PDA

View Full Version : Platinum Squeezebox UK - Dead on Arrival



flidget
2005-06-24, 10:36
Hi,

After many months of waiting (since early April), my new squeezebox arrived today. But when I plug it into the power socket - nothing happens, nothing whatsoever!

Does anyone else have this problem?

Neil.

Patrick Dixon
2005-06-24, 11:31
I'm sorry to hear that.

Mine arrived today too (I only ordered it yesterday, so I haven't had to wait too long). Funny thing was the seal on the box was broken; I guess the supplier had to look inside, just to make sure it really was silver ;-)

Seems to power up. It's not for me, so I haven't gone any further than that.

beo
2005-06-24, 11:44
I just got mine, and I'm not even going to order it until tomorrow.

I tried it out, and found that it supports replay gain, streams video, and does my taxes.

flidget
2005-06-24, 11:48
Hi Beo,

Glad to hear you pay your taxes.

seanadams
2005-06-24, 12:03
We had a problem recently with some of our processor modules getting
dislodged in shipping. If you're comfortable opening the case you can
try re-seating it. Otherwise contact your reseller for repair. Sorry
for the inconvenience.

On Jun 24, 2005, at 10:36 AM, flidget wrote:

>
> Hi,
>
> After many months of waiting (since early April), my new squeezebox
> arrived today. But when I plug it into the power socket - nothing
> happens, nothing whatsoever!
>
> Does anyone else have this problem?
>
> Neil.
>
>
> --
> flidget
>
> Best Regards,
> Neil McCarthy
> http://www.incomelink.co.uk
>

flidget
2005-06-24, 12:33
Hi,

I've opened the case and everything looks nice and neat/tidy with no obvious loose bits (not sure exactly which component is the processor module). So it looks like it's back to Multitask for a replacement.

Is it worth me checking the power supply? I have an original SL1MP3 unit - are the power supplies compatible?

Thanks.
Neil.

seanadams
2005-06-24, 12:40
hang on a minute I'm making some illustrated instructions

On Jun 24, 2005, at 12:33 PM, flidget wrote:

>
> Hi,
>
> I've opened the case and everything looks nice and neat/tidy with no
> obvious loose bits (not sure exactly which component is the processor
> module). So it looks like it's back to Multitask for a replacement.
>
> Is is worth me checking the power supply? I have an original SL1MP3
> unit - are the power supplies compatable?
>
> Thanks.
> Neil.
>
>
> --
> flidget
>
> Best Regards,
> Neil McCarthy
> http://www.easyphoto.co.uk
>

seanadams
2005-06-24, 12:54
See here:

http://www.seanadams.com/loose_cpu/



>
> I've opened the case and everything looks nice and neat/tidy with no
> obvious loose bits (not sure exactly which component is the processor
> module). So it looks like it's back to Multitask for a replacement.
>

Fifer
2005-06-24, 14:08
You've got to admire the service and support around here ...

bklaas
2005-06-24, 14:21
I don't live in the UK, haven't ordered a platinum SB2, and have no reason (yet) to open the case of any of my squeezeboxen, but I just have to add...

I LOVE the fact you are willing to post instructions for a customer to reseat the CPU. You just doubly reinforced my company loyalty. That is so cool.

#!/ben

flidget
2005-06-24, 14:56
BINGO :-)

I followed the instructions and the processor clicked down about another 1mm.

It now works perfectly.

Many thanks.
Neil.

dean
2005-06-24, 15:04
We've fixed this problem in the factory (a well placed drop of CA
glue does wonders) for new units.

I'm guessing that there was a crate of players that was dropped in a
particular way that didn't damage the players permanently, but did
manage to wedge the CPU cards out consistently. Glad it's working
for you!

-dean

On Jun 24, 2005, at 2:56 PM, flidget wrote:

>
> BINGO :-)
>
> I followed the instructions and the processor clicked down about
> another 1mm.
>
> It now works perfectly.
>
> Many thanks.
> Neil.
>
>
> --
> flidget
>
> Best Regards,
> Neil McCarthy
> http://www.easyphoto.co.uk
>

kdf
2005-06-24, 15:10
Quoting flidget <flidget.1r5i5z (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com>:

>
> BINGO :-)
>
> I followed the instructions and the processor clicked down about
> another 1mm.
>
> It now works perfectly.

fortunately, Sean takes payment in oysters

Patrick Dixon
2005-06-25, 01:17
I'm guessing that there was a crate of players that was dropped in a
particular way that didn't damage the players permanently, but did
manage to wedge the CPU cards out consistently. Glad it's working
for you!I think it's just air frieght. I used to design broadcast TV standards converters for a UK company. Our products were 19" rack based card frames, and we found we had to add horizontal locking bars (top & bottom) across the front of the cards to stop them being unseated 'in transit'. Even then we had one standards converter where all the cards had been unseated and jumped their card guides during shipping. The locking bars were still in place!

dean
2005-06-25, 06:47
It happens to the best of us. :)

We really did think of this ahead of time, there's a bolt, spacer and
nut holding the card in place but there's enough distance between the
bolt and the connector to allow the connector to come loose.

(We didn't have this problem with the first connector we used, but
when we changed parts, the behavior was different.)

-dean

On Jun 25, 2005, at 1:17 AM, Patrick Dixon wrote:

>
>
>> I'm guessing that there was a crate of players that was dropped in a
>> particular way that didn't damage the players permanently, but did
>> manage to wedge the CPU cards out consistently. Glad it's working
>> for you!I think it's just air frieght. I used to design broadcast
>> TV standards
>>
> converters for a UK company. Our products were 19" rack based card
> frames, and we found we had to add horizontal locking bars (top &
> bottom) across the front of the cards to stop them being unseated 'in
> transit'. Even then we had one standards converter where all the
> cards
> had been unseated and jumped their card guides during shipping. The
> locking bars were still in place!
>
>
> --
> Patrick Dixon
>

adhawkins
2005-06-26, 14:56
Hi,

In article <flidget.1r564n (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com>,
flidget<flidget.1r564n (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com> wrote:
> After many months of waiting (since early April), my new squeezebox
> arrived today. But when I plug it into the power socket - nothing
> happens, nothing whatsoever!
>
> Does anyone else have this problem?

I'm sure it's no help to you, but no, I didn't have this problem. I was up
and running in a few minutes.

I suggest you contact whoever you bought it from, I'm sure they'll replace
it if it is faulty.

Andy

smst
2005-06-27, 08:45
Hi,

on 2005-06-24 20:54 Sean Adams said the following:
> See here:
>
> http://www.seanadams.com/loose_cpu/

Just got my platinum SB2 (despite DHL's best efforts not to deliver) and
seem to be having the same problem: there must be power because the
relevant light is aglow on my ethernet switch, but the screen is black.

What's the situation with the warranty if I open the case and follow the
above instructions? Especially if I fix it this way but something else
goes wrong in the future. I'm comfortable opening it otherwise.

Thanks,
Steve

--
Steve Tregidgo

seanadams
2005-06-27, 10:58
> Just got my platinum SB2 (despite DHL's best efforts not to
> deliver) and seem to be having the same problem: there must be
> power because the relevant light is aglow on my ethernet switch,
> but the screen is black.
>
> What's the situation with the warranty if I open the case and
> follow the above instructions? Especially if I fix it this way but
> something else goes wrong in the future. I'm comfortable opening
> it otherwise.
>

Don't worry about it. We'd much rather you spent 5 minutes fixing it
than to handle the repair and shipping. We have no problem with
customers opening them up - there are no tamper stickers etc. However
if you want to make internal hardware mods and such, that's at your
own risk.

smst
2005-06-27, 14:02
Hi Sean,

on 2005-06-27 18:58 Sean Adams said the following:
> Don't worry about it. We'd much rather you spent 5 minutes fixing it
> than to handle the repair and shipping. We have no problem with
> customers opening them up - there are no tamper stickers etc.

That's a refreshing attitude, and I guess I ought to have expected it
from what I've read while lurking. The errant component is re-seated
now and the SB2 is playing away merrily. I'm now very happy. :-)

> However if you want to make internal hardware mods and such, that's
> at your own risk.

Understood.

Cheers,
Steve

--
Steve Tregidgo

oldsmobuick
2005-06-27, 14:53
Tech support was very helpful. just be sure that if you take off the card under the wireless card that you keep track of the bolt, spacer and tiny tiny nut.

-nick

ptrduffy
2005-06-27, 16:38
Add me to the list. I'd already arranged an RMA through dabs when I found this thread.

Funny thing is, I'd previously opened the unit to see if I could fix it, and thought the connector in question looked a bit iffy, but couldn't remove the wireless card. Sean's diagram was all I needed to give it another go, and I'm now a happy camper :)

dabs RMA is cancelled...