PDA

View Full Version : [Slim-Checkins] r3586 - in trunk/server/HTML:Default Fishbone/html



Grotus
2005-06-30, 23:15
kdf (AT) svn (DOT) slimdevices.com blurted out:
> Author: kdf
> Date: 2005-06-30 20:30:33 -0700 (Thu, 30 Jun 2005)
> New Revision: 3586
>
> Modified:
> trunk/server/HTML/Default/playlist.html
> trunk/server/HTML/Fishbone/html/scripts.js
> Log:
> Bug: 1738
> Description: reverting previous change. it turns out that Safari is
> the reason for the == "" test. Without it, safari will go into rapid
> reload. I have no idea how to resolve this particular conflict.

How about adding this to the if clause?
|| navigator.appName=="Microsoft Internet Explorer"

kdf
2005-06-30, 23:16
Quoting Robert Moser <rlmoser (AT) comcast (DOT) net>:


> How about adding this to the if clause?
> || navigator.appName=="Microsoft Internet Explorer"
>
I'm willing to give it a go :)
phew....good thing the web has standards to stick to ;)

many thanks
-kdf

Grotus
2005-07-01, 07:59
kdf wrote:
> Quoting Robert Moser <rlmoser (AT) comcast (DOT) net>:
>
>
>
>>How about adding this to the if clause?
>>|| navigator.appName=="Microsoft Internet Explorer"
>>
>
> I'm willing to give it a go :)
> phew....good thing the web has standards to stick to ;)
>
> many thanks
> -kdf

Here's something else to try:

function to_currentsong() {
window.location.hash = '';
window.location.hash = 'currentsong';
}

That might workaround the Safari bug without needing a browser check.

Grotus
2005-07-01, 08:08
Robert Moser wrote:
> kdf wrote:
>
>> Quoting Robert Moser <rlmoser (AT) comcast (DOT) net>:
>>
>>
>>
>>> How about adding this to the if clause?
>>> || navigator.appName=="Microsoft Internet Explorer"
>>>
>>
>> I'm willing to give it a go :)
>> phew....good thing the web has standards to stick to ;)
>>
>> many thanks
>> -kdf
>
>
> Here's something else to try:
>
> function to_currentsong() {
> window.location.hash = '';
> window.location.hash = 'currentsong';
> }
>
> That might workaround the Safari bug without needing a browser check.

Bah, that will have problems if window.location.hash starts off == ''.

Maybe this instead:
function to_currentsong() {
window.location.hash = 'bogus';
window.location.hash = 'currentsong';
}

That way, as long as you didn't start out at the bogus anchor (which
hopefully won't exist), you shouldn't trigger the Safari bug.

kdf
2005-07-01, 12:18
Quoting Robert Moser <rlmoser (AT) comcast (DOT) net>:


> Bah, that will have problems if window.location.hash starts off == ''.
>
> Maybe this instead:
> function to_currentsong() {
> window.location.hash = 'bogus';
> window.location.hash = 'currentsong';
> }
>
> That way, as long as you didn't start out at the bogus anchor (which
> hopefully won't exist), you shouldn't trigger the Safari bug.

With this crowd, I'd avoid betting on how long until somebody hits the magic
word :)

It turns out that my original change didn't work becuase javascript doesnt like
parens in the conditionals, at least in firefox. I'll fix that and go with the
browser check for now. What are everyone's thoughts on using one method vs the
other?

thanks,
kdf

Grotus
2005-07-01, 14:31
kdf wrote:
> It turns out that my original change didn't work becuase javascript doesnt like
> parens in the conditionals, at least in firefox. I'll fix that and go with the
> browser check for now. What are everyone's thoughts on using one method vs the
> other?

It was probably complaining about the fact that the parens you had were
mismatched. Before your last change you have two lefts and three
rights, compared to one and one after.

kdf
2005-07-01, 14:42
Quoting Robert Moser <rlmoser (AT) comcast (DOT) net>:

> kdf wrote:
> > It turns out that my original change didn't work becuase javascript doesnt
> like
> > parens in the conditionals, at least in firefox. I'll fix that and go with
> the
> > browser check for now. What are everyone's thoughts on using one method vs
> the
> > other?
>
> It was probably complaining about the fact that the parens you had were
> mismatched. Before your last change you have two lefts and three
> rights, compared to one and one after.
>
yeah. seems to be working now. I haven't gone back to test on safari yet,
however. Firefox and IE seem happy.

-kdf