PDA

View Full Version : Fast forward & Rewind



stuorguk
2005-06-21, 03:04
I find the Fast forward & Rewind rather slow, and unintuitive. I was thinking about how this could be improved.

As an optional alternative, how about the following:

Rather than playing in stepped intervals while it scans, how about just visually indicating where in the file you are on a full screen barograph. When you hold down the FF/RW button, the Barograph moves up (or down), first starting slow, then accelerating. The moment you release the FF/RW button, playback resumes from the new position.

What do other people think?

max.spicer
2005-06-21, 04:51
I too dislike the SB2's fast forward/rewind feature. Compared to the way cd players fast forward, it's awful. My wife doesn't even let me fast forward when she's around as she hates the way it sounds. A visual display would be a nice alternative for when she's around.

What are the problems behind doing better fast forwarding? Is it not possible to do it like cd players do instead?

Max

kdf
2005-06-21, 08:44
Quoting stuorguk <stuorguk.1qz12b (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com>:

> Rather than playing in stepped intervals while it scans, how about just
> visually indicating where in the file you are on a full screen
> barograph. When you hold down the FF/RW button, the Barograph moves up
> (or down), first starting slow, then accelerating. The moment you
> release the FF/RW button, playback resumes from the new position.

There is a plugin for this:
http://www.deane-freeman.com/slimserver/Scanner.pm

no one-key solution, but that's just how it is :)
-kdf

stuorguk
2005-06-21, 14:02
There is a plugin for this:
http://www.deane-freeman.com/slimserver/Scanner.pm

no one-key solution, but that's just how it is :)
-kdf


Thanks, that's exactly what I had in mind. If only it would work like that as default. Is it possible to remap a remote-key, to start the plugin. I would also like to start the RandomPlay plugin by holding down a button.

Stuart.

kdf
2005-06-21, 14:20
Quoting stuorguk <stuorguk.1qzvmb (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com>:

>
> kdf Wrote:
> >
> >
> > There is a plugin for this:
> > http://www.deane-freeman.com/slimserver/Scanner.pm
> >
> > no one-key solution, but that's just how it is :)
> > -kdf
>
>
> Thanks, that's exactly what I had in mind. If only it would work like
> that as default. Is it possible to remap a remote-key, to start the
> plugin. I would also like to start the RandomPlay plugin by holding
> down a button.

plugins cannot do that. They cannot usurp mappings from default modes.
you would have to create a custom mapping, that takes a button and jumps you
into the plugin.

0.hold = menu_PLUGIN.Scanner
1.hold = menu_PLUGIN.Random

(Random would need a bit more work to allow a direct random track command from a
button)

What you might also do is go into player settings->menus and place the plugin
you want into the home menu. That way, from now playing, you are only a couple
button presses away from the scanner, or random.



-kdf