my PC and checked the task manager. Nothing seemed abnormal to me. CPU and memory usage was normal. Slim.exe and Slimtray.exe were both running.

Also, yesterday I had a party and had loaded up a 10 hour playlist to let it play all afternoon and evening. Twice I noticed it stalled and when I checked my PC the tray icon showed "SlimServer Stopped." I restarted it from the tray icon and was able to continue playing music without rebooting the PC.

Now I just installed SlimServer Version: 6.1.2. I don't know if I would be better off rolling back or what.

Any other suggestions?

Edited to add: I've been disabling plugins to see if one of them might be the culprit. I just disabled SuperDateTime because I think this started after I started using it. We'll see if it helps…

dean
2005-07-25, 06:35
Is it possible that there's a particular song in your playlist that's
causing the stoppage? What happens if you back up a few songs and
start again. Does it stop in the same place?

On Jul 24, 2005, at 4:11 PM, MeSue wrote:

>
> I'm still having this problem. It got stuck at 2:52 PM this afternoon.
> As soon as I noticed it, I went to my PC and checked the task manager.
> Nothing seemed abnormal to me. CPU and memory usage was normal.
> Slim.exe and Slimtray.exe were both running.
>
> Also, yesterday I had a party and had loaded up a 10 hour playlist to
> let it play all afternoon and evening. Twice I noticed it stalled and
> when I checked my PC the tray icon showed "SlimServer Stopped." I
> restarted it from the tray icon and was able to continue playing music
> without rebooting the PC.
>
> Now I just installed SlimServer Version: 6.1.2. I don't know if I
> would
> be better off rolling back or what.
>
> Any other suggestions?
>
>
> --
> MeSue
>
> Sue
>

MeSue
2005-07-25, 07:26
Is it possible that there's a particular song in your playlist that's causing the stoppage? What happens if you back up a few songs and start again. Does it stop in the same place?

That may have been the problem during the party. That's the only time I've had it stop while it was supposed to be playing. I don't remember what the songs were so I can't re-check it and it was a HUGE playlist.

All the other times it stopped responding was when it was idle. I kind of suspect the SuperDateTime plugin, so I disabled that yesterday to see if it made a difference.

mherger
2005-07-25, 12:00
> All the other times it stopped responding was when it was idle. I kind
> of suspect the SuperDateTime plugin, so I disabled that yesterday to
> see if it made a difference.

I'm not sure if I'm experiencing the same problem. But today (after a
30hrs absence from home) my players still displayed the date from 6hrs
ago. When I tried to use the remote it went black after a while.

This is with the datetime screensaver in huge font mode.

--

Michael

-----------------------------------------------------------
Help translate SlimServer by using the
StringEditor Plugin (http://www.herger.net/slim/)

MeSue
2005-07-25, 12:26
I'm not sure if I'm experiencing the same problem. But today (after a 30hrs absence from home) my players still displayed the date from 6hrs ago. When I tried to use the remote it went black after a while.

This is with the datetime screensaver in huge font mode.

Well I just saw your note and went to look at mine since switching from SuperDateTime to DateTime screensaver. The clock read 1:00 PM when it should have been 3:03 PM. So I guess that rules out the SuperDateTime plugin. The player did not respond to button presses on the remote. As usual, when I returned to my PC, slim.exe and slimtray.exe were running. CPU and memory usage are normal, but the Web interface doesn't load. From the tray icon, I stop SlimServer and start SlimServer, but it gets stuck on "Slimserver Starting." If I choose Exit from the tray icon the then slim.exe and slimtray.exe both go off the process list, but then starting from the desktop icon again it gets stuck on "Slimserver Starting." Looks like I am SOL until I can reboot my PC now. Grrr…

mherger
2005-07-25, 13:16
>> I'm not sure if I'm experiencing the same problem. But today (after a
>> 30hrs absence from home) my players still displayed the date from 6hrs
>> ago. When I tried to use the remote it went black after a while.

I'm sorry, I was wrong... This wasn't a problem with my current slimserver
but with my test machine. I did some late testing before I left home
yesterday and forgot to change back to my "production" slimserver. And as
my test machine did not run today at arrival my sb2 was stuck. The others
(2xSB1, SliMP3) were fine.

I therefore can not confirm the issue, sorry.

--

Michael

-----------------------------------------------------------
Help translate SlimServer by using the
StringEditor Plugin (http://www.herger.net/slim/)

MeSue
2005-07-26, 07:30
ok, here is the latest…

This morning I woke up and turned on SB2. Everything appeared to be fine. I navigated to TopHits, pressed the right arrow, and got "Connecting to SlimServer…" and then "Could not connect." So I walk across the house to my PC and the tray icon says SlimServer is stopped. I restart it, the web interface loads, I go back to the bedroom, navigate to TopHits… and the same thing happens! I restart SlimServer again, go back to the bedroom. This time I try Recently Played Tracks instead of TopHits. Once again, it tries to connect and can't. What the heck is going on?

After that I just navigated to a specific artist using search and played an album. That works fine, but it seems like many of the plugins cause the server to conk out.

dean
2005-07-26, 08:19
Sue,

Can you look in your Event Viewer to see if there were any events
associated with SlimServer stopping?

The details from those events would be most helpful.

-dean

On Jul 26, 2005, at 7:30 AM, MeSue wrote:


>
> ok, here is the latest
>
>
> This morning I woke up and turned on SB2. Everything appeared to be
> fine. I navigated to TopHits, pressed the right arrow, and got
> "Connecting to SlimServer
> " and then "Could not connect." So I walk
> across the house to my PC and the tray icon says SlimServer is
> stopped.
> I restart it, the web interface loads, I go back to the bedroom,
> navigate to TopHits
> and the same thing happens! I restart SlimServer
> again, go back to the bedroom. This time I try Recently Played Tracks
> instead of TopHits. Once again, it tries to connect and can't. What
> the
> heck is going on?
>
> After that I just navigated to a specific artist using search and
> played an album. That works fine, but it seems like many of the
> plugins
> cause the server to conk out.
>
>
> --
> MeSue
>
> Sue
>

MeSue
2005-07-26, 09:20
Can you look in your Event Viewer to see if there were any events associated with SlimServer stopping?

Event Type: Error
Event Source: Application
Event Category: None
Event ID: 0
Date: 7/25/2005
Time: 10:16:50 PM
User: N/A
Computer: SUEXP
Description:
The description for Event ID ( 0 ) in Source ( Application ) cannot be found. The local computer may not have the necessary registry information or message DLL files to display messages from a remote computer. You may be able to use the /AUXSOURCE= flag to retrieve this description; see Help and Support for details. The following information is part of the event: Undefined subroutine &Slim::Web::History::recount called at G:/Program Files/SlimServer/server/Plugins/TopHits.pm line 169.
.

Event Type: Error
Event Source: Application
Event Category: None
Event ID: 0
Date: 7/26/2005
Time: 9:14:02 AM
User: N/A
Computer: SUEXP
Description:
The description for Event ID ( 0 ) in Source ( Application ) cannot be found. The local computer may not have the necessary registry information or message DLL files to display messages from a remote computer. You may be able to use the /AUXSOURCE= flag to retrieve this description; see Help and Support for details. The following information is part of the event: Undefined subroutine &Slim::Web::History::recount called at G:/Program Files/SlimServer/server/Plugins/TopHits.pm line 169.
.

Event Type: Error
Event Source: Application
Event Category: None
Event ID: 0
Date: 7/26/2005
Time: 9:17:03 AM
User: N/A
Computer: SUEXP
Description:
The description for Event ID ( 0 ) in Source ( Application ) cannot be found. The local computer may not have the necessary registry information or message DLL files to display messages from a remote computer. You may be able to use the /AUXSOURCE= flag to retrieve this description; see Help and Support for details. The following information is part of the event: Undefined subroutine &Slim::Web::History::recount called at G:/Program Files/SlimServer/server/Plugins/TopHits.pm line 169.
.

Event Type: Error
Event Source: Application
Event Category: None
Event ID: 0
Date: 7/26/2005
Time: 9:19:02 AM
User: N/A
Computer: SUEXP
Description:
The description for Event ID ( 0 ) in Source ( Application ) cannot be found. The local computer may not have the necessary registry information or message DLL files to display messages from a remote computer. You may be able to use the /AUXSOURCE= flag to retrieve this description; see Help and Support for details. The following information is part of the event: Undefined subroutine &Slim::Web::History::get_history called at G:/Program Files/SlimServer/server/Plugins/RecentlyPlayed.pm line 170.
.

Event Type: Error
Event Source: Application
Event Category: None
Event ID: 0
Date: 7/26/2005
Time: 10:33:26 AM
User: N/A
Computer: SUEXP
Description:
The description for Event ID ( 0 ) in Source ( Application ) cannot be found. The local computer may not have the necessary registry information or message DLL files to display messages from a remote computer. You may be able to use the /AUXSOURCE= flag to retrieve this description; see Help and Support for details. The following information is part of the event: Undefined subroutine &Slim::Web::History::recount called at G:/Program Files/SlimServer/server/Plugins/TopHits.pm line 169.
.

mherger
2005-07-26, 09:35
> information is part of the event: Undefined subroutine
> &Slim::Web::History::recount called at G:/Program
> Files/SlimServer/server/Plugins/TopHits.pm line 169.

The TopHits plugin imho is _not_ compatible with SlimServer 6.x. Please
remove it and try again.

--

Michael

-----------------------------------------------------------
Help translate SlimServer by using the
StringEditor Plugin (http://www.herger.net/slim/)

MeSue
2005-07-26, 14:30
OK, I took out Top Hits and Recently Played. I also took out Random because I can do that with MusicMagic. I did a clean install of SlimServer 6.1.1 and reset the player.

Can anyone tell me if any of these plugins are not compatible with 6.1 before I start adding back the ones I want?
Alarm Plugin A
Audioscrobbler Submitter
Save Playlist
SuperDateTime Screensaver
RSS News Ticker
AutoDisplay

Thanks!

kdf
2005-07-26, 14:51
Quoting MeSue <MeSue.1ssqcb (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com>:

> Can anyone tell me if any of these plugins are not compatible with 6.1
> before I start adding back the ones I want?
> Alarm Plugin A
- v1.119 should work fine.

> Audioscrobbler Submitter
- note sure. I believe it is fine in most cases. some have experienced crashes
after prolongued use. cvs version is apparently fixed, but not yet the
official release.

> Save Playlist
This is included with slimserver, so its fine

> SuperDateTime Screensaver
> RSS News Ticker
also included

> AutoDisplay

well, really all of them should be fine, since none of them showed up in the
event viewer as the cause of the crash. most plugins get trapped on startup if
something in wrong. However, the server can't test every line of code, so
sometimes calls to server functions will cause a problem if the author isn't
updating their plugins to fit.

-kdf

MeSue
2005-07-26, 16:22
well, really all of them should be fine, since none of them showed up in the event viewer as the cause of the crash.
-kdf

Some of those I had removed before these most recent crashes that I pasted from event viewer. But thanks for the comments. Anyway, I won't add them all back at once just to be safe, and I'll look farther back in Event Viewer to see if there's anything else.

RSS News Ticker - Could there be any problem with this one if I don't have a dedicated internet connection? I have an "almost-always-on" dialup connection via ICS, meaning… we have a dedicated line, but there are periods of slowness and times when the connection drops and has to redial. I'm not using the plugin as a screen-saver, and I only have one feed for the local forecast so I can navigate to the plugin and read the forecast when I want to.

kdf
2005-07-26, 16:32
Quoting MeSue <MeSue.1ssvfn (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com>:


>
> RSS News Ticker - Could there be any problem with this one if I don't
> have a dedicated internet connection?

There is this one:
http://bugs.slimdevices.com/show_bug.cgi?id=1627

But this should only be applicable during the periods when it is trying to
refresh the data and cannot get a valid lookup.

I'm not sure if Scrobbler uses non-blocking http. That might cause slowdowns
when the submit timer triggers and yoru connection isn't there.

-kdf

MeSue
2005-07-26, 17:18
Thanks. There was a reference to Scrobbler in my event viewer from a few days ago. Gonna leave both of these disabled for now.

MeSue
2005-08-04, 14:44
I hate to say it but I am having this problem with silent crashes again. What I mean by silent crashes is that SlimServer still appears in the system tray, but the web interface and the SB2 become unresponsive and the clock is stuck on a incorrect time. on the PC running SlimServer, CPU and memory usage is normal, and nothing is written to the event logs. If I quit Slimerver and try to restart it, it gets stuck on "SlimServer Starting." I must reboot in order to get it running again. It has always happened when the PC is sitting idle, so I can't connect it to anything I was doing on my PC.

I was having this problem before, but on 7/26, I did a clean install of the "official" release of 6.1.1. I only added one non-bundled plugin (SuperDateTime). I did not have this problem at all using that version. However, I noticed when I would pause and then resume, the playback would stop at the end of the resumed song instead of continuing through the playlist. On 8/2 I installed 6.1.2 to see if the pause problem was fixed. It was, but now this silent crashing problem is back! Please help!

Edited to add: Another problem I have had with 6.1.2 is that sometimes it takes up to 2 minutes for the player to respond to remote control button presses. When it finally does "wake up" it processes every button press I have done during the unresponsive time.

kdf
2005-08-04, 15:03
if you are seeing nothing in the cpu usage, and nothing is actually crashing, it
may help to run the server via command line, with some debug flags set. This
way you can see ongoing activity and possibly track down exactly what is
causing the server to simply stall.

c:\program files\slimserver\server\slim.exe

as for debug, I'd suggest d_http, d_info as a start.

-kdf

MeSue
2005-08-04, 16:34
it may help to run the server via command line, with some debug flags set

Can you tell me exactly how to do that, or point me to some instructions?
Thanks.

MeSue
2005-08-04, 16:42
I think I figured it out:
"g:\program files\slimserver\server\slim.exe" --d_http --d_info
(SlimServer is installed on my G drive.)

Do just leave the command window open until it happens again?

kdf
2005-08-04, 16:53
Quoting MeSue <MeSue.1t9kcz (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com>:

>
> I think I figured it out:
> "g:\program files\slimserver\server\slim.exe" --d_http --d_info
> (SlimServer is installed on my G drive.)
>
> Do just leave the command window open until it happens again?
>
yes, or until you get bored with trying :)

Try experimenting with other flags if you think any of them might be closer to
what you think might be going on. d_display should track what is showing on teh
display, etc.

slim.exe --help will list all of the options.

maybe try turning on d_remotestream from the web UI (now that you already have
it running with the others). That will check for any http calls to outside
urls that might be causing some sort of lockup. The only thing I can think of
that would stop al interraction without causing CPU spikes would be a blocking
http request that somehow fails to respond or cause a timeout.

-kdf

kdf
2005-08-04, 19:45
Also of note, is there any chance that your internet connection goes
down sporadicly? After disconnecting mine for a while today, I
remembered that the RSSNews plugin can cause the server to lock in low
CPU mode if the DNS lookup fails.

-kdf

MeSue
2005-08-04, 20:00
Also of note, is there any chance that your internet connection goes down sporadicly?

Yes, we are on dialup with internet connection sharing, and of course it does disconnect from time to time. However, I disabled the RSSNews plugin and haven't been using it since 7/26. The SuperDateTime screensaver queries weather.com, but I was using that plugin with 6.1.1 from 7/26 to 8/2 without this problem.

MeSue
2005-08-24, 21:39
Just to bring some closure to this thread…

I did the debugging as suggested by KDF for four days and this problem never happened during that time. Then I decided I didn't need to see the temperature on the SB2 since I have a wireless thermometer in the next room, so I removed SuperDateime as my screen saver. None of the other plugins I am using query the Internet and this problem hasn't recurred, so I suppose it was something to do a flaky dialup connection.