PDA

View Full Version : 2 players, 1 network = stopped working



Derek Redpath
2005-07-20, 09:16
I have two Squeezebox2's, one in my lounge, one in my bedroom. When I first
got them they worked perfectly but after having the one in the bedroom
disconnected for a number of days whilst redecorating, I now cannot get
them both working again.

When I power up the first player it works fine and appears in slimserver as
192.168.1.102. Then when I power up the second player it sort of
'overrides' the first one and appears in slimserver as 192.168.1.103, and
102 is gone. If I power them up in reverse order then 102 overrides 103.
With both players powered up the first one locks up completely and refuses
to respond to remote commands, and the second player's response to remote
commands is very erratic (although it can still be controlled from slimserver).

I cannot get both players to appear simultaneously in slimserver as they
used to, only the player plugged in last appears in slimserver. Both
players work perfectly when the other is disconnected.

The same thing happens if I use static IP addresses.

As far as I know nothing has changed in my setup. I have unplugged
everything else from my router (Linksys WAG54G) so that I have only the two
players and the PC running slimserver plugged in.

Running latest version of slimserver (6.0.2 - 3085) and player firmware
(11). Windows XP pro.

I'm at my wits end. Anyone have any ideas?

kdf
2005-07-20, 09:40
Quoting Derek Redpath <derekr (AT) fireflyuk (DOT) net>:


> I'm at my wits end. Anyone have any ideas?

crazy idea...check player settings for each player when connected.
Make sure the MAC address reported at teh bottom of teh left side of the web
page is properly matching the MAC address given on the bottom of the SB2.

-kdf

Derek Redpath
2005-07-20, 12:21
Quoting kdf <slim-mail (AT) deane-freeman (DOT) com>

>crazy idea...check player settings for each player when connected.
>Make sure the MAC address reported at teh bottom of teh left side of the web
>page is properly matching the MAC address given on the bottom of the SB2.

Crazy idea or not I think you're onto something! Both players have the same
mac address! How did that happen? More to the point how do I change it?

Thanks.

kdf
2005-07-20, 12:29
Quoting Derek Redpath <derekr (AT) fireflyuk (DOT) net>:

>
> Quoting kdf <slim-mail (AT) deane-freeman (DOT) com>
>
> >crazy idea...check player settings for each player when connected.
> >Make sure the MAC address reported at teh bottom of teh left side of the web
> >page is properly matching the MAC address given on the bottom of the SB2.
>
> Crazy idea or not I think you're onto something! Both players have the same
> mac address! How did that happen? More to the point how do I change it?

Dean posted some info on another thread about a MAC editor:

"There's a secret MAC address editor built into the player setup (go
into current settings, scroll to the MAC address and press right),
feel free to set it back to the value listed on the bottom of your
player."

no idea HOW it happens, but you can use that editor to set the MAC back to what
it says on the bottom of each player.

-kdf

dean
2005-07-20, 12:30
You can edit the MAC address by pressing RIGHT when displaying it.

BUT FIRST...
What is the MAC address listed?
What are the MAC addresses listed on the bottom of the players?

We have seen in a few cases where a bug in the firmware on the player
resets the MAC address. We've fixed at least one of the bugs, but
want to make sure we get them all. The more details you send us,
the better.

Thanks,

dean



On Jul 20, 2005, at 12:21 PM, Derek Redpath wrote:

>
> Quoting kdf <slim-mail (AT) deane-freeman (DOT) com>
>
>
>> crazy idea...check player settings for each player when connected.
>> Make sure the MAC address reported at teh bottom of teh left side
>> of the web
>> page is properly matching the MAC address given on the bottom of
>> the SB2.
>>
>
> Crazy idea or not I think you're onto something! Both players have
> the same mac address! How did that happen? More to the point how do
> I change it?
>
> Thanks.
>
>

max.spicer
2005-07-20, 12:58
I've tried this and only ever get the bounce animation. Are you sure that the hidden editor is still enabled in the firmware 14? I'm running 15 now, but haven't had a chance to check yet. I know someone else posted a while ago that they too couldn't get into the MAC address editor after you last mentioned it.

Max


You can edit the MAC address by pressing RIGHT when displaying it.

DerekR
2005-07-20, 13:10
You can edit the MAC address by pressing RIGHT when displaying it.

BUT FIRST...
What is the MAC address listed?
What are the MAC addresses listed on the bottom of the players?
Player no.1 serial no. 2301090 mac address 00:04:20:05:A0:8D

Player no.2 serial no. 2302360 mac address 00:04:20:05:A1:2E

Both mac addresses are now set to 00:04:20:09:01:01

I can't get the mac address editor working either. Should it be in 'settings->information->player information->player mac address'? because pressing right then does nothing.

mherger
2005-07-20, 13:21
> I've tried this and only ever get the bounce animation. Are you sure
[..]
>> You can edit the MAC address by pressing RIGHT when displaying it.

You have to do this from the settings menu you get when restarting the
player, not from the normal settings/information menu.

--

Michael

-----------------------------------------------------------
Help translate SlimServer by using the
StringEditor Plugin (http://www.herger.net/slim/)

kdf
2005-07-20, 13:24
Quoting DerekR <DerekR.1shin0 (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com>:

>
> dean Wrote:
> > You can edit the MAC address by pressing RIGHT when displaying it.
> >
> > BUT FIRST...
> > What is the MAC address listed?
> > What are the MAC addresses listed on the bottom of the players?
> Player no.1 serial no. 2301090 mac address 00:04:20:05:A0:8D
>
> Player no.2 serial no. 2302360 mac address 00:04:20:05:A1:2E
>
> Both mac addresses are now set to 00:04:20:09:01:01
>
> I can't get the mac address editor working either. Should it be in
> 'settings->information->player information->player mac address'?
> because pressing right then does nothing.

what about press-and-hold power to reset the player. When it starts up, you
have the optio to setup networking or view current settings. IO would expect it
to be there, moreso than the information screens

-kdf

dean
2005-07-20, 13:28
On Jul 20, 2005, at 1:10 PM, DerekR wrote:
> I can't get the mac address editor working either. Should it be in
> 'settings->information->player information->player mac address'?
> because pressing right then does nothing.
You'll need to be in the player setup area (what comes up when you
first plug the player in.) Press and hold POWER for five seconds to
restart your player and then scroll down to "View Current Settings"
then RIGHT there and scroll to the MAC address.

DerekR
2005-07-20, 13:47
You have to do this from the settings menu you get when restarting the
player, not from the normal settings/information menu.

Thanks Michael, that did the trick. Mac addresses now set back correctly and everything is working again. What a relief!

Ed Atlee
2005-07-20, 14:43
"DerekR"
<DerekR.1shin0 (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com>
wrote in message news:DerekR.1shin0 (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com...
>
> Both mac addresses are now set to 00:04:20:09:01:01

I believe the literal translation of that address is:

00:04:20 "Slim Devices, Inc....
09:01:01 HELP!!!!"

;-)

Ed

dean
2005-07-20, 15:29
That's exactly right. I chose 9:1:1 to indicate that something had
gone wrong and the player had reverted to a pre-factory setting.

Of course, the 4:20 thing has another deeper meaning...


On Jul 20, 2005, at 2:43 PM, Ed Atlee wrote:

>
> "DerekR"
> <DerekR.1shin0 (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com>
> wrote in message news:DerekR.1shin0 (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com...
>
>>
>> Both mac addresses are now set to 00:04:20:09:01:01
>>
>
> I believe the literal translation of that address is:
>
> 00:04:20 "Slim Devices, Inc....
> 09:01:01 HELP!!!!"
>
> ;-)
>
> Ed
>
>
>
>

Ed Atlee
2005-07-21, 09:39
"dean blackketter" <dean (AT) slimdevices (DOT) com> wrote in
message news:BA8A3095-AF17-4C31-B7CE-E08E9EA60982 (AT) slimdevices (DOT) com...
> That's exactly right. I chose 9:1:1 to indicate that something had
> gone wrong and the player had reverted to a pre-factory setting.
>
> Of course, the 4:20 thing has another deeper meaning...

I was thinking of that after I posted...I wasn't sure if
manufacturers/resellers got to choose the first 3 bytes, or if it was a
chance assignment. Seemed a bit fortuitous to be the latter =)

Ed

dean
2005-07-21, 09:47
On Jul 21, 2005, at 9:39 AM, Ed Atlee wrote:

>
> "dean blackketter" <dean (AT) slimdevices (DOT) com> wrote in
> message news:BA8A3095-AF17-4C31-B7CE-E08E9EA60982 (AT) slimdevices (DOT) com...
>
>> That's exactly right. I chose 9:1:1 to indicate that something had
>> gone wrong and the player had reverted to a pre-factory setting.
>>
>> Of course, the 4:20 thing has another deeper meaning...
>>
>
> I was thinking of that after I posted...I wasn't sure if
> manufacturers/resellers got to choose the first 3 bytes, or if it
> was a
> chance assignment. Seemed a bit fortuitous to be the latter =)
Fortuitous, yes. It was chosen for us.

max.spicer
2005-07-21, 10:14
At the risk of appearing very dim, what's the significance?

Max


On Jul 21, 2005, at 9:39 AM, Ed Atlee wrote:

>
> "dean blackketter" <dean (AT) slimdevices (DOT) com> wrote in
> message news:BA8A3095-AF17-4C31-B7CE-E08E9EA60982 (AT) slimdevices (DOT) com...
>
>> That's exactly right. I chose 9:1:1 to indicate that something had
>> gone wrong and the player had reverted to a pre-factory setting.
>>
>> Of course, the 4:20 thing has another deeper meaning...
>>
>
> I was thinking of that after I posted...I wasn't sure if
> manufacturers/resellers got to choose the first 3 bytes, or if it
> was a
> chance assignment. Seemed a bit fortuitous to be the latter =)
Fortuitous, yes. It was chosen for us.

radish
2005-07-21, 10:17
Don't know where you are Max, but this one is something I had to learn when I came to the US - not heard of it being used elsewhere.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/420_%28drug_culture%29

max.spicer
2005-07-21, 10:22
I'm in the UK. Thanks for the link - I'd definitely not come across that before.

Interesting that Dean regards the association between SlimDevices and cannabis as fortuitous. :-) :-)

Max


Don't know where you are Max, but this one is something I had to learn when I came to the US - not heard of it being used elsewhere.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/420_%28drug_culture%29

wr420
2005-07-21, 11:03
>
> I'm in the UK. Thanks for the link - I'd definitely not come across
> that before.
>
> Interesting that Dean regards the association between SlimDevices and
> cannabis as fortuitous. :-) :-)
>

Being a San Francisco native and the owner of several SB's it makes me
just that much prouder to know what fuels this products constant
development.
BTW
Do you offer tours of the facility? See where that magic happens and
all that.
Wr420


The information contained in this e-mail is strictly confidential and for the
intended use of the addressee only; it may also be legally privileged and/or
price sensitive. Notice is hereby given that any disclosure, use or copying
of the information by anyone other than the intended recipient is prohibited
and may be illegal. If you have received this message in error, please
notify the sender immediately by return e-mail. All e-mail sent to this
address will be received by Acacia Pacific Holding's e-mail system and is
subjected to archiving and review by someone other than the recipient.

Acacia Pacific Holdings has taken every reasonable precaution to ensure that
any attachment to this e-mail has been swept for viruses. We accept no
liability for any damage sustained as a result of software viruses and
advise you carry out your own virus checks before opening any attachment.

Robin Bowes
2005-07-22, 01:41
max.spicer wrote:
> I'm in the UK. Thanks for the link - I'd definitely not come across
> that before.
>
> Interesting that Dean regards the association between SlimDevices and
> cannabis as fortuitous. :-) :-)

Why do you think it takes so long to get releases out? ;)

They're in California. What do you expect? :)

R.

dean
2005-07-22, 06:15
Whoa! Dude! You are killing my buzz!

On Jul 22, 2005, at 1:41 AM, Robin Bowes wrote:

> max.spicer wrote:
>
>> I'm in the UK. Thanks for the link - I'd definitely not come across
>> that before.
>> Interesting that Dean regards the association between SlimDevices and
>> cannabis as fortuitous. :-) :-)
>>
>
> Why do you think it takes so long to get releases out? ;)
>
> They're in California. What do you expect? :)

Robin Bowes
2005-07-22, 06:23
dean blackketter wrote:
> Whoa! Dude! You are killing my buzz!
>
> On Jul 22, 2005, at 1:41 AM, Robin Bowes wrote:
>
>> max.spicer wrote:
>>
>>> I'm in the UK. Thanks for the link - I'd definitely not come across
>>> that before.
>>> Interesting that Dean regards the association between SlimDevices and
>>> cannabis as fortuitous. :-) :-)
>>>
>>
>> Why do you think it takes so long to get releases out? ;)
>>
>> They're in California. What do you expect? :)

Like, peace man.

R.