PDA

View Full Version : CLI on windows box?



BKDotCom
2005-06-14, 22:37
SlimServer 6.0.2

Telneting to localhost 9090 times out...
(I've confirmed that this is the port in the settings)

And from the command line itself?
slimserver --stdio
starts GUI

slimserver.exe players 0 2
I get an alert box:
Slimserver:
"c:\program files\slimserver\players was not found"

What on earth am I doing wrong?

mherger
2005-06-14, 23:36
> Telneting to localhost 9090 times out...
> (I've confirmed that this is the port in the settings)

How do you connect? Be sure _not_ to put a colon between localhost and the
port number ("telnet localhost 9090").

--

Michael

-----------------------------------------------------------
Help translate SlimServer by using the
StringEditor Plugin (http://www.herger.net/slim/)

BKDotCom
2005-06-15, 07:37
> Telneting to localhost 9090 times out...
> (I've confirmed that this is the port in the settings)

How do you connect? Be sure _not_ to put a colon between localhost and the port number ("telnet localhost 9090").Correct. Using space (not colon). Actually used the PuTTY telnet client first where port is in a separate field from the host.

BKDotCom
2005-06-15, 20:19
SlimServer 6.0.2

Telneting to localhost 9090 times out...
(I've confirmed that this is the port in the settings)

(Snip)

What on earth am I doing wrong?The documentation is wrong?
Telnet does not work, however opening a raw connection to the port does get me in.

Maditude
2005-06-15, 20:42
> Telnet does not work, however opening a raw connection to the
> port does get me in.

That doesn't make any sense.

open up a console window (aka "dos window").
type this command:
telnet localhost 9090

it'll look like nothing's happening, but as long as you don't get a response back like "connection refused", that means it's connected. If you're using the windows telnet client, hit Ctrl+] followed by quit to close the session.

BKDotCom
2005-06-15, 21:42
OK... I get the bonehead of the day award.
I swear it wasn't connecting earlier..
and with my latest attempts I simply saw the "connecting to ....."
message and assumed it never connected....

But, in the meantime, I have managed to write a nifty PHP script that grabs my current winamp playlist (via the httpQ winamp plugin). All tracks that have a "mapping" on my slimserver (and URLs) are then enqueued on the slim (via web interface right now)....

How if only I knew how to write a winamp plugin...

Philip Meyer
2005-06-16, 12:19
I have tried to connect using the MS Windows cmd prompt telnet command.

When I do "telnet localhost 9090", I get a blank window with flashing cursor. If I type anything, such as "login" or "version", the telnet session just exits back to a standard DOS prompt without any output.

Am I doing something wrong?

Thanks,
Phil

Karl
2005-06-16, 12:30
Try player ? and press enter

It will tell you how many players you have

Player id 0 ? 'enter' or 1 etc will tell you the mac address of the player


If you then type the mac address play 'enter' it will play

Note the mac address that it gives you back %3a = :

Any more info just ask - Trying to update the crestron module at the minute
that uses all these commands

-----Original Message-----
From: discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
[mailto:discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com] On Behalf Of Philip Meyer
Sent: 16 June 2005 20:19
To: Slim Devices Discussion
Subject: Re: [slim] Re: CLI on windows box?

I have tried to connect using the MS Windows cmd prompt telnet command.

When I do "telnet localhost 9090", I get a blank window with flashing
cursor. If I type anything, such as "login" or "version", the telnet
session just exits back to a standard DOS prompt without any output.

Am I doing something wrong?

Thanks,
Phil

Maditude
2005-06-16, 12:43
I have tried to connect using the MS Windows cmd prompt telnet command.

When I do "telnet localhost 9090", I get a blank window with flashing cursor. If I type anything, such as "login" or "version", the telnet session just exits back to a standard DOS prompt without any output.

Am I doing something wrong?
Phil

Nope. You're connected, but you need to speak (well, type) in the proper dialect of slimserver command-line-interface. ;-)

Point your webbrowser at your slimserver config (presumably http://localhost:9000, then at the bottom of the page, you'll see a "Help" section, choose the "Technical Information" section. Next choose the "Slim Server Command Line Interface", for a lengthy discussion of how the CLI works.

Philip Meyer
2005-06-16, 13:46
>Nope. You're connected, but you need to speak (well, type) in the
>proper dialect of slimserver command-line-interface. ;-)
>
>Point your webbrowser at your slimserver config (presumably
>http://localhost:9000, then at the bottom of the page, you'll see a
>"Help" section, choose the "Technical Information" section. Next
>choose the "Slim Server Command Line Interface", for a lengthy
>discussion of how the CLI works.
>
I was reading the help page via Help -> Technical Information -> The SlimServer Command Line Interface.

The first command I saw listed, was "login" which I assumed I would need to use, as I do use username/password protection. It didn't work. I tried a few other commands, but all had the same result - returning blank.

However, I just tried again, with "login <user> <pass>" and got back an echo of my username and ******.

I *think* I might have misread and typed "logon" instead of "login" previously ;)

Phil

Philip Meyer
2005-06-16, 13:52
>Try player ? and press enter
>

I typed logon <user> <pass> and got an echo back: login <user>.

I then tried player ? and got back: player %3F.

I guess %3F is hex (63 dec). The ASCII of that is "5". I don't have 5 players - 2 listed in slimserver, unless perhaps it includes old units that I may have had connected in the past (PDA, softsqueeze on localhost, and streaming from work PC).

Does that sound right?

Phil

Karl
2005-06-16, 14:02
Sorry players ?

Should get players %3F count%3A2

Any % characters are ascii character set (3F = ? 3A = :)

-----Original Message-----
From: discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
[mailto:discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com] On Behalf Of Philip Meyer
Sent: 16 June 2005 21:52
To: Slim Devices Discussion
Subject: Re: [slim] Re: CLI on windows box?

>Try player ? and press enter
>

I typed logon <user> <pass> and got an echo back: login <user>.

I then tried player ? and got back: player %3F.

I guess %3F is hex (63 dec). The ASCII of that is "5". I don't have 5
players - 2 listed in slimserver, unless perhaps it includes old units that
I may have had connected in the past (PDA, softsqueeze on localhost, and
streaming from work PC).

Does that sound right?

Phil