PDA

View Full Version : How does transcoding work with SB1/SB2 combo?



mkozlows
2005-07-01, 15:44
I have both an SB1 and an SB2 attached to the same SlimServer (latest production version). My music is in WMA Lossless. I want it to transcode to WAV on the SB1 and FLAC on the SB2. Currently, I have both the WMA/WAV and WMA/FLAC checkboxes checked (but not the WMA/MP3 one). Will this do what I want, or will it stream WAV to both devices?

radish
2005-07-01, 17:18
Each player has an order of preference for what stream format it wants, so the SB2 will try for flac before wav. You should have no problems with flac to the sb2 and wav to the sb1.

Spies
2005-07-02, 09:55
Unless you have the players synced. Then they will both get the lowest
common denominator. In this case it would be WAV.

On 7/1/05, radish <radish.1rinbb (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com> wrote:
>
> Each player has an order of preference for what stream format it wants,
> so the SB2 will try for flac before wav. You should have no problems
> with flac to the sb2 and wav to the sb1.
>
>
> --
> radish
>