PDA

View Full Version : Resetting the SB2

max.spicer
2005-07-01, 04:37
As part of my ongoing network issues, I've just got a new wireless router. For some reason, I can't get the SB2 to connect to it, although every other device is fine. It worked fine before, and with the same model router, so I'm guessing I've done something stupid. I'll have a good fiddle this weekend and hopefully find out, but the first thing that I would like to try is a full reset of the SB2 in order to make sure it's not got confused about having a virtually identical wireless network turn up with the same essid as the old one. How can I do such a factory reset of the SB2, and is there anything I need to be aware of? I've tried holding various keys at random, but haven't yet stumbled across the right one. :-)

Thanks,

Max

Graybatch
2005-07-01, 08:05
I'm no expert, but, having just done the same as you - i.e. purchase a new router - the way to reboot the SB2 is to press and hold the power button on the remote. You will go back to the original menus to define your network settings. It worked for me!

GB

max.spicer
2005-07-02, 01:31
I'm no expert, but, having just done the same as you - i.e. purchase a new router - the way to reboot the SB2 is to press and hold the power button on the remote. You will go back to the original menus to define your network settings. It worked for me!
Thanks, but I knew about that one. Pressing and holding power is pretty much the same as pulling power cable out of the back and putting it back again. I believe there is a much "nastier" reset that you can do by holding another key.

Max

kdf
2005-07-02, 01:49
Quoting "max.spicer" <max.spicer.1rja8b (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com>:

>
> Graybatch Wrote:
> > I'm no expert, but, having just done the same as you - i.e. purchase a
> > new router - the way to reboot the SB2 is to press and hold the power
> > button on the remote. You will go back to the original menus to define