PDA

View Full Version : Vertical Menu Scrolling (bug?)



Andrew L. Weekes
2005-06-08, 16:31
Hi there,

I'm running Player Firmware Version: 13 and SlimServer Version: 6.1.0 - 3085.

I'm trying out Squeezenetwork, but have noticed that on several occasions with the new firmware the display scrolls vertically more times than asked (i.e. it may scroll past an item, by scrolling twice on one button press, then pressing back once scrolls twice and goes past the item wanted again).

It seems a bit random and doesn't do it all the time, just occasionally.

Andy.

stuorguk
2005-08-24, 03:43
I get this too. Rather annoying at times. Does it with 6.1.1.

MrC
2005-08-24, 07:26
Ditto, on all releases.

Patrick Dixon
2005-08-24, 09:51
Yes I get this too - has anyone opened a bug for it?

dean
2005-08-24, 11:55
On Aug 24, 2005, at 9:51 AM, Patrick Dixon wrote:
> Yes I get this too - has anyone opened a bug for it?

I don't think so. I haven't seen this, so would love a bug with lots
of detail.

Patrick Dixon
2005-08-24, 12:11
Hmmm - I don't think there is much detail, sometimes the keys seem to 'bounce' especially the arrow keys!

... I'll see if I can pin anything down tomorrow (gmt), and then open a bug.

CavesOfTQLT
2005-08-24, 12:48
I've noticed this too.

If you press the keys at what I'd call a normal rate for scrolling down lists you occasionally get a double 'jump'. Stab the keys quickly and it seems to be okay - it's like the setting for the initial delay before a key 'auto-repeats' is too short and needs highering slightly. If you get what I mean...

kdf
2005-08-24, 13:02
Quoting CavesOfTQLT <CavesOfTQLT.1uaatb (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com>:

>
> I've noticed this too.
>
> If you press the keys at what I'd call a normal rate for scrolling down
> lists you occasionally get a double 'jump'. Stab the keys quickly and it
> seems to be okay - it's like the setting for the initial delay for 'key
> auto-repeat' is too short and needs highering slightly. If you get what
> I mean...

if you hold down the button for a long time, the rate accelerates. I wonder if
the speed is not resetting to the normal timing. That might be one way that
the items would scroll too fast for a 'normal' button push.

-kdf--
NOT a Slim Devices employee

MrC
2005-08-24, 13:49
if you hold down the button for a long time, the rate accelerates. I wonder if
the speed is not resetting to the normal timing. That might be one way that
the items would scroll too fast for a 'normal' button push.


It could be this, but doesn't feel like it. The double menu jump happens almost randomly, with pretty much metronome like button presses. Just taping the up (down) arrow at an even pace will sometimes move one menu up (down), sometimes two.

Triode
2005-08-24, 13:58
I've seen this too - I think some of the remotes are more prone to switch bounce than others. [unless you jab the button, one of mine can appear as if it is pressed twice as you release an arrow key]

Is some of the switch debounce done in the client - or is it all in the server? [I would have thought the logic suppressing short releases would need to be in the client?]

Adrian

Patrick Dixon
2005-08-25, 08:17
This is now bug 2018
http://bugs.slimdevices.com/show_bug.cgi?id=2018

Patrick Dixon
2005-08-25, 10:14
I'm not sure quite how this would work, but are we all in the UK?