PDA

View Full Version : Slimserver Unusable Again



Peter Pouliot
2005-06-19, 09:32
Hi Folks,
So I'll dispense w/ the layout of what I have running then get to the
issue.

2 x Sqeezebox1 (running over dedicated 802.11b network just for them)
1 x Slimp3 (wired)

Dual Proc G4, w/ 1gb of ram, lots of disk and running tiger
25004 songs
1514 albums

So, I was running 6.01 stock which was relatively stable. All
players functioned ok, minor pauses in playback here and there, but
they were infrequent so it was acceptable.

Upgrade for 6.02 came out so I upgraded, after upgrade skipping,
constant reboots of squeezeboxes, but slimp3 seemed ok, tried to
downgrade back to 6.01 but problems w/ squeezeboxes rebooting still
occurred.

Upgraded to nightly build of 6.1. same thing occured. squeezeboxes
rebooting while playing, then not coming back online, would have to
pull the power for them to recover. Usually they would recover on
thier own. One of the dedicated access points sits about 2 feet from
the squeezebox, the other sits about 5ft from the squeezebox.

I use orinoco access points for their dedicated wireless network.\

So I continue to upgrade following nightlys of 6.1 hoping it will
ultimately fix the issue but no love. So i downgrade to 6.03 nightly
to see if it will help any. It actually made it worse. Now the
slimp3 sounds like robocop while it's playing, all the audio is
garbled. The slimp3 was the most stable working of the bunch.

So basically I'm at the point where the wife is begining to become
frustrated w/ the whole setup and wants to go back to just schlepping
cds. So I need a fix. Anyone have any ideas. I can easily give
plenty of debugging info, if someone can give me the necessary flags
to turn on.

Previously I was having the same issue w/ pre 6.0, and had sent it a
tcp dump, but 6.01 had seemed to work for the most part so I never
heard anything else.

Any help is greatly appreciated and will hopefully increase the WAF
back to what it was.

Cheers,

p

stuorguk
2005-06-20, 02:04
I recently upgraded from SB1 to an SB2. I was suffering a lot of the same problems with the SB1 disconnecting whilst browsing. SB2 seems much better. One of the reasons I upgraded, was that I listen to a lot of mp2 files recorded from Digital Radio. My SB1 wouldn’t play the files, unless I played the files via MAD Play (something to do with the way broadcast mp2's are encoded). Happily, the SB2 (which uses MAD), plays them perfectly. However, when I hit play, there is about a 10 second delay before anything happens. Don't know if it's related, but its very frustrating.

Stuart.

Peter J. Pouliot
2005-06-20, 07:34
Yeah, unfortunately upgrading is not an option right now. I have too
much invested in the 2 squeezeboxes and Slimp3. But I would like to
get everything so at least it functional. I have switched the units to
hardware to do some testing but haven't had the opportunity to play with
it yet.

p


On Mon, 2005-06-20 at 02:04 -0700, stuorguk wrote:
> I recently upgraded from SB1 to an SB2. I was suffering a lot of the
> same problems with the SB1 disconnecting whilst browsing. SB2 seems
> much better. One of the reasons I upgraded, was that I listen to a lot
> of mp2 files recorded from Digital Radio. My SB1 wouldnt play the
> files, unless I played the files via MAD Play (something to do with the
> way broadcast mp2's are encoded). Happily, the SB2 (which uses MAD),
> plays them perfectly. However, when I hit play, there is about a 10
> second delay before anything happens. Don't know if it's related, but
> its very frustrating.
>
> Stuart.
>
>