PDA

View Full Version : no digital output for internet radio



Greg Klanderman
2005-07-12, 06:01
Hi,

I posted this problem a few weeks ago but there was no response..
could someone from SlimDevices please comment?

When I listen to internet radio stations, i.e.

http://www.live365.com/play/wumb919fast

there is no signal on the digital outputs from my SB1. My hypothesis
is that the sampling rate of the station is not compatible; I believe
that the digital output only supports 44.1kHz and 48kHz rates.

Is there a way to display the station's sampling rate to confirm this
hypothesis?

It also seems that in this situation, even though the digital output
is not being used, it remains active. My amplifier auto-senses which
input types are available, preferring digital over analog, but does not
detect that the digital is inactive and switch to analog when playing
radio. This is really irritating as I then have to manually switch
the amplifier.

The SB1's analog output levels are so low compared to other component
inputs that I really prefer to use the digital output.

Would it be possible to configure convert.conf to have streams that
are not at 44.1 or 48kHz resampled to 44.1? Looking at it, the file
format does not look to be general enough to condition the filter on
the input stream's sample rate.

thanks,
Greg

dean
2005-07-12, 07:39
Squeezebox1 only supports digital out on sources with sample rates of
32k, 44.1k and 48k.

Squeezebox2 will sample rate convert other rates as needed.

-dean
On Jul 12, 2005, at 6:01 AM, Greg Klanderman wrote:

>
> Hi,
>
> I posted this problem a few weeks ago but there was no response..
> could someone from SlimDevices please comment?
>
> When I listen to internet radio stations, i.e.
>
> http://www.live365.com/play/wumb919fast
>
> there is no signal on the digital outputs from my SB1. My hypothesis
> is that the sampling rate of the station is not compatible; I believe
> that the digital output only supports 44.1kHz and 48kHz rates.
>
> Is there a way to display the station's sampling rate to confirm this
> hypothesis?
>
> It also seems that in this situation, even though the digital output
> is not being used, it remains active. My amplifier auto-senses which
> input types are available, preferring digital over analog, but does
> not
> detect that the digital is inactive and switch to analog when playing
> radio. This is really irritating as I then have to manually switch
> the amplifier.
>
> The SB1's analog output levels are so low compared to other component
> inputs that I really prefer to use the digital output.
>
> Would it be possible to configure convert.conf to have streams that
> are not at 44.1 or 48kHz resampled to 44.1? Looking at it, the file
> format does not look to be general enough to condition the filter on
> the input stream's sample rate.
>
> thanks,
> Greg
>

Greg Klanderman
2005-07-12, 09:24
>>>>> dean blackketter <dean (AT) slimdevices (DOT) com> writes:

> Squeezebox1 only supports digital out on sources with sample rates
> of 32k, 44.1k and 48k.

Hi Dean, is there some way to see the sampling rate for an internet
radio stream?

> Squeezebox2 will sample rate convert other rates as needed.

I assume you mean in the SB2 box itself, rather than the server?
Is there any way to do the sample rate conversion on the server
side for an SB1?

thanks,
greg

radish
2005-07-12, 11:23
If you can open the stream in something like winamp or wmp it should give you the details.

Roy Owen
2005-07-12, 11:29
On 7/12/05, Greg Klanderman <gak (AT) klanderman (DOT) net> wrote:
>
>
> I assume you mean in the SB2 box itself, rather than the server?
> Is there any way to do the sample rate conversion on the server
> side for an SB1?


Not that I am aware of. I face a similar problem. I've resolved it by using
both the digital and analog outputs of my SBG. When I want to listen to
Mp3's etc I use the input on my reciever that has the digital input(Video
2). When I listen to internet radio I use the analog device (CD).

--
Do meddle in the affairs of Dragons,
for you are crunchy and good with Tabasco.

fuzzyT
2005-07-12, 11:47
> On 7/12/05, *Greg Klanderman*
> <mailto:gak (AT) klanderman (DOT) net>> wrote:
>
> I assume you mean in the SB2 box itself, rather than the server?
> Is there any way to do the sample rate conversion on the server
> side for an SB1?

IIRC, the SS config files can be tweaked such that the MP3 content
streaming to the SB1 player can be piped through Lame. Using the
resample flag, you should be able to get a playable stream to the outputs.

I've not done this myself. Maybe someone can pipe in (sic) with the
specifics on how to accomplish this.

--rt

Greg Klanderman
2005-07-12, 12:06
> If you can open the stream in something like winamp or wmp it should
> give you the details.

I assume those are windows players? I tried realplayer (I'm on
linux/FC3) but it doesn't seem to display the sample rate anywhere.
So there's no way to get the SB to tell you the sample rate?

thanks,
greg

kdf
2005-07-12, 12:12
Quoting Greg Klanderman <gak (AT) klanderman (DOT) net>:

>
> > If you can open the stream in something like winamp or wmp it should
> > give you the details.
>
> I assume those are windows players? I tried realplayer (I'm on
> linux/FC3) but it doesn't seem to display the sample rate anywhere.
> So there's no way to get the SB to tell you the sample rate?

if you have the stream playing, you can press RIGHT from the now playing screen
and get more detailed information about the current stream.

-kdf

Greg Klanderman
2005-07-12, 12:14
>>>>> ron thigpen <ron (AT) fuzzsonic (DOT) com> writes:

> IIRC, the SS config files can be tweaked such that the MP3 content streaming to
> the SB1 player can be piped through Lame. Using the resample flag, you should
> be able to get a playable stream to the outputs.

I don't think there's a way to have it only invoke the resampling if
the sample rate is not 44.1k or 48k, which is what you want. Also,
from a quick glance at the code, it wasn't clear whether it is
possible to invoke the conversions on internet radio streams.

Maybe I'll just see what I can get for my SB1 on Ebay and upgrade to
an SB2..

greg

Greg Klanderman
2005-07-12, 12:17
>>>>> Roy Owen <yddraig (AT) gmail (DOT) com> writes:

> Not that I am aware of. I face a similar problem. I've resolved it by using both the digital and
> analog outputs of my SBG. When I want to listen to Mp3's etc I use the input on my reciever that
> has the digital input(Video 2). When I listen to internet radio I use the analog device (CD).

Yeah, that's essentially what I'm doing now. Except I have both the
digital and analog going into the same input. If they'd just turn off
the digital output stage when not in use, my amp would automatically
use the analog input.

greg

Greg Klanderman
2005-07-12, 12:57
>>>>> kdf <slim-mail (AT) deane-freeman (DOT) com> writes:

> if you have the stream playing, you can press RIGHT from the now playing
> screen and get more detailed information about the current stream.

That'll tell you the bit rate, but not the sampling rate, at least in
SS 6.0. Maybe tonight I'll finally get around to trying 6.1 and see
if that got added. Otherwise, I imagine I can hack it in relatively
easily..

greg

fuzzyT
2005-07-12, 13:13
Greg Klanderman wrote:

> I don't think there's a way to have it only invoke the resampling if
> the sample rate is not 44.1k or 48k, which is what you want.

AFAIK, that's correct. The resampling pass through Lame could be
limited by player and media type, but not sampling rate of the media
type, or origin (radio stream vs. local file). So, Lame would be doing
some unnecessary processing in some, perhaps many, cases. Far from
ideal, but perhaps workable.

> Maybe I'll just see what I can get for my SB1 on Ebay and upgrade to
> an SB2..

Probably the best route. And get the other benefits of the upgrade as
well. I did exactly this mainly to avoid 802.11b issues and the Least
Common Denominator effect when streaming FLAC while sync'd. After
selling my SB1, the cost seemed reasonable.

And now, sync'd, lossless playback is rockin' my house at both ends.

Yip!

--rt

radish
2005-07-12, 13:16
> If you can open the stream in something like winamp or wmp it should
> give you the details.

I assume those are windows players? I tried realplayer (I'm on
linux/FC3) but it doesn't seem to display the sample rate anywhere.
So there's no way to get the SB to tell you the sample rate?

thanks,
greg

Yes, they are. I actually just tried windows real player and wmp and neither gave the samplerate. I don't have winamp handy here to try it. For linux, you could try something like mplayer.

radish
2005-07-12, 17:29
When I listen to internet radio stations, i.e.

http://www.live365.com/play/wumb919fast

there is no signal on the digital outputs from my SB1. My hypothesis
is that the sampling rate of the station is not compatible; I believe
that the digital output only supports 44.1kHz and 48kHz rates.


FYI, that particular station is 22kHz. Winamp does indeed display the sample rate.

Greg Klanderman
2005-07-13, 03:56
>>>>> radish <radish.1s313z (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com> writes:

> FYI, that particular station is 22kHz. Winamp does indeed display the
> sample rate.

thanks Radish!

Roy Owen
2005-07-13, 04:43
That's a great station Greg. Thanks for the link.

On 7/13/05, Greg Klanderman <gak (AT) klanderman (DOT) net> wrote:
>
>
> >>>>> radish <radish.1s313z (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com> writes:
>
> > FYI, that particular station is 22kHz. Winamp does indeed display the
> > sample rate.
>
> thanks Radish!
>

Greg Klanderman
2005-07-13, 06:39
>>>>> Roy Owen <yddraig (AT) gmail (DOT) com> writes:

> That's a great station Greg. Thanks for the link.

Glad you like it! Sometimes I forget how lucky we are to have such a
great folk radio station local on the airwaves. My (now) wife turned
me on to them five or six years ago when we lived down in Boston, and
we've been members for a few years. But since we moved 25 miles north
a year ago, we're right on the fringe of being able to get them in so
it's great having them on the SB. They just recently added two new
internet-only streams too: traditional folk and contemporary folk.

cheers,
Greg