PDA

View Full Version : Lower default bitrate limit for internet streaming?



jeas
2005-06-11, 06:52
I use slimserver to listen to my music collection by streaming it over the net. As I'm connecting to the server from different IP's (mostly dialup accounts), I have to change the default 320kBit bitrate limit nearly every time I connect to the server. Moreover I always run into slightly bandwidth trouble, because at first I have to start the player to configure the limit on the server. But when the server is started it streams full 320 kBit of pure silence to the player, until I limit the bitrate or play a mp3 with a lower bitrate. As this stream of silence exceeds the upload bandwidth of my ADSL, the slimserver http interface gets very slow and it needs nearly a minute to reach the bitrate limit configuration page. I hope, you understand the problem. :-)

Is there a way to change the default bitrate limit for unknown players? I understand, that I could "hard code" a lower limit in the convert.conf file for every file type, but then the bandwidth limit setting on the http interface becomes useless and I always have to change convert.conf, if I want to change the limit.

I would prefer a solution, where I can set a lower default bitrate for new players, which can be changed from the player settings anyhow. Is this possible?

gorstk
2005-06-11, 08:54
jeas wrote:
> I use slimserver to listen to my music collection by streaming it over
> the net. As I'm connecting to the server from different IP's (mostly
> dialup accounts), I have to change the default 320kBit bitrate limit
> nearly every time I connect to the server. Moreover I always run into
> slightly bandwidth trouble, because at first I have to start the player
> to configure the limit on the server. But when the server is started it
> streams full 320 kBit of pure silence to the player, until I limit the
> bitrate or play a mp3 with a lower bitrate. As this stream of silence
> exceeds the upload bandwidth of my ADSL, the slimserver http interface
> gets very slow and it needs nearly a minute to reach the bitrate limit
> configuration page. I hope, you understand the problem. :-)
>
> Is there a way to change the default bitrate limit for unknown players?
> I understand, that I could "hard code" a lower limit in the convert.conf
> file for every file type, but then the bandwidth limit setting on the
> http interface becomes useless and I always have to change
> convert.conf, if I want to change the limit.
>
> I would prefer a solution, where I can set a lower default bitrate for
> new players, which can be changed from the player settings anyhow. Is
> this possible?
>
>

If you are using a player such as winamp, media player or itunes to
conenct to http://serverip:9000/stream.mp3 try usingl:

http://serverip:9000/stream.mp3?bitrate=128
or replace 128 with which ever bitrate you want to use.

However you will still have the same problem that silence is encoded at
320kbps )-: But atleast you wont have to battle to the bitrate page!

The other option is to use softsqueeze. I think if you keep on using the
same copy of softsqueeze (i.e. from the same comptuer but different IP
addresses) it should still remember the settings for the player.

HTH

jeas
2005-06-12, 03:48
If you are using a player such as winamp, media player or itunes to
conenct to http://serverip:9000/stream.mp3 try usingl:

http://serverip:9000/stream.mp3?bitrate=128
or replace 128 with which ever bitrate you want to use.


Ok, thanks for the tip. This works at least while music is playing.



However you will still have the same problem that silence is encoded at
320kbps )-:


Yes, obviously. I think this should be reviewed for one of the next versions. At least the server should use the requested bitrate also for streaming silence. Even better it should *always* encode the silence with a very low bitrate. There is no reason to stream perfect silence with a high bitrate as the result is always the same.


[color=blue]
The other option is to use softsqueeze. I think if you keep on using the
same copy of softsqueeze (i.e. from the same comptuer but different IP
addresses) it should still remember the settings for the player.


Yes, I will keep this option in mind, but to be honest, I don't want to have yet another player on my computer.

gorstk
2005-06-12, 04:36
jeas wrote:

> Yes, obviously. I think this should be reviewed for one of the next
> versions. At least the server should use the requested bitrate also for
> streaming silence. Even better it should *always* encode the silence
> with a very low bitrate. There is no reason to stream perfect silence
> with a high bitrate as the result is always the same.

Look at:
/slimserver/HTML/EN/html/silence.mp3
and
/slimserver/HTML/EN/html/lbrsilence.mp3

One is encoded at 96 and the other at 320. I am not sure if the lbr (low
bitrate?) one is actually used by slimserver. Maybe you should just try
renaming lbrsilence.mp3 to silence.mp3 and see what happens!

HTH

jeas
2005-06-12, 05:38
Thanks again for your help. Replacing 'silence.mp3' with a file with lower bitrate works fine.

Nevertheless I would propose replacing this 320 kBps mp3 for the slimserver distribution too. There is no use for a high bitrate silence stream from slimserver I think.

A hint for others that want to do the same: Keep a copy of your lower bitrate silence file, because the file will probably be overwritten again by slimserver updates.

gorstk
2005-06-12, 06:24
jeas wrote:
> Thanks again for your help. Replacing 'silence.mp3' with a file with
> lower bitrate works fine.
>
> Nevertheless I would propose replacing this 320 kBps mp3 for the
> slimserver distribution too. There is no use for a high bitrate silence
> stream from slimserver I think.
>
> A hint for others that want to do the same: Keep a copy of your lower
> bitrate silence file, because the file will probably be overwritten
> again by slimserver updates.


File a bug at bugs.slimdevices.com with the problem and work around. It
will then be considered. There may be a good reason it was set at
320kbps. Although I cant think of one and maybe 96kbps is still too
high, maybe we should have a 32kbps silence file?

jeas
2005-06-12, 06:51
Due to your hint, I searched the bug reports and found a similar report that was already opened in 11/2004:

http://bugs.slimdevices.com/show_bug.cgi?id=662

This basically describes my problem and the same solution. As the 320 kBps silence file is still in the distribution, either nobody read the bug report or there is no priority to change this bahavior (by at least replacing the mp3 file, which would be the most simple solution). Hmmm...

neurophyre
2005-10-06, 18:45
Make a BugZilla account and vote for the bug.

neurophyre
2005-10-06, 18:51
If you are using a player such as winamp, media player or itunes to
conenct to http://serverip:9000/stream.mp3 try usingl:

http://serverip:9000/stream.mp3?bitrate=128
or replace 128 with which ever bitrate you want to use.


That's very helpful. Is there a similar way to set the qval so that it doesn't default to 9 (fast and poor quality)?